Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 46 reviews
Not what I was expecting at all. Seemed more like an exercise in creative packaging than a well organized book of creative exercises. For me it would have been more effective without all the crazy graphics, and a bit more organization so you can actually find an exercise that you want to do (and applies to your particular focus, e.g. writing, design, networking)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2010
Caffeine for the Creative Mind: 250 Exercises to Wake Up Your Brain

Well, as a graphic designer, this one good book to have in your arsenal. It is NOT, an inspirational picture book or a how to book. It's more about exercising your creativity, one exercise per day, so that the next time you're confronted with a problem you'll have less trouble coming up with a solution or solutions. The layout in itself is beatiful and fun; a very pleasant reading. If your a graphic designer looking to stretch and exercise your creativity this an excellent way to start, and with 250 fun-packed exercises it'll be a blast.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
it was okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2008
This book read more like a long marketing piece about how awesome the book is. Littered with quotes from people who obviously found previous editions useful, it just gets in the way of what I think it was built to do - excite and energise creative thought.

Some exersices are useful, some are good fun, but a lot are rather plain and boring. If you have no imagination at all, this book may be a useful kick-start to any brain storming or creative session. I would suggest that it might be useful for school teachers too - as some of the ideas leverage a lot of imagination which kids would be great at.

On the good side, the typographic treatment of the content is exciting and inspiring, each page has something new to look at and read, if nothing else it's a nice example of how unconventinal type treatment can enhance an otherwise bland book.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
Just the book I was looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
This is a fun collection of ideas to not only wake up your brain, but perhaps to take that work-break to step away from your current project in order to re-focus or re-boot your creative process. LOVE the interviews with various creatives in the field; a wonderful bonus!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2007
On first view (size and inside design) I was not impressed!

I took a few minutes to review the pages and I was sold! I took the book home and dove right into the exercises that span 6 types of activities! My son, who wants to be a designer @ 16, completed some of the projects until midnight!

I love this book, the breakdown of the projects in the back and the interviews inspire even rookie designers and reignite the fire of the design practitioner. It is a breakdown of the the elements of creativity, including writing projects, design, writing, and problem solving!

Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
This book is a perfect creative pick-me-up. Feeling stuck? Turn to a random page and follow the directions. The directions give enough information to get you started without telling you how to think, it leaves room for you to make and do. It's like a shot of espresso for your creative mind!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
I use ideas from this book each week to start my 8th grade creative writing class. The students love the blend of artistic and writing elements, and the activities lead to a great share afterward since they're so silly. Great way to initiate further writing activities and sharing work in a group.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse