Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 214 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 261 reviews
on September 28, 2014
Big Thule fan, bought this item before reading the reviews and the thing broke on me. Purchased June 13th, broke on Sept. 28th, a little over 3-months, warranty expired. Went back to read the reviews and wish I read them earlier. Now I have a worthless hitch pin that doesn't lock. Would have been better off using 50 one dollar bills for toilet paper. If you read the other poor reviews, they are spot on. Everything from inserting the locking mechanism your self (not snug fit), to having too much exposure of the pin, cheap plastic, too expensive. STAY AWAY!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2016
This is a solid lock, but you may want to add some O rings to make it truly "snug" on your hitch, otherwise it will rattle a bit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
Very unimpressed with this lock. If someone were to go out of their way to design a hitch lock that could easily be whacked off with a hammer, this is it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
Great Deterent for amature thieves. Wont hold up to professional thief. A sledge hammer and steel rod is all that would be needed to knock lock off of bolt. The wrench supplied to tighten anti rattle bolt is good to tighten for a local 5 mile run. It is nice that they supply a tool with the system but, to really tighten the bolt with the thin wrench could result in busted knuckles or a hurt hand.If you make 2000 mile round tips I would use a socket wrench to tighten the bolt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
this hitch pin is specifically designed for some of thule's attachments such as my 2-rack bike carrier. The shaft is threaded up by the bolt end so you can secure the attachment to keep it from rattling and it has a lock that is weather protected. It works perfectly for it's intended purpose but keep in mind that it's NOT a general purpose hitch pin...

would i purchase again? YES
do i recommend? YES, if you have the equipment it was designed to work with.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
The system fit flawlessly into my bike rack (Thule Vertex). The lock goes on easily, feels secure, and has a dust cover to cover the key entry. I love the fact that the tool to put it on has a bottle opener built in. Who doesn't want a nice cold one after a day of hard riding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
Excellent concept but too pricey for some. It works. It will keep honest people honest but you could also chain your Thule rack to your vehicle if you drive a truck. I have a truck and I like buying OEM parts so this gets 4 stars only because it costs more than it's really worth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
This lock is perfect for my Thule Vertex-4 bike rack and Class III hitch! The only reason I give it 4/5 stars is because of the price tag. I looked into other options to lock the rack to the hitch, and the key to this one is the threaded bolt. You will definitely want that to keep the rack from wobbling around. Just about ever lock I looked at seemed like it would be fairly easy for a thief to knock off the end with a hammer, but driving Xcountry we wanted to deter theft as much as possible (locking rack to hitch, locking bikes together on the rack, and took bikes into hotel each night).
This worked out well for us and I highly recommend this lock, mostly because of the threaded bolt that fits nice and tight and prevents wobble.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
It functions as it is intended. However I did not realize it was not helpful with speeding up the attachment process of the rack. The purpose is rather only to prevent a thief who HAS A RACHET SET from removing your entire rack. It still requires a ratchet to attach the rack to your car each time you need it. The bolt it comes with is fine. However, if you are in an area where thieves with ratchets steal bike racks, you had better have a car alarm as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
Got this locking hitch pin to go with the Thule bike rack. However this locking hitch pin is way too long. I have it going through a 2 inch hitch and there is at least 1 inch from out the other side of the hitch to the lock that is open pin. Thule, you need to shorten the length of this pin by at least 3/4 a inch, no reason for it to be that long. If it's that long on my 2 inch hitch, I'd hate to see how much extra it sticks out on a 1 1/4 inch hitch. The threads could completely come unscrewed before the lock at the end would stop it from sliding out beyond the point where the rack itself would become too unstable riding and wobbling on the thin part of the pin.

The quality of the pin seems good, just too long for my liking.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 44 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here