Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

  • Lucy
  • Customer Reviews

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on March 31, 2017
My daughter liked this as an audiobook, so I ordered the book. I've picked it up numerous times, but haven't made it to the end yet. I have found it difficult to get involved with the main character, Lucy. The writing hasn't drawn me in, and it has been difficult to continue. I plan to try again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2013
I had not expected to find Jamaica Kincaid's fiction to so resemble the (men's) existentialist fictions of another century. But there is a proto-feminist--or at least socially grounded twist to the alienated protagonist as she, Lucy, a West Indian Black is thrown into a white world--the au pair for an upper class white family in New england or some North East region of the states-- fleeing her island and mother. Her complicated love/hate feelings for her mother (shadowed by love hate feelings for the white woman she works for) twist the usual existentialist turn on identity, even race, from the usual tale of solitary ego to a troubled meditation on a daughter/mother dyad also complicated by race and cultural alienation. she experiences the burgeoning sexuality of her 19 year old self --sex with men mostly--as something outside of herself while describing it also as fun and adventurous. Actually I see how this review is obscure because i really have to go back to re-read to get more fully the different layers of what Kincaid is doing, but it's a very compelling and nuanced read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2010
The complex and seemingly sinister disposition of "Lucy", appropriately named as the feminine version of Lucifer, is told in a simplistically subtle beauty that was either appreciated or lost on the members of the Uptown Girls Harlem Book Club. The story is of a young Caribbean au pair who recounts her experiences of her native land as she makes a home for herself in a cold New York-like city. Through her eyes the reader watches the dissolution of a flimsy marriage whose end is solidified when the handsome cultivated husband licks the neck of his wife's best friend.

Lucy has a sour personality that is surpirsingly delicate. The issues of finding oneself, the relationships between mother and daughter, and the liberation, or lack thereof, of a young woman in the late 1960s is explored in a an unassuming wisdom that is quiet yet poignant. The book is short and makes for a quick read but the topics discussed are timely and easily filled, at least, an hour of our meeting.

The book is sexy. Despite the sexual exploits of Lucy with males and a female, the book lacks the vulgarity prevalent in popular fiction today. The author is almost surgical with vocabulary and punctuation usage which makes for a delightful read whose beauty is either noticed instantly or comes to fruition like a sunrise when the words are fully reflected upon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
Lucy is a young girl from the Caribbean who travels to America in hopes of a better future. Upon arrival she finds a job that she likes, working for a family. After a short time in America Lucy becomes homesick for her homeland. She tries to bond with her employees but finds the task difficult due to cultural barriers. Lucy struggles with her desire for a better future in America and her feelings of missing her homeland. This story captures the feelings that many people that leave their homes face when it comes to moving for the hopes of a better future!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
Short book, somewhat interesting coming of age story. I was torn between feeling sorry for Lucy, feeling happy for her, or just examining her as if she was an empty shell. I wanted her to feel things. I was rooting for her to feel things. But maybe that's the point of the story... That when you are that full of anger, numbness is all you have. I still enjoyed the book, even though it left me feeling unsure of Lucy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
Interesting, captivating, realistic and unlike anything I have read before. Jamaica Kincaid has definitely created a genre for herself with this novel breaking all barriers of literature through this semi-autobiographical piece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2011
I had heard so much of her. This is the first work of her's that I've read and I love it. I read some comments that its written on an elementary level. It's not that Kincaid has an elementary level of writing. That was Lucy's voice. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Great plot. As pessimistic as Lucy is...that's how some people actually are. And isnt that the point of reading? To gain insight to what we dont know or understand. Lucy stuck with me and to me, that defines a great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Hard tone, smooth read. Empty feelings. Overall worthy time spent. Get a copy for yourself. It shall take no time at all to draw on the past of colonization.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
Short and sweet but could be more
Engrossing. Language flows but the
Plot is weak - I didn't like Lucy very much.
She is bitter/sweet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
Great novel to teach to first year college students. I highly recommend! Kincaid is a great writer, expressing themes and making commentary on social issues that are very important for today still.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.67

Need customer service? Click here