Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Cisco Networking Simplified (2nd Edition)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$39.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 15, 2009
Very good book, well written and easy to understand. Covers all aspects of networking and VoIP at a high level (which is exactly what the authors state is their intent). Each chapter could be the subject of a number of books. This is a good all around primer which will give you enough knowledge to be able to get the most from more in-depth books. I recommend this book for anyone intersted in an overview of the subject matter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2012
I was disappointed in this book since I expected it to be more like a Cisco cheat sheet or refresher. This book is for novice only. It describes very basic/beginner materials for easy understanding. If you have general knowledge and experience in networking, this book will not benefit you. Also it's not really Cisco Networking Simplified, it's general networking simplified...not much Cisco in it. However I'm sure everyone will find something interesting in the book. May be nothing new but some theory for general understanding of "noteveryday" technology; also interesting facts, history and statistics of different technologies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2008
Cisco Networking Simplified, Second Edition by Jim Doherty, Neil Anderson and Paul Della Maggiora gives the reader a clear, brief explanation of computer networking terminology, concepts and their components, as it relates to Cisco products.

Whether you are a novice in the field, a senior network engineer or an IT executive, you will learn about the current technologies that you will find in a home and/or corporate network environment. The book contains cutting edge technology that several IT managers may deploy in their infrastructure. Examples are: Radio Frequency Identification (RFID), Voice Over Internet Protocol (VOIP) and Virtualization of Data Centers and Network Infrastructure. Over time, these services can save the enterprise significant resources and money.

There are also a several sections within the book that offers the reader trouble-shooting information on the how and why to deploy the hardware and software securely. You will learn where the equipment can be placed on your network and how they interact with one another.

This is the second edition of the book and it has been changed significantly from the first version published in 2003. The authors include color diagrams and pictures to enhance the comprehension level, as well as, to reinforce the content for the reader. This volume is based on many of the Cisco components and products that are currently available by the manufacturer.

There are two criticisms that I have of the book. The first is the organization of the topics from one chapter to another. The second is the lack of suggested references and materials for the reader to follow-up and obtain additional information.

The book starts out clearly explaining the OSI model. I like that the authors introduce the readers to this approach, but I wish that the book was organized in the same way. I would suggest starting from the Physical level and then progressing through each of the seven layers to explain each of the components and concepts. Also, they may want to include references to the Department of Defense (DoD) model and how the two approaches relate to one another.

The second issue that I found with the book was the references and materials for the reader to follow-up on were noticeably missing from this version. Perhaps future editions will contain additional information and links for the readers to obtain supplementary data.

Overall, I found this book very enjoyable and interesting to read. I will look forward to future editions and books from all of the authors. I give this book 3 out 5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
I am really enjoying reading this book. It has great illustrations to show what the text is talking about. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to get a good overall grasp of networking. It will be a great help to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2009
I highly recommend this book to anyone desiring to learn the basics about Cisco networking. This book has great visual illustration and easy to understand wording that a person can learn the terminologies and their functions. You will learn the OSI model and the way each layer communicate with each other. The technical aspect of the book is a guideline to understanding networking infrastructure, network design, securing a network and many more function such as VPN.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
I guess I should have researched this a little better, this is really a very superficial networking for dummies book. Big pictures, simple text. Maybe a good book for somebody who is absolutely at an entry level, but but if you already are familiar with networking in general and want some basic info on Cisco stuff you are probably better off looking elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
I found in this book everything that I needed to know about networking technology. I was looking for a book with updated information about connecting computers in network using switches, routers and etc. and this book was very helpful. It tells us much more about networking in general than about Cisco's networking products. I recommend it for tech managers that need a very good technology overview, also clearly written and well illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
This book is an excellent overview of networking. I've been involved in networking for a long time, and I found this book to provide the kind of detail that's useful, without bogging the reader down into the depths and intricacies of networking. It is an excellent reference for the non-technical person, as well as for the techie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2009
I purchased this book to learn more about networking, and you will learn
quite alot from it. Every subject is covered, from the beginning of the
Internet to present-day systems, including legacy devices and topologies.
If you are looking for a book to show you how to network YOUR setup, this
can help, but is not the focus and subject of this book.
I recommend this book to anyone who wants a good understanding of network-
ing principles, methodologies, and implementation from a LAN to WAN scale.
This book does require some intelligence regarding the subjects, and will
be useful for an intermediate to advanced user.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2012
I thought I was going to get a text that was more or less in good shape. Instead I recieved a text that seems almost new. Loved it, I will definetely use their sevices again because they also shipped it on time! Thanks-JC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse