Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 124 reviews
on March 13, 2017
This is a nice utility knife with a superior build quality compared to most. The only thing you have to watch is where you hold it as you use it and make sure you don't release the blade in the middle of a cut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2017
I love this knife. I'm a professional, so when your tyveking or vycoring 30' feet up in the air on a ladder the last thing you wanna do is change your blade. With this it takes 10 seconds and your back to work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
Do not even attempt to open the cutter up to get the 3 blades that come with it, mine just fell to pieces. Took me like a 1/2 hour to put the parts back the right way. Then another 1/2 hour to get the blade to mount in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
Great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
My favorite feature of the knife is you need superhuman hand strength to press down the loading button so you can forcibly insert a sharp greased up blade.

If you don't do hand steroids, buy the one you have to unscrew to load. You can only quick change this knife if Hercules himself loaned you his hands.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
This Stanley knife has been around a long time. I have had several over the years. They are very economical. Provides the user with quick change blade capability. It is built well and holds up under abuse. It is neither heavy nor bulky for most projects. One tip users may find helpful is as you use the knife (especially on drywall) put a couple drops of oil, squirt of WD-40 or comparable lubricant in the blade slit at the front and in the blade thumb adjuster on top. It will help the knife operate smoothly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2017
Hand down, the best utility knife out there.
✅ Solid heavy duty metal.
✅ Smooth surface - easy to sanitize.
✅ The fastest and the easiest blade change
✅ Nice grip and heavy enough to grip on.

This is my 2nd Stanley 10-499 Quick-Change Utility Knife.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2014
I had a plastic utility knife that the paper boy ripped off. I wanted something good this time- not some cheap HD product. After looking at reviews I bought this. 2 DAYS later I was woken up by a knock on my door. It was hand delivered! The body is solid. It is hard to see how they can sell this so cheap. It is well made. It feels like a real tool. not the cheap plastic i once had. I had read reviews on how they could not figure out how to install a new blade. It took me about 2 minutes to figure it out- remove the blade from the storage side and install it.
If you can't figure this out in a minute or two then maybe you should not be using this product.
I am glad I spent the extra dollar or two and bought something that is quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
Oddly there are no instructions on how to effect a quick change, but I figured it out. The yellow button at the front allows you to take out the razor and reinsert it backwards to use the full blade.After that you can put in a new blade by simply removing the old one and loading a new one from the set stored in the handle accessible with the lower back end yellow lever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
A bit of a pain to install the blades (comes with 3 blades), but once in, the knife does its job well. The blade feels longer in this knife than some other ones I've used before. I used this one to cut up old carpets and carpet padding and it sliced through them like butter. When cutting, your thumb might sometimes hit the blade trigger, which is somewhat annoying, because it makes the blade loose. Otherwise though, if you're not gonna be using this day in and day out, but need it occasionally, this knife will do the job just fine!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here