YED Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 New Year, New You Valentines Day STEM Shop Popular Services TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Beat the Cold with Outdoor Clothing on Amazon NYNN

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 675 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,054 reviews
on October 7, 2014
This is a fantastic movie. One of my absolute favorites. Might be a bit disturbing for young children. I love the darkness of the movie in the real world and the colorful underworld of death. Visually brilliant. And the bad guy gets what is deserved. Reminds me of the old 50s movies in a way. His some things were left implied. One of Tim Burton's finest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
I love anything to do with Tim Burton or Johnny Depp so it was a win win. I love this movie. I'm so satisfied with my purchase and would recommend it to everyone. It's a beautiful, twisted story, and I LOVE the music in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
I purchased this movie several months ago. I remember seeing the
trailers for this in the theater years ago when I was a kid, and let me say,
the movie was nothing like I though it would be! It was the perfect blend
of eerie, cute, funny and touching at the same time.

For those of you with small children: there is nothing overly scary within
this film, and I firmly believe Corpse Bride actually would teach a child
about the value of life and death, albeit in a humorous tone. Modern
family films present important life's lessons anymore. (For the record,
I have no children of my own, but I am speak as one from memories of
her own childhood upbringing.)

Of course, this IS a Tim Burton film, so much of his unusual tone resides within.
However, wither or not you are one of his fans, do your self a favor and purchase
this movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2006
This DVD has a treasured spot on my daughter's shelf (she's 5), right next to the Disney classics. Her little friends also enjoy it.

She is an average kid, not morbid or shy. She loves this movie because of the plot and the (admittedly odd) loveliness of Emily and Victoria, the two lead female characters. The skeleton characters do not seem to faze her. There is only one true villain in the film, the gold-digging cad who murdered Emily (Helena Bonham Carter). He is evil but not scary.

Corpse Bride is sweet, original and even thought-provoking for children, and I'm glad we found it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Definitely too dark and gory for little kids, this fantastic world feels like Tim Burton’s wonderfully strange mind was completely set free by animation (where he started his career). The voice performances are also terrific -- more subtle and full of colors than often even very good actors bring to animation. Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham-Carter, Albert Finney Christopher Lee, and Emily Watson -- just to name a few -- bring out both the humor and the humanity in these wild characters.

The story; an awkward young man, about to be pushed into an arraigned marriage with a girl he' surprised to find he does really love, accidentally marries a dead woman while practicing he marriage vows in the forest (it makes sense in the film, I promise!). He’s taken into the world of the dead (ironically far more colorful than the almost black and white vision of Victorian England in which he lives), and from there has to figure out how to get home and back to his real lady love, even if his current ‘corpse bride’ is quite sweet, in a decomposing sort of way. Top it all off with some wickedly funny songs by Danny Elfman fashioned into wildly entertaining musical numbers and you have a truly one of a kind cinematic treat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
Another great piece of work from Tim Burton, Johnny Dep is made into the groom as one of Tim Burton's next clay figurines for this stop motion animation picture. He captures death in the living world more than he does in the dead, and this movie has a way of making death seem almost fun and that life will go on in any life you end up living. Highly recommend this master piece and many more from Tim Burton.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2015
I'm a big fan of Tim Burton's films and of course I needed to add this movie to the cartoon collection. The story line is cute and the dark feel to it makes it a whole lot of better. My son loves the movie as we'll and the movie is being watched constantly. As for the product itself, it was shipped early and securely.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2016
This movie is barely over an hour, which is nice, since I was watching it with my 4 and 5 year old daughters. We needed a quick show. It is a bit intense, at a few parts, with pop ups. It was the perfect Halloween movie, since it's dark and strange. My girls liked it, just beware of the intense moments. The music is creepy, too, so we kept the sound down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Tim Burton is a genius and this movie is a great example of that. The story, animation and voices are all fantastic.

Like most people, I rely on honest product reviews to make purchase decisions. Because the experience of others has been so helpful to me, I try to provide honest, helpful reviews to assist other shoppers in selecting the right products for them. I hope my review has been helpful to you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2006
In the murkiest night the darkness wraps its shadowy blanket over all that is exposed. Such a night is a fitting moment for the glum tale of Tim Burton's Corpse Bride directed by Tim Burton and Mike Johnson, which has its roots in Russian-Jewish folklore. The actual tale called The Finger received a loose adaptation by the three screenwriters John August, Pamela Pettler, and Caroline Thompson, as they made some changes while preserving the strongest themes of the 19th century folktale. Yet, the screenwriters delicately maintain the ominous atmosphere, which the two directors magically brought to life through groundbreaking stop-motion photography using, for the first time ever, a digital camera. Despite the story's morose and macabre content, it is an event for young and old, as it allows the audience to experience a dark, yet wonderfully poignant tale of love.

The audience finds Corpse Bride situated in a time when rigid Victorian morality governs the upper class through strict control of emotions and low tolerance for any kind of overt behavior. In many aspects, these strict societal rules almost prevent a person to live life, as the only proper thing was to completely suffocate the inner feelings such as love. Strong Christian values govern the people and if over-stepping the social norms the consequences could be social rejection, which people of high status feared most of all. However, there is also a double standard emerging in the film, as greed leads people on to seek fortune and status by all means necessary.

In the opening scene Victor Van Dort (Johnny Depp's voice) draws a live butterfly and then releases it into the open through the window. Secretively, it shows the Victor values feelings and the moments of blissful joy, as the camera follows the butterfly through a montage displaying people's obsessions in life. The first thing that comes into view is a number of clocks, all being exactly on time, as a man stands sweeping in unison with time. It lets the mind ponder the monotony of life that many might suffer when becoming fixated with time. Next we get to see people chopping the heads of fishes, which presents an interesting analogy to the Victorian time. Fish is a symbol for life and fertility while here it is being completely decapitated. In addition, the fishmongers do not seem to enjoy what they are doing, as they mechanically toss fish up in the cutting board, which again supports the notion of meaningless existence. The opening montage sets the mood for the rest of the film, which is dark, ominous, and almost ill.

Swiftly the story hurries along, as the opening montage introduces all the main characters. Soon the audience learns that there is to be an arranged marriage between the rich fishmonger family Van Dort and the soon-to-be destitute aristocrat family Everglot (family name sounds like a word play with gluttony.) Victor is extremely nervous to meet his bride to be Victoria (Emily Watson's voice), as both are concerned whether they will love each other. However, both sets of parents brush the notion of love away, as both families see an opportunity to gain either fortune, or social prestige of a title.

When Victor and Victoria meet each other for the first time all thoughts of worry in regards to whether they will love one another disappear, as Cupid's arrows simultaneously burrow itself into their chests. Yet, the strong societal rules forbid them to express their emotions for each other. Instead, Victor displays his newly acquired emotions for Victoria by stumbling on the words when rehearsing the wedding ceremony. His clumsiness becomes paramount to the level that the priest suspends the wedding until Victor can remember the wedding vows. In despair, Victor stumbles out Everglot's mansion of the repeating, stumbling, and stuttering the vows, until he finally gets them right and places the ring on what looks like a twig. However, it is the bony remains of a corpse who awakens when Victor places the ring on her finger. The voice of Helena Bonham Carter presents the corpse bride that Victor married by mistake. Meanwhile, the malevolently sly Lord Barkis (Richard E. Grant's voice) sees an opportunity to seize Victoria, as his own bride.

It is a mesmerizing journey to follow Victor and his predicament of having married a dead woman while also trying to get back to the land of the living. During Victor's stay in the Underworld an interesting notion emerges that one should cherish the moments of love and warm feelings while alive. However, the strict moral codes by which the people live prohibits the people from fully discovering the true wonders of life such a love. The Corpse Bride is not Burton's best, but it is a remarkable tale with an important message that will both entertain and keep the audience contemplating several issues including the importance of love.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse