Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,389 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,856 reviews
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2015
Oh, my! This is such a very good movie, that even my Mother, who barely tolerates my classic movie habit, sat down and watched this with me, completely engrossed in the story the entire time. This is truly Hollywood at some of its best. What is neat about this edition is that it includes both the black and white version and the colorized version. Maureen O'Hara stars in it as the disillusioned hard working Mother who forbids her daughter from being told about fairy tales and other such nonsense. Her acting in this role is so natural and so good, that you even forget she's acting. It just feels so normal. And then the gentleman portraying Santa Claus, well, he does a splendid job. One actually feels like he's the real thing, all throughout the film. And the little girl who is Natalie Wood, already displays great acting skills. The plot of the movie is flat out good. And the writing exceptional. This is one movie that I recommend to the whole world, both young and old and in-between! It is simply fantastic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
A heart warming story about a kindly old man from the mental care facility that spreads Christmas Joy and happiness to everyone at the big Department Store that employs him. His mentor is a hero Lawyer that defends him and although his love interest doubts him, her daughter comes to believe in him and in the end he wins them over in an epic Court Room scene where the USPS comes to his defense with tons of mail addressed to him. A dream of the little girl who is non other than Natalie
Wood is finally realized in the end that will give you a happy glow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
This is a good, classic Christmas movie that my wife and I would recommend to anybody wanting this kind of old black and white film. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that I rarely if ever give a movie 5 out of 5 stars. It is especially fun to watch around the Christmas season.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
There will always be an argument among movie fans whether this movie or the 1947 version of the same movie staring Edmund Gwenn as
Santa and Natalie Wood as the daughter, is the one to watch. I take the Solomon approach and recommend you see both of them. While the story is the same in both movies and even the dialog is very similar ,they each are able to capture the tone of the period when they were made.

I am just waiting for the 2017 version of the movie where instead of a department store Santa, the focus will be on a Santa from Amazon and
the story will be centered around the hacking of the web site. On the other hand, I think I will just enjoy the holidays watching both movies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
I liked the movie and feel it holds it's own when it comes to a remake. I only bought this movie because of the price and I wanted to add it to my digital collection. Problem is the so called digital copy is nothing more then a copy on a disc which you have to "copy" to you computer and it doesn't come with a UV digital copy which pretty much makes this disc completely useless! Only the second time I've ever come across this outdated technology and the first time was a good couple of years ago. Wish Amazon would get better at listed what digital version it is and if the disc's actually have a digital copy with them. I just seem better of going to that "other" store to get the instawatch version that comes with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
I was only 4 years old when this film came out, and so if my folks took me to see it, I do not remember! However, in the following years it became a popular film to show at Christmas time, and it richly deserves all the adulation it gets. I can just see the parents at the beginning of the film thinking: "Uh oh. This is going to be a problem." You don't want to lie to your children, but you have to give them something to look forward to, and what better person than a jovial Grandfather figure who hands out gifts of encouragement. I remember a black period in my younger days when being naughty was NOT a good thing at all! You don't get rewarded for naughtiness! As with so many other things, it is the parents responsibility to instuct children in the ways of proper behavior, especially right from wrong. I do not think that Santa Claus is kept a secret for very long, and it is not too traumatic a thing to let the truth be known — eventually.
The film is so well cast and produced your worries over what the kids will think soon disappear. John Payne always seemed to be overlooked as a versatile actor, but this was one of his shining moments. Maureen O'Hara could always light up a film with her beauty and diction. As for child actors, Natalie Wood shows a remarkable grasp of what is demanded of her, and delivers a very convincing performance. Of course, none of this matters without Edmund Gwen — IMHO the best Santa ever! Throughout all difficulties of having to simply say, "I am who I am", he convinces us that a straightforward approach is always best. His simple belief in himself carries over to those he contacts and enriches all their lives — save for the professed psychiatrist! And as he says, Christmas is not just a time of the year, but a year-round attitude! If everyone thought that way, we wouldn't get ourselves in some of the predictaments that we do!

"Does Macy tell Gimbel's?" is something you always heard growing up in New York. So it must have come as quite a shock to theater-goers to see them shaking hands and exchanging customers! (I confess to having done the very same thing every where I worked in my life. Wonder where I got the idea from...?) So many films today try to be clever and fail because they do not have the simple characteristics of films like this. First of all, a great storyline/screenplay; terrific actors, wonderful direction and a production that sets it apart from films NOT shot like this one — lots of live stuff and letting people react naturally. Could this be done today? Maybe not. I think it would require some very special, dedicated people and circumstances to carry it off!
As for the film that came after this, the re-make starring Mr. Attenborough is certainly very good, but it does not quite have the appeal of the original — at least not to me. Re-making a film decades later puts the producers and director in a quandry. It is ever so hard to re-create the mood/atmosphere/appearance — whatever you wish to call it — that it is best to just go for a complete updating of the story. For this reason so many classics remain just that — Classic film-making of a story in a certain time. Consider "The Bishop's Wife", for comparison. The remake does not try to be anything more than a facsimile, and in that it succeeds!

Getting back to the DVD Special Edition of "Miracle on 34th Street", the package is just right. We get a competant colorized version (done in the hues that I feel best reflect the 1940's era) and the original Black & White... We can choose which we wish to see. I found the colorized version very compelling because of its lack of brilliance or color saturation. I also own what I consider the best "colorized film" I have yet to see — "The Mark of Zorro" . (also purchased through Amazon!) The drama of black & white seems best for some films of that day. (Once again: "The Bishop's Wife", "Casablanca"...)
As for extras, what more could be asked for than the wonderful Maureen O'Hara giving us a look behind the scenes! The price being offered by Amazon is a small Christmas Miracle in itself. And if you order things frequently enough (like I do) then "Prime" makes it even better. It's hard to convey the 1940's into todays lifestyles and attitudes, but this film should make it easier for Gran dpa and Grandma to explain to the Grandchildren! Do yourself a favor and get this edition for Christmas this year! It's lost none of appeal to me over the last 65 years, and I think you might like it as well, given the way the story delivers its message.
Hope you and yours enjoy the Happiest of Christmases and a Great New Year!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
Miracle on 34th Street is part of our family Christmas tradition, hot chocolate, cookies, fireplace and movie. Great start for the Christmas holidays. The only thing I don't like is that it has been colorized. Wish they had left it in black and white. The way one man, one strange Santa Clause changes how people perceive Christmas and what is the real meaning of Christmas. This is a great addition to any family Christmas movie collection, will make your heart smile...I believe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
The year 1947 produced two Christmas tales for the ages, The Bishop's Wife and this one. Though they differ in tone, both reach deeply into human emotions and create experiences that really do border on the miraculous. The story concerns the sudden appearance at Macy's department store in New York City of a man who goes by the name Kris Kringle and claims to be the real Santa Claus. There is conflicting evidence, but Kris (Edmund Gwenn) does seem to have special knowledge about Christmas. And whether he's real or delusional, Mr. Macy (Harry Antrim) wants him on the job because he's getting everyone into the holiday spirit. So it falls upon Doris Walker (Maureen O'Hara) the store's employee responsible for its annual Thanksgiving Day Parade - whose belief in miracles has been sorely tested by a bad marriage - to host Mr. Kringle for the holiday season. That arrangement brings him into contact with Doris's young daughter Susan (an amazingly good Natalie Wood at 9 years old) and her sympathetic neighbor Fred Gailey (John Payne). Things seem to be going fine when ... well, that's far enough. Just know that the story proceeds to the most delightful courtroom scene ever, and that by the time the movie is over, you just might recover your belief in both Santa and miracles. [Viewing note: This one's available in a colorized version, too, but try to avoid the temptation.] Phil's Favorite 500: Loves of a Moviegoing Lifetime (2014 edition)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2016
I'm a big fan of the most famous 1947 film with Natalie Wood, but I'm not a purist. This 1994 remake is very, very good. Richard Attenborough plays a delightful, marvelously heart warming Santa. And Mara Wilson (playing Susan Carter) is a precocious 6 year old (who is going on 54). The villains of this film really make you dislike them, which is what villains are supposed to do and the twist during Kriss Kringle's hearing is perfect for this day and age to settle the skeptic's "unbelief" in Santa Claus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2006
When Maureen O'Hara, the top-billed star of 1947's "Miracle on 34th Street", proudly proclaims all three 'remakes' of the story were flops, it may sound a bit conceited...but she is absolutely right, the original IS the best...and THIS is the edition that is a MUST for your collection!

Based on a story by Valentine Davies (who wondered how the real Santa Claus would react to the commercialization of Christmas), with an Oscar-winning screenplay by director George Seaton, the film is a triumph of perfect casting, perfect timing, and a sentimentality and humor that post-War America desperately needed. Contrary to general opinion, 20th Century Fox did not treat it as a 'minor' film (studio head Darryl F. Zanuck loved the story), but location shooting (at the first Macy's parade since the war began, as well as inside the store, during the Christmas 'rush') would push the budget to the limit.

O'Hara (unhappily yanked from a long-awaited return to her Ireland home), and popular Fox leading man John Payne were cast in the leads, but the real 'stars' of the film are Oscar-winning 71-year-old Edmund Gwenn (who is absolutely perfect as 'Kris Kringle', and convinced everyone on the project that he really WAS Santa Claus), and 8-year-old Natalie Wood (the most gifted of the post-War child stars), who brings young Susan brilliantly to life. Their scenes together are so sweet and irresistable that the film positively glows!

While elements of the story are 'dated' (the competition between Macy's and Gimbel's, the Postal information, etc.), it simply gives the 1947 version a 'timeless' quality that the 1994 version lacked...and in not attempting to incorporate 'magic' into the story (as the Attenborough production uncomfortably does), it actually seems MORE magical!

Several supporting players should be singled out; Thelma Ritter (in her screen debut), is wonderful as a frazzled mom; Gene Lockhart (the judge) and William ("I Love Lucy") Frawley (as the judge's campaign manager) are hilarious together; and Porter Hall, as the hiss able 'psychologist', Sawyer, is a perfect foil for Gwenn. The entire cast is superb!

This edition offers both a B&W AND 'colorized' version of the film, each featuring a warm commentary by O'Hara (taped at the 86-year-old actress' home, in Ireland), two documentaries (including scenes from the Thomas Mitchell, Sebastian Cabot, and Richard Attenborough versions), the bizarre trailer for the film, the complete 1955 TV production starring Mitchell, and a sentimental history of the parade.

While the film was, indeed, originally released in the summer of 1947 (to maximize profits), it is a bona fide Christmas 'Classic', and should be an essential part of your holiday collection!
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse