Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,020 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,369 reviews
on December 11, 2016
It’s a downright huge homemade Christmas for the extended Stone family during the December holiday. The eldest and ‘favorite' son, Everett (Dermot Mulroney), brings his quite buttoned-up and beautiful girlfriend, Meredith (Sarah Jessica Parker), to meet the entirety of his free-spirited, unified, opinionated, and diverse brood. This entire bunch is filled to the brim with exclusive personalities, definite broad experiences, and poignant irons in the fire though they seem to all agree with each other for the most part… then comes the seemingly radical and unexpected spark off another set of opinions and let the dominoes fall where they may. While Meredith has a more conservative attitude amongst a family of the opposite, her opinions, thoughts, even her attempts at understanding cannot hold water and are under fire with this bunch so she feels compelled to call in the reinforcement of her sister Julie (Claire Danes) for some emotional support amongst this crew. So who are the judgmental here and who are judged? You decide while viewing this entertaining and often boisterous ensemble cast written and directed by Thomas Bezucha.

This is definitely not your typical merry, merry, happy family Christmas movie fare and I have watched it throughout the years at any time of year while realizing each time something new or overlooked before. In fact, this family is definitely not the easiest to warm up to as a whole. Each person is quite specific in how they face life except when it comes to their familial tunnel vision. They have that down in spades. With these many people acting together, there is too much to miss with just one viewing. The cast includes Diane Keaton (Sybil Stone), Craig T. Nelson (Kelly Stone), Rachel McAdams (Amy), and Luke Wilson (Ben) amongst so many others whom all fill the family home to overflowing right into the town’s public Inn; a Christmas family get together never looked quite like this to me before. This is less of a comedy as it is a drama with some great comedic elements. There are scenes that had me holding my breath because of what had been said while I was waiting for a response - or a response that I didn’t necessarily understand what all of the fuss was over. They may all fill up one great big home but these individual personalities manage to suck in each and every corner of breathing space. The questions may be as follows: Is there room for Meredith, who represents a different point of view? Can these families learn from one another that puzzle pieces don’t always fit perfectly, and if they do, the picture may be far too boring? Again, you decide.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2016
This is hands down our family's all time favorite Christmas movie! It's truly a new classic. The characters are well drawn, the plot is good, and there is the right mix of humor and drama. If you haven't seen this movie, you are missing out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
The adult children (or sometimes college chums) gathering for a family holiday is a theme that's been tried over and over, and usually includes some neurotic (if not psychotic) members who make everyone else walk on egg shells. This family gathering is superbly cast for a family of adult children all self-confident and supremely aware of the shared gold of their upbringing. The weakest character is likely Diane Keaton, which may only be only a heads-up to how superbly natural and unique each of the other characters are. Although Keaton plays the mother with all the nuances the writer-director intended, to my mind sufficiently still Diane Keaton to be a distraction; and the name-claimer Claire Danes, who plays a naturally buoyant and sensitive uninvited guest, doesn't enter the story till the tail end, so cannot claim any outsized kudos. Craig Nelson as the father might be the "huge person" who gathers all his ducklings to heart, while Sarah Jessica Parker is superb as the up-tight girl-friend of oldest son; but 2nd son turns out to be the commodious heart that brings out her (apparently quite natural) inner girl. Three other siblings are equally unique within the family and bring issues that provide the mountains over which the family must climb. I've watched it at least 8 times, sometime 4 times in a week; and I'm giving it to six people as presents for Christmas. This is a family that doesn't preach; it just thrives; and its the natural commodious relationships that fashion the hook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
A lot of people may have a difficult time with this movie given the serious nature of dealing with a serious illness at what should be a joyful time of year, but this really doesn't detract from a wonderful film. It is absolutely part of my family's holiday viewing, as we find much humor in the familiar dysfunctional family dynamic and quirkiness. Some of the personalities work better than others (Luke Wilson is definitely the more appealing of the older brothers, and Claire Danes isn't really given enough meat to round out her character) but it really does capture a particular type of family Christmas and is just a fun watch for a group.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Great movie! I watch this movie every year during the Christmas season. It has been a favorite for years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A light Drama with some laughs, about a modern day family with all of the issues facing todays individuals, and yet with all of the differences that should push these individuals apart, because they are a family they treat each other with tolerance and acceptance,(at least to each other's faces) and in the end create a strong modern loving family.

Mom has cancer, Brother is gay with perfect significant other, and trying to adopt a baby, One brother smokes a little pot, laid back likes to have fun, one is all business, a lonely sister, an expecting sister, and a new girlfriend entering the family who most of the family do not appreciate but one brother appreciates her too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
My ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE! I watch it every single Christmas!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
I just love this movie and I wanted it to be able to watch it at any time. I received it when I was supposed to and the price was awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
In my opinion, The Family Stone is vastly underrated. I think it is probably my favorite Christmas movie. All of the acting is on point and the comedic timing is perfect. It's appropriately goofy at times, which is to be expected from a Christmastime film. I bought this movie for my mom for Christmas, as she loves Christmas movies and sappy movies. Win, win. She loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
This is a holiday movie that surprises you with its candid, loving and frank no nonsense family& the events that go on :) Its a wonderfully refreshing take on family dynamics,mother and daughter in laws....there's so much to love about the family stone, the heartwarming scenes, the hilarity that ensues is incredibly funny! The ensemble of these formidable and lovely actors is such a triumph for the story!A great example of how an ensemble family should be with each other :-D

I love this film, I think if you watch it-you"ll love with this family too.

P.s. Only reason it isn't five stars is cause I wanted more of the movie I loved the characters so much, loved everything just felt it could have been a little smidge longer <3 the ending is good though ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse