Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning GimmeDanger GimmeDanger GimmeDanger  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Elton John Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,218 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,410 reviews
on December 29, 2015
Where is Gotham City? I only ask because this movie makes you feel as if you could actually go there, as if it actually exists somewhere. I liked Tim Burton's Batman, but Christopher Nolan's vision is so well paced and so real, that it is, in my humble opinion, the first REAL Batman movie. Christian Bale brings Batman to life with all of the emotion of a real person, I guess it takes a real actor to do so. The supporting cast is a group of actors with so much character that they could have had there own movies. Alfred is awesome. So many great movies stumble some during their running time, but this one did not miss a step.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2006
Quite possibly the movie of the year.

I went into this thinking, "They've DONE the whole Batman thing. Why put us through it AGAIN?! The first Burton/Keaton Batman was da bomb. "Returns" was decent, "Forever" was entertaining but sadly lacking. Seriously, with a cast like Drew Barrymore, Jim Carrey, Tommy Lee Jones, Nicole Kidman, Val Kilmer, and Kevin Grevioux (Raze of Underworld fame), how could Schumacher screw that up? Well, he found a way, and with the release of "Batman & Robin," it became painfully obvious that the end of Batman was more than just "in sight," it was here.

I grieved the death of what could have been a terriffic franchise, and I moved on.

Then along comes Goyer. He wrote "Blade: Trinity," and while I am NO fan of that movie, we'll blame the studio's cut and Parker Posey's horrible acting...for now. I will give him the benefit of the doubt because he has also written some great screenplays and stories. Blade, Blade 2, and Dark City are all his, but his writing abilities seem to be more hit-and-miss than substantially consistent talent.

Christopher Nolan directs and kicks in his two cents' worth in the screenplay department... I'm not impressed with his body of work. I liked Insomnia, but let's face it: Nothing I'd seen so far said to me that Batman Begins would even be watchable, much less entertaining.

To be honest, I didn't even WANT to like this movie for several reasons...

* Michael Keaton did so well with Batman

* Schumacher was so total in his obliteration of the franchise, I could not see any reason to beat the dead horse

* A fan of the "Dark Knight" I was tired of being disappointed at the cinema by the direction in which the franchise had gone

I must say that I'm very glad I saw this in the theater (on the "big screen"). Just think; I almost missed witnessing a true rebirth of this franchise!

The casting was work of art in itself. Some unlikely choices really REALLY pay off. Two character actors were cast against type, but it seems to have been a brilliant choice!

The effects were dynamic, and the sets and backgrounds were more than realistic. The stunts seemed to be more wire work than CGI (thankfully), lending a more believable and realistic feel to this endeavor. And gone (again, thankfully) are the hiddeous nipples from the Bat-Suit! (Curses Joel Schumacher for ever adding them in !!)

The thing which most impressed me about this film was the story. It was fantastic! I've read reviews by the "professional" reviewers, and one in particular claimed that the movie got lost in the beginning to find itself again only at the end. I'm learning NOT to listen to the "professional" reviewers and to judge for myself.

I have to say that by going through the changes in the beginning, you fully understand the motivations and abilities demonstrated by the Dark Knight. Because quite frankly, this isn't just Batman anymore. If the new franchise follows this first installment, it will literally BE the Dark Knight vein of the comic book series! THIS is the Batman I grew up with, not the campy, weak-@ss byotch who cracks off one-liners while feebly dealing justice to ineptly stupid criminal miscreants. Adam West was "A" Batman. Michael Keaton was "THE" Batman. Bale is the Dark Knight; it's a totally different animal.

The nemeses in this one are Ra's Al Ghul and the Scarecrow, with a promise of meeting the Dark Knight's "Joker" in the next installment!

This movie exhibits perfect direction from start to finish, never loses itself, never loses the audience, and with great relish fights its way through to a superb and satisfying ending.

I can't WAIT for the next one!

It gets a 9.5/10 and yes, that's a big leap from the rating I gave Burton's Batman cuz let's face it: Bale isn't a better Batman, but the movie itself is LIGHTYEARS better!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2008
The only thing that i can see wrong with this batman movie is that The Scarecrow sucked, they really messed up on that chracter. ras al ghoul kicked butt. i never heard of that villian untile i watched the special features. this movie was pretty good. christian bale did pretty good as batman. i'm not to hip on the new batmobile though the one in Batman 1988 was awesome. they should of kept that one. oh well. it was okay. but all in all the movie was good. it's a must see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2005
Christopher Nolan and his co-screenwriter, David Goyer have chosen to postpone the crossover of Bruce Wayne (a soulful Christian Bale) into Batman until half way through the new "Batman Begins."
And this is a crucial and important step that Nolan puts off until Bruce walks the earth in search of his own personal nirvana... in a sort of Christ-like journey to understand himself and his place in the world after his parents are brutally murdered. It is also from this quest that he acquires the knowledge and skills necessary for him to become a warrior, ready and able to combat the ills and rid his town Gotham of all evil-doers.
Nolan's "Batman Begins" is a more macho, masculine film than were the previous movies, which is not to take anything away from Tim Burton's elegiac, gothic and visionary takes on this story. But Burton's world is/was/ and will always be the world of the dreamer: his Batman is more sinned against than sinning. His Batman needs love and understanding while Nolan's wants and needs justice and revenge more than anything else: even the sultry Katie Holmes as Rachel Dawes proves to be of little interest to Batman save a chaste kiss at the end of the movie. It's interesting to note that in the previous Batman films we had big beautiful bombshells like Kim Bassinger and Nicole Kidman as the so-called love interests while here, in Nolan's vision we have a more scrubbed clean, working class (Rachel is an assistant D.A.) heroine: a woman who is as interested in righting wrongs as is Batman and not merely someone meant as an adornment to the suave debonair Batman of Val Kilmer, George Clooney or Michael Keaton. It's an important and telling shift from woman as a plush toy to one who is, not only beautiful but also smart and dedicated to a cause other than self-promotion and self-satisfaction.
Christian Bale's Batman is real..i.e. a genuine, fleshed-out, beautifully written movie character: he is conflicted, he makes mistakes, he trusts the wrong people at times and he pays for his mistakes. It is a remarkable casting coup to have Bale in this role particularly since of late he has been playing a spate of radicals...i.e. in "The Machinist," in which he transforms himself into a skeleton...literally. As Bruce Wayne/Batman, Bale dons the mask, assumes the persona, not out of a lust for power but out of a fervent belief that good will always triumph over evil: several times in this film he is brought to task for his trust in the basic goodness of people and one of his mentors ( Liam Neeson as Ducard) even goes so far as to ridicule Bruce as sentimental and weak for it. Though Ducard is his mentor and sensei, this relationship proves to be fraught with ambiguity as the movie progresses to the climax.
What is a Batman film without its villains? But this film is devoid of the cartoon craziness of the Riddler or the Joker. Here we have Cillian Murphy (so good in "28 Days Later") as a scary-as-hell The Scarecrow, alias psychiatrist Dr. Jonathan Crane, who spews his psychedelic paranoia and psychosis on an unsuspecting Gotham. His "stuff" is more thrilling and frightening than anything that the aforementioned villains could ever muster.
"Batman Begins" is not only a physically gorgeous film, it is also an emotionally and ideologically complicated one. It wears its heart on its sleeve, yes...but it also has the brains and a profoundly strong back and pumped up physicality to back it up.
22 comments| 546 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
My DVD crashed and so I replaced it. Probably the best tale of the Batman series. Too bad the sequel didn't live up to this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
Compared to the preceding attempts at Batman movies, this one was superior. I would recommend it for the older crowd. It's a pretty dark and serious movie but very well done.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
Love this film, it's even better on bluray, if you don't own this film and want to, it's worth buying in bluray. The price is unbelievably low as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
Great movie love the Steel Books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
no problems with the video download. enjoyed the movie with my sons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse