Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning ballerss3 ballerss3,
image-map-link=rect  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 73 reviews
on December 12, 2011
This graphic book does a good job of showing a bit more of Vader as a new Sith Lord, especially the working of his vitality lifesuit lung and fake limbs. One gets the impression that the "experimental construct" known as Lord Vader requires quite a bit of routine maintenence as well as improvements and upgrades. It is also good to see that Vader is haunted, even tormented by the images and scenarios presented by the lurking ghost of Padme which add to his psycological downward spiral stacking onto his rage at some points making him exponentially volatile. The novel also shows that Vader still has some of that charge in recklessness of Anakin within him, which almost costs him dearly. My suggestion....this is a very quick, fun, good read and if you are really into Vader, then that makes it impressive.....MOST IMPRESSIVE! Hoping this helps the Star Wars Nation....MTFBWY
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Lost Command was a good read, but I had some small issues with it, for instance the art was good...most of the time, but the dreams/visions where not as good as the rest, but I can understand that the dreams/visions did have to have another kind of art so it was easier for the reader to understand that this was not present time (Well honestly if you failed to realize that you couldn't really have understood the story very well...) I just wish the art could have been a little bit better!

The story was OK, interesting enough to read, but not as interesting as Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Ghost Prison. But I liked the fact that Darth Vader was shown a lot of time without his mask. That was cool. But I'm also a bit confused how he could breathe without his respirator? I mean I can understand how he could do it for a short period at a time, but towards the end, he was without his helmet for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Lost Command isn't something that was on my reading list, but it was on sale for $3.99 on Amazon, so I gave it a try. Nineteen years before the Battle of Yavin, Darth Vader is haunted by the loss of his wife, Padme. He is sent by the Emperor to the Ghost Nebula to find Admiral Garoche Tarkin, the son of Grand Moff Tarkin. There, he finds a local priestess, Lady Saro, with her sights set on becoming Queen of the Ghost Nebula. Her offering? She can help Vader find Admiral Tarkin.

Don't get me wrong; this is a good story, but what makes this comic special is the characters created by George Lucas, namely Darth Vader and the Emperor. Still, while reading it, I could hear the Star Wars theme in my head. That sort of synergy between the comic and the original movies doesn't come easily. And yes, I was interested to see more of Vader. He's a cool character, and Darth Vader and the Lost Command remains faithful to that character. Recommended for fans of Star Wars. ***3/4
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
Absolutely loved it!! It was a great story with an intersting choice of art, you'll see what i mean with vader and the strom troopers. I am sad that darkhorses star wars storys are no longer canon to the universe but thats not gonna stop me from enjoying these amazing stories still out there. if your as much of a fan of the dark lord of the sith as i am then this is a must have for any comic collection, along with darth vader ghost prison and 9th assasin. this story in particular humanizes vader more without taking to much focus away from his darkside getting glimpes of the anakin that still resides in vader but only one can exist at one time and obviusly we know how that turns out but thats why its such a great story. Came 2 weeks before i thought and in perfect condition, would buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In all of STAR WARS, is there a character more complex than Darth Vader? In his humble beginnings, he was little more than a young boy - a tinkerer of machines - who was taken from the arms of a loving mother and placed into service of the Jedi. As a Padawan, he clearly had the support and guidance of a respected mentor in Obi-wan Kenobi, but still the movies made clear he wasn't quite performing the way his teacher would've wanted in all things. He tried but failed in saving his mother. Then, he was faced with the loss of the only other woman he ever loved - and his own rage forced him to do the unthinkable. And all of this happened before he became a Sith Lord! Who could possibly imagine what would come next?

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and characters. If you're the kind of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I'd encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you're accepting of a few modest hints at `things to come,' then read on ...)

Darth Vader's waking moments have begun to creep back into his recent past. He finds himself troubled with visions from the Force, those of an alternate timeline in which his love - Padme Amidala - survived and he himself became a bold champion for all of the Republic when he defeated the Sith and brought peace to the galaxy as Qui-Gon's prophecy foretold. As he now serves under the heel of an Emperor, these are dangerous thoughts indeed, and, unless he can bring them under his control, they are bound to lead to his undoing.

That's the real drama at the heart of DARTH VADER AND THE LOST COMMAND. Yes, that's genuinely only the B story; the A story involves the Dark Lord being sent out into the cosmos to find the missing son of his political nemesis, Moff Tarkin. It's believed that Garoche Tarkin is alive, being held captive by residents of a world resisting the reach of the Galactic Empire. There's even a dissident leader - Lady Saro - introduced for good measure, but, as hard as scripter Haden Blackman tries, the A story never really achieves the heights I suppose he imagined. What works much better is the material focusing on Vader and the inevitable loss of Anakin Skywalker to the clutches of evil that have taken up residence in his broken mind, body, and soul.

In fact, I hated for LOST COMMAND to end, I was having so much fun watching Anakin's fade. True, much of it comes out in Vader's prosthetic face as he suggests one dark choice after another, and that mechanical visage can't hide the humanity that's slipping away from underneath. Vader's often been voted the top villain in all of filmdom, and Blackman's script uses that emotional currency to rather briefly deliver up the menacing, ruthless, and merciless heavy audiences are introduced to in the opening scenes of STAR WARS: A NEW HOPE.

What does work in the primary story is when Blackman shows readers a galaxy in conflict. We're given all the indications that, despite the Emperor having achieved his grandest goal (in the near extinction of the Jedi Knights), things are not as hunky-dory as he would like. Worlds are beginning to push back against his totalitarian ways; and that's why Vader's struggle is probably so effective when coupled with the narrative here. His fall walks comfortably hand-in-hand with the fall of a Republic. While the action is intense, it never rises to the level of complexity in watching a single mind turn away from the light and embrace the darkness.

Still, LOST COMMAND is a journey worth taking. I only caution it probably won't linger in your memory for the reasons the author and artists may've intended.

STAR WARS: DARTH VADER AND THE LOST COMMAND (Hardcover) is published by Dark Horse Comics. The story is written by Haden Blackman; the pencils are by Rick Leonardi; the inks are by Dan Green; the colors are by Wes Dzioba; and the lettering is by Michael Heisler. Oh, yeah: did I mention it's all inspired by the works of George Lucas? Shame on me! This hardcover edition comes at a price of $24.99 in Republic credits, so spend `em wisely.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. In those early days of Anakin Skywalker slowly becoming Darth Vader, the fallen Jedi remains tortured by the choice he made; and that's the brilliance behind so very much of DARTH VADER AND THE LOST COMMAND. Sure, there's a lot of action and an awful lot of sacrificed Clone Troopers, but there's a devilish heart only starting to beat inside everyone's favorite Dark Lord of the Sith. Vader's only beginning to realize the extent of the power he yields, and only the Emperor himself could save anyone his protégé sets his sights on. The rest of the story ends up feeling a bit too easy, a bit too convenient, and the ending feels too loosey goosey to be as effective as it could've been, but the Vader moments alone are pretty priceless.

In the interests of fairness, I'm pleased to disclose that the fine folks at Dark Horse Comics provided me with a digital copy of STAR WARS: DARTH VADER AND THE LOST COMMAND by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enthusiast: Star Warson February 17, 2013
Good art. Good story. Good book!

This Darh Vader story has more depth to it than any other Star Wars graphic novel I've read. It's hard for me to review without giving anything away. My recommendation is to go back and watch Episode III first, then go straight into this tale.

If you do that, you might be surprised at the emotional impact you experience with this book.

The climax is chilling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Story background was interesting , though fell a bit flat. Artwork was boxy and not proportional. Often times the eyes on Vader helmet looked off, or heads looked much larger than body. Artwork looked half finished. Story had some good arcs, but read with no emotion and fairly scattered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
Darth Vader and the Lost Command tells the story of one of Vader's earliest missions for the Emperor and the their infant alliance with the infamous Grand Moff Tarkin. While on a mission to find the Grand Moff's lost son, Vader encounters a beautiful, powerful, and enigmatic high priestess with high ambitions, and he experiences everything from attempts on his life with traitors in his midst to having visions of his late wife as he last saw her. A story of deception, torn loyalties, loss, and love, readers delve a little deeper into the broken psyche of Darth Vader and see a little bit more of the rarely glimpsed 'human' side of this beloved and complex villian of the Star Wars Universe.

Amazing art work with epic and compelling story telling as Star Wars should always be, this graphic novel is recommended for any Star Wars fans or any fans of comics and graphic novels who enjoy epic stories with the right amount of action and adventure and deep thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
Tired of seeing one of fiction's best villains failing to capture people and not living up to the whole 'powerful, cunning, vindictive and generally evil' thing? Boom here it is-a comic novel that is so well done and good to it's topic that the only problem it that it isn't about 300 pages longer. It centers on a single plot line, has great writing, excellent art (really..well done) and fully fleshes out the story about an attempt on the emperor's life and concludes nicely with you strangely rooting for these genocidal Sith lords and their brutal cohorts. One small sum of a scene: a few imperial guards lay dying after taking the brunt of an assault and Vader enters a chamber. DV-"where is the emperor?" guard choughs and answers-'he mad it to the throne room...help me please' DV-"I cannot. You've already served the empire".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A decent, but not great star wars story. Dark Horse has done a good job of playing in George's playground, but this isn't a top notch effort. The art is just OK the story is also just OK. The best part is the evolving Darth Vader, still in turmoil over the death of Padme. Worth a read, but that's about all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse