Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Color: 10KT Gold Filled|Style: Ballpoint Pen and Pencil Set|Change
Price:$129.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,276 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,435 reviews
on February 3, 2016
I ordered this as a Christmas gift for my father. It seemed nice enough when it came in, packaging, etc.. Just yesterday 2/2 my father called me to let me know that the pen had fallen apart. I looked at it to see if I could fix it and it appears as though the inside of the pen had actually fallen out. I went to the Cross website to send it back for repair (they offer a lifetime warranty) and they wanted a $10 processing fee just to send it back. What a joke! The pen lasted 2 months.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
I had one of these for a long time and it was of better quality. I have two main issues with this pen. One being that it is not as heavy as the previous Cross pen I had. If you are expecting to feel that nice solid weight in your writing hand this is not the pen for you. My second complaint is that I feel that this pen is not of the same craftsmanship as my previous Cross Classic Century pen. The twist mechanism is not not tight enough. What I mean by that is the bottom half of the pen wiggles when you turn it. In my experience Cross Pens are usually solid. Paying 20$ for a pen I expected a more sturdy product. I wish I would have read some of the recent reviews because they all pretty much state the same thing. Not the quality you expect for Cross. Two stars because I don't hate it but I definitely don't like it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
Sad Cross has started to manufacture in China. I've owned several Cross pens over the years and the down grade in quality is astonishing. The pen is light flimsy and does not inspire the belief that it will last. I hope Cross is happy with their decision, they have done a great disservice to a former American icon
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
AT Cross is a company that's local to me. Growing up, there was always someone you knew who worked there.

My son has an appreciation for locally made, well crafted items, and recently picked up an old Cross pencil at a flea market. We figured it would be nice to get him a set for xmas. I knew Cross had moved manufacturing to China, and had read the reviews on how these weren't the same anymore, but didn't think it would be that big of a change. Many companies outsource manufacturing and still maintain high standards.

I was very disappointed when I saw these. The pen isn't too bad. It does have a lighter feel, and the action isn't as smooth as a vintage Cross, but it's acceptable, especially at Amazon's price (not AT's price, which is nearly double).

The pencil however, wow, what a horrible change. Gone is the nice, thick lead, with a butter smooth twist to dispense action. The pencil is now like all the other mechanical pencils on the market. It's got this unsatisfying twist-click mechanism that dispenses the lead. Like many mechanical pencils, the lead doesn't always grasp well after dispensing, so it slips back, requiring you to push it out again.

After doing some googling, apparently this is the way Cross pencils are now. They use a new "switch-it" cartridge for their pencils.

While this is still a good pen/pencil set, just be aware you're not getting the vintage Cross of old. If you've never experienced a vintage Cross, you'll probably not be disappointed, especially since Amazon sells these for half of what Cross does direct. But if you're looking for that classic feel, scour eBay/flea markets for the originals.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2016
I generally am very pleased with Cross Pen/Pencil Products. I've had this pen (the Cross Classic Century, Lustrous Chrome model) for just over 30 days (which negates the return per Amazon policy) and the inside thread has become dislodged or defective and thus the ballpoint cannot be screwed in which makes the pen useless. I did try to insert a both refills that I also purchased and they would not work - so not a refill issue but rather the pen itself. I am not sure if this is an aftermarket or made outside the USA pen, but it does feel somewhat light and inferior to other Cross Pens I have had in the past (not too far off one of the other reviews I read). Perhaps the low price was an indication and I should have done a bit more diligence! Regardless, the distributor was MegaPen so I would suggest you be cautious if ordering from them.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
If you have an old Cross set, and you're expecting the quality to be the same, be forewarned: Cross is no longer quality. Comparing these new pens to the old ones, the difference is obvious. They're relying on people like me who recall the quality of their old products to buy this new junk. Their revenues depend on the work and production on others who are long since gone from the Cross product supply (and production) chain.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2016
Call me sentimental but this Cross Classic Century Pen is the best pen (given as a gift) I had growing up. The clip broke and the pen was lost. More than a decade later, while searching online for a nice pen, I come across this old friend. This is one of the best pens I have ever written with. I love the slim narrow barrel. The gold plated appointment is luxurious and classy without being over-stated. Oh, and it writes well too!
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
First, Sorry for my poor English, write you from the Google Translator
The purchase of this product that I've owned like him eight years ago, unfortunately lost
The current product is not the quality of the former never never
First Chinese industry, was a former US
Second, the ink cartridge runs out completely in less than two weeks, even though I do not use it except in the signature and writing some notes
Raw material in the product and smoother performance is not as before
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
I have some of the finer fountain pens, including Monte Blanc. The Cross Classic Century Fine Nib Fountain Pen is sleek and well designed. The cap screws on the top of the pen so that while writing it does not slip off. I read the reviews about it writing thicker than a fine point, but I have tried two different colors of the Cross SLIM cartridges (you will need to purchase the SLIM cartridges for this pen) with this pen and it never writes blotchy or thick. The bottom line here is, if you like slim pens, this one is great. As someone in one of the reviews said, it writes ever so slightly scratchy at times, but not enough to be a problem in anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 28, 2013
I can't stand the lead feed on this pencil. You have to remove the cap, twist it, press the end to push out some lead, turn it back, replace the cap and then twist the cap EVERY TIME YOU WANT TO EXTEND THE LEAD. So inconvenient and it doesn't work perfectly, it takes fiddling with to get it to work right. Guess it is back to the drawing board to find a pencil that feeds in a simple, usable way.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse