Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 21, 2017
Can't argue with perfection. This British import DOES play in Region A. Only downside is the lack of the colorized version (not my preference) available on the USA DVD edition. If I have to explain the plot of this to ANYONE, just go home and put your head under a pillow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2013
Miracle on 34th Street this is the only one i ever seen --or perhaps fully seen--- a new modern version i never seen so i cant compare... between the two--- know that there isnt any magic its all simple but a good story-- and the only movie that has ever shown me the macy's thanksgiving parade i think it was thanksgiving-- i havnt re looked at the movie in awile.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
one of my favorite Christmas movies. thought I ordered in color. but came in B/W. that's okay. Very young Natalie Wood, Maureen O'Hara, Edmund Gwen...excellent performances. watch it over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
This is the original and the best. Yes, it is Black and White, but if you need the COLOR version, that's here as well. I have have the VHS version for many many years and watched it every other Christmas Day. Add in the Alistair Sims version of SCROOGE and you have a wonderful set to watch or alter year after year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
Timeless and beautiful. So much better than the newer version. My grandchildren enjoyed it. Plus, it opened up discussions of how things were different when I was a child and the blessings of our multi-generational family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
Absolutely love this movie! One of the top three, if not the best Christmas movie ever. My only complaint is that it's the colorized version instead of the original black & white.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon February 9, 2004
Having many holiday seasons watched or tried to find it on the seasonal plays on the tele, chose to purchase our own copy.
The storyline is solid and acting is good for the times. The integrity of Kringle and Doris and Susan (can you say Natalie Wood! how neat!)et al is very good. It makes for great viewing. Neat really to go back and understand the cultural climate at its making. Very much more wholesome attitude going on here.
The psychogist (William Frawley) is excellent as well. The miracle of the story is fantassy alright, but this is its charm and the charm of the times --- not our nowadays stuckness on blood and guts and supercreatures, etc. Kids as they get older certainly can be exposed to the truth about Nick, but when younger, this can be a fun time for their rising imagination.
Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
husbands favorite xmas movie. Good copy. However, if you see the color on the box you kinda expect that it is the colorized version of the movie. It is however only black and white.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2016
This remake cannot compare to the original. The changes to the script don't seem to work either. This is one of those movies that would be extremely difficult to remake into a better movie. The original cast, direction, writing, set...all worked together to make a classic. This movie fell short on all counts. No feeling, no warmth, no charm and the actors didn't do justice to their rolls...all but Mcdermott. Don't bother with this and watch the original 1947 film with Maureen O'Hara, Natalie Wood, John Payne & Edmund Gwenn as santa.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2016
This version is a little different from the original version with young Natalie Wood, but is just as enjoyable to watch and conceptually similar. Mara Wilson is a outstanding actress. I love bother versions!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse