Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Environmental Engineering Reference Manual, 2nd Ed
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 18, 2004
My undergraduate was in Geography. My Masters in Environmental Engineering. I am not good at math, and formulas with greek letters still make me tense inside. Having said this, here are the books you need to concentrate on to pass this exam the first time.
1. This book. It needs to be your centerpiece, your touchstone. You need to know this book, and especially the tables and appendices. Location, Location, Location is so important, know where everything is in this book. Make this book part of your life. Travel with it, sit with it, take it on your 10 minute coffee breaks... just know this book.
2. Next: 101 Solved Engineering Problems. This book has the most realistic PE Problems. Do them all. They are categorized by type so you must write the page from Lindeberg next to the problem in this book for quick cross reference. This is your best book for quickly finding an example of what you are trying to solve on the test.
3. Next: Lindeberg Practice Problems. Also good, but not as good as 101 (above). Use this as a reference. It aligns with the Lindeberg Hard Cover for quick cross reference.
4. Last: Environmental Engineering Practice Exams (Schneiter). Do all the problems. It looks like a Lindeberg, but it isn't. Like 101 Solved Problems, you must cross-reference the problems with there topic location in Lindeberg Hard Cover. Questions are not in a particular order (4 practice exams, level about right), but questions are in random order which makes look-up during exam tough.
5. Environmental Law Handbook (Sullivan). Need this for the regulatory, and statutory questions. Find a good OSHA book too.
6. Last: Environmental Engineering Calculations (Lee & Lin). This book is expensive and big, but it is a good fail safe. What I liked about it is it presented things differently than Lindeberg, in case I didn't understand where Lindeberg was coming from.
7. I HATE CONVERSIONS, and the test is full of them. If you hate conversions, buy Lindeberg's Engineering Conversions. It is a time saver.
You do not have time to use even all of these references. Just don't show up with a heck of a lot more. You need to drill, drill, drill, on the problems so when you see them on the PE, it is like regurgatation. Lindeberg Hard Cover will covers everything you need to know... this book is your centerpiece!
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
I borrowed my boss' first edition of this book before I bought the second edition. After reviewing each in good detail, it's clear that they are exactly the same content, except for one thing: the 2nd edition has no problems at the end of each chapter. Obviously the publisher wants you to buy the companion problems book. So, to be clear: the 2nd edition is worse than the 1st edition. Even by textbook industry standards, that's pretty bad!

Yet, you need this book for the PE. So buy a gently used copy of the first edition and you'll both save money and get a superior product.

Shores
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 19, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
While this text is directed at environmental engineers, it can also be an invaluable resource for all civil engineers in the truest sense. As the author points out, this topic is so massive, so broad that it is impossible to remember all minutia. Therefore, this text can act as both a quick reference and as a comprehensive piece for slow, careful review.

If you are considering upgrading from an earlier text, you may wish to consider those areas that have been revised and expanded upon. Protection of Wetlands, Air Quality, Toxicology, Industrial Hygiene, Health and Safety, Biological Effects of Radiation, Shielding, and Emergency Management are "updated to reflect current environmental practices and standards." Additionally, there are small alterations throughout the text as a whole. Therefore, if you have passed the PE Exam and are considering updating from the first edition to this edition, I believe it to be a nearly necessary purchase (and, perhaps, a burden of this wonderful profession). If you are thinking about the jump from the second edition to this, I would still highly recommend it. Remaining as current as possible makes you a valuable asset and entirely relevant.

Especially for the purpose of the PE Exam, it is essential to know that each topic is presented in a "stand alone" format. This is particularly important since it allows the student to intensely focus in a single area in which he/she believes he/she has a deficit.

When you purchase this text, know that it is an investment in your future. If you are a student, I understand that the price-tag is truly daunting. However, know that there is no other series as committed to helping students and remaining as current and as precise.

Although it is an added expense, if you are willing to invest in this text, consider purchasing: Practice Problems for the Environmental Engineering PE Exam if you are preparing for the exam itself. This companion text has over 600 practice problems with explicit solutions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a comprehensive reference textbook for the NCEES Environmental PE exam. This book is organized into nine different topics with clear explanations and in-depth review of the common environmental engineering concepts. These concepts are covered in details across 58 chapters, most of which are accompanied with real-world problem examples and solutions.

Topics covered in this textbook:
I) Background and Support - units, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, probability, etc
II) Water Resources #1: Flow of Fluids - fluid properties, statics, parameters, dynamics, hydraulic, etc
III) Water Resources #2: Water and Wastewater Treatment - chemistry, quality, treatment, etc
IV) Air Resources #1: Ventilation - thermodynamics, HVAC, etc
V) Air Resources #2: Combustion and Air Quality
VI) Solid and Hazardous Waste - solid waste, pollutants, hazardous waste disposition, remediation
VII) Environmental Health, Safety and Welfare
VIII) Systems, Management and Professional - electrical systems, instrumentation, project management, professional services & ethnics
IX) Support Materials - tons of appendices and glossary

The Environmental Engineering Reference Manual should be the key centerpiece in your library for the PE exam. It contains a detailed review of the important environmental engineering concepts that are relevant to the NCEES Environmental PE exam specification. As a reference manual, it has only a limited number of examples, just enough to illustrate each concept. Therefore, you would want to find additional exam practice books with more and more real-world problems to drill on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
Excellent review of engineering concepts. Very objective, but lacks finalize details in the process of calculations that will lose who does not have a solid foundation. Total is for engineers, who have approved these courses.
Dr. Castañeda.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
I took three books to the Environmental PE exam - this one, the Civil Engineering reference, and the provided (downloadable) FE reference book. The Environmental PE exam was 100 questions. I used the Environmental reference for about 75 of the questions. I needed the Civil Reference for about 15 questions. I needed the FE reference for two of the questions. There were about 8 questions where I did not know where to look for the formulae, so had to guestimate.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
For about the same total cost, I would recommend buying
LaGrega et al (2001) Hazardous waste management: second edition, Waveland Press
Lee and Lin (2007) Handbook of environmental engineering application: second edition, MCGraw Hill.
My main concern with the Lindeburg book is that it did not include a lot of things on the exam, or at least not in a way I could find. For example, CT values are not listed, while they are in Lee and Lin. Lee and Lin have many worked out problems that are easy to follow. It is much more useful for the exam and for use afterwards than the Lindeburg book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2012
I bought this bought as part of the requirement for taking a PE review course. That said, the most helpful thing from the review course was learning how to navigate this book. This book was ESSENTIAL to me when I took the PE exam in 2011, and I really didn't need any other book to pass the exam (note: I had 12 years of environmental engineering work experience before I took the PE exam). I am now a licensed PE thanks to this book. It is THAT useful.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
Excellent review material for the Professional Engineering Licensing Exams for Civil and Environmental Engineering. Review the material and concurrently practice the Practice Problems by Michael R. Lindeburg.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 30, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a huge(1216 pages), encyclopedic work with essentially every aspect of engineering science in general and environmental engineering specifically. The level is mostly undergraduate. Even though a broad range of topics is covered, space is given to good explanations of topics, and extra space is given for the more difficult topics. There are plenty of illustrations, tables, and graphs. There is a generous appendix and glossary, and a decent index. This book delivers what is promised. There are no exercises or sample tests so those must be obtained separately. Such additional material is provided in the companion books:

Practice Problems for the Environmental Engineering PE Exam: A Companion to the Environmental Engineering Reference Manual(2nd Edition), by Michael R. Lindeburg.

Environmental Engineering Practice PE Exams, 3rd ed, by Wane Schneiter.

Environmental Engineering Solved Problems, by Wane Schneiter.

(All of the above published by the same publisher: Professional Publications, Inc.)

This manual also includes lots of material on the PE exam itself and PE licenses.
I found only two aspects of this book disappointing, but in no way is it the fault of the author. It is the fault of the publisher. This book costs plenty and we should expect to get our money's worth. While the look and visual presentation are very good, there is no color at all, not a stitch. Also, a book this big should have a good binding to prevent it from falling apart. This binding is just a glued binding, not sewn in signature. Sorry to expect quality beyond what the author supplies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse