Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Home Alone 2
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 30, 2005
Sequels are almost never as good as the first one. The only one that is better than the first one is "Mission Impossible 2". There are some like "American Pie", "American Wedding", "The Godfather Part II" and "National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation", that are as great as the first ones, but then there are others like "The Godfather Part III", "Wayne's World 2" and "Vegas Vacation" that kill an entire series. "Home Alone 2: Lost In New York" straddles the field. It's nowhere near as good as the first one, but it's really a very good movie nonetheless.

In it, Macaulay Culkin returns as Kevin. After two years of being treated kindly by his parents as an apology for leaving him home alone, he has become the alleged source of problems once again.

The film is different in that Kevin actually isn't "home alone" so to speak. He makes it to the airport for the family's Florida vacation. However, it's the wrong plane he boards. Kevin winds up in New York. Nervous at first, he realizes he brought his dad's luggage with him, and buys his way through Manhattan with his credit card, including an ill fated stay at the plaza hotel. (I find it interesting since I too had an unpleasant stay at the plaza last year, when they lost my only luggage, which was filled with thousands of dollars worth of cds). However, Marv (Daniel Stern) and Harry (Joe Pesci) are back on the streets, also in New York, and soon run into Kevin. You can basically tell what happens in here.

Overall, this film is very good. However, there is one reason this film doesn't get five stars or even four point five. That is because it does not have the warm holiday feeling the first one had. In fact, this film is darker than the first one. One good example is the confrontation at the abandoned house with Marv and Harry. It is much more violent than the first one. Marv is nearly killed when he gets electrocuted. How's that for a family film? Plus, there is one rather disturbing sequence where Kevin is nerrvous because he's alone in the dead of night and meets to really seedy and weird hookers. Then he gets into a cab with a really spooky driver. This may actually frighten the younger fans of the first film. Another sticking point is that I never got into Brenda Fricker's pigeon character (this film's version of the much more enjoyable shovel character from the first film).

However, there are some strong qualities. Catherine O'Hara turns in another strong performance as Kevin's put - upon mother, while the small roles by Donald O'Connor, Tim Curry, Rob Schneider (still a cast member on "Saturday Night Live" at this point) and Donald Trump liven things up. This is nowhere near as good as part one, but definitely worth it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 1999
This sequel actually turns out better than the first and soooooo much better than the third. Kevin again finds himself stranded without his family, but this time he is in New York. With beautiful christmas music, and spectacular visions of holiday surroundings, this movie earns to be my favorite christmas movie of all time. This movie provides extra and a ton more laughs than the first one with awesome performances by TIM CURRY, ROB SHNIEDER, AND DANA IVY. They lighten the movie up to me. But also this movie is special for the heart and soul, when Kevin finds a poor woman to befriend, and love on the streets. This movie goes to prove that: Maybe there is people out there that will give the time, care, and effort to make a difference in some one's life.
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
I've seen many reviews about this Blu-ray disc, and they say it's a big disappointment when compared to the first Home Alone Blu-ray. Well, I'll be the judge of that (of course, it's my review). Does this Blu-ray look as good as Home Alone? Nope, but it still looks very good on an HDTV. If you stand 1-2 feet from the screen, you will see a lot of grain though, but if you stay at a normal seating distance, it looks great. I compared it to the previous DVD version I have, and there is no comparison. There are simple things you can see now that you could not before like: the note given to Kevin, clear Christmas lights, and the text when Kevin uses his Dad's Visa Card. The old DVD version could not be played properly on widescreen TVs since it wasn't enhanced while the Blu-ray version is 1080p which makes a HUGE difference. The DVD version suffered with Dolby Surround 2.0 while we get DTS-HD sound on the Blu-Ray. There are no extras, but it's a good thing since this was a single layer-disc which allowed for a higher data rate on the picture quality. So, if you're wanting to get the best version of Home Alone 2 or upgrade to a better version, than this Blu-Ray version is it.
review image review image
33 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2005
Last time around, Kevin (Macaulay Culkin) was left home alone (pun intended) by his family in a frantic hurry to get to the airport. And to add insult to injury, he had to deal with a couple of bumbling sillies--burglars who wanted to burglarize his house--who went by the name of the "Wet Bandits." This time around, it's more of the same, but with a slight difference: this time, he gets on the wrong plane, and is left to his own devices in the "Big Apple"--a/k/a New York City.

The plot is pretty similar to the last one in many ways: Kevin gets into trouble due to getting into it with his older brother, and is punished. He gets fed up with his family treating him unfairly, and in the midst of his angst, wishes that he could have a vacation on his own, without any of his family. The next morning, in a frantic hurry, the family rushes to the airport to go to Florida for Christmas vacation. In the airport, Kevin stops to put some batteries into his small camcorder (which will be largely significant later in the film), and as soon as he lifts his head, his family are long gone. He spots an older guy from the backside who looks like his dad, and therefore gets on the same plane as this gentleman, believing that it really was his dad. Needless to say, he was in for a big surprise when the plane landed.

Meanwhile, the "Wet Bandits" (Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) escape from jail, and are in the "Big Apple" as well. You know what happens: they cross paths, and these two clowns are looking for revenge. The slapstick craziness that was seen in the last film, is taken up an extra notch, and is made gut-bustingly funnier as a result. (And again, just listening to Daniel Stern's demented operatic-like screeching as he gets his, alone, just slams the wind straight out of me. It's too hilarious!)

As for poignant moments, last time around, the "scary" character was an old man who was rumored to be a murderer. This time, it's a homeless woman who dwells in Central Park, and her companions are a bunch of pigeons.

These Home Alone films are recommended for anyone with a taste for over-the-top, outrageous slapstick humor, added with a large dose of mischief. Also recommended if you want to bring out the kid in you.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
I love the movie and would give it at least 4 stars, but I purchased the DVD/BluRay/Digital HD version and have to say the quality of the BluRay rendition is very poor. It starts out OK, but about ten minutes in, it becomes grainy. There are entire scenes in which everything is grainy, and there are others in which certain parts are grainy. The scene in which Kevin first speaks to Mr. Duncan is strange, because shots of Mr. Duncan look like I'm watching it on an old portable from the 70's via antenna, while shots of Kevin are clear. I didn't try out the DVD, but fortunately, we have VUDU, so I just streamed the digital HD copy, and the quality of that is fine. My rating is only for the lack of visual quality of the BluRay, not for the movie itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2003
What kind of idiots do you have working here?
"The finest in New York."
- This is just an idea of the great writing & acting in Home Alone 2:Lost In New York. This is the second of 4 movies by Chris Columbus. Lil' Kevin McCallister gets caught up in more trouble again in this sequel to Home Alone.
Home Alone 2:Lost in New York starts with the Christmas Pageant where young Kevin manages to get himself in a bit of bother with Buzz who manages to make Kevin look like a laughing stock in front of many parents. Buzz then makes a very phony,but convincing apology to the family who accept it (as idiots).As he brings this apology to an end,he calls Kevin a "troutsniffer". The acting in this film is pure brilliance,especially the parts of the two "Wet Bandits" played by Joe Pesci & Daniel Stern.This film is such a hilarious film especially with great actors such as Joe Pesci,Daniel Stern,Catherine O'Hara,Tim Curry,Rob Schneider & not forgetting the fine young actor Macaulay Culkin. If you like Home Alone 2:Lost in New York then you are bound to love Home Alone.Although Home Alone 3 & 4 are not worth seeing as they are not the originals with Macaulay Culkin & the original Bandits
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2015
Review from the child that watched this..."it's very funny and silly. After you watch this you will really want to watch the first one and all the other Home Alone movies."

Review from the adult that watched this..."I saw this as a child. I disliked it then and I dislike it now. The parents are completely irresponsible."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2005
This should have been the end of the Home Alone series, seeing that the same premise and cast were used for two films but, naturally, Hollywood just can't resist trying to squeeze more money from a proven formula.

I'm not one for sequels but this was one of the handful that I can enjoy time and again, not only because the original cast is in it, but because of Macaulay Culkin's comedic ability (even as a kid) and Joe Pesci's and Daniel Stern's reactions to getting their butts kicked, booby trap style.

Kevin is not forgotten (like he was last time) but hops the wrong plane after he puts fresh batteries in the family camera right before he gets to the gate at the airport (his family had all the bad luck with high winds knocking out the electric - and the alarm clock - twice). He mistakes a man with the same coat as his father and after Kevin reassures a flight attendant he's on the right plane, takes his seat ... in a plane heading in the exact opposite direction the rest of his family is going (naturally, no one realizes Kevin's missing until they're in Miami and he's in NY).

Who could have thought a vacant New York brownstone could be so much fun? Sure, Pesci's and Stern's characters are more banged up this time but, hey, they started it. (The adventures in the Plaza Hotel are hilarious, as well.)

Anyway, this is one sequel worth the time to watch. Just don't bother with the irrelevant, contrived, and unncessary third installment of the series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
One of my all time favorite Christmas movies, and somehow better than the original. I love the first two Home Alone movies, and recently realized how much better than 2nd movie was than the 1st. It was nice having Macaulay Culkin a little older and more experienced so he was able to make a better movie.
There is still the classic bit of the criminals attempting to assault Kevin's fortress, but this movie had a much better separate story. With Kevin ending up in New York there was just such a variety of trouble he can get himself into, and the movie creators really went with it. Definitely a great sequel for an awesome Christmas Story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
This is positively my favorite Christmas movie of all time. I start watching it immediately after Thanksgiving and I watch it a bunch of times until after Christmas. I always watch it while I decorate the house and Christmas tree. A family favorite. Get your hot cocoa and sit down for a hilarious, heart-warming Christmas movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse