Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 934 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,383 reviews
TOP 100 REVIEWERon July 3, 2016
There are three parts to this movie that you will think you understand as it progresses. The beginning. The middle. And The end.

Even as you think you're understanding each part you'll suddenly start questioning your understand of all three parts. And you'll be entertained by the confusion! (I know this makes no sense. Watch the movie and it will.)

I'm not going to go into details. I'm not going to spoil anything. But I will tell you that the entire movie is wonderfully entertaining. And it will keep you thinking the entire time, trying to figure out what's going on. It's very confusing, but not in a "poorly told story" way. It's confusing on purpose, just like a magic show it. The entire film about two magicians and their magic shows is one misdirection after another. Just like an actual magic show is.

The whole thing is so well done.

It's extremely well acted. It's a great story. The set design and costuming is incredibly well done. All of this makes it a very immersive experience.

I don't know how this movie slipped largely under the radar because its really good.

Plus, how often do you get to see Alfred help Wolverine fight against Batman?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
This is quite an entertaining and we'll produced movie. The plot is clever and intriguing and the performances by the cast are perfect in every detail. The film takes place when most people actually believed that magicians were possessed of actual supernatural power. If you enjoy dark and mystical atmosphere and thought provoking plot twists then you'll be quite entertained. The music and cinematography are a treat to the senses and due to their own merit are worth the time to view this film. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and think you will too. Grab some popcorn, sit back and prepare to disappear into the world of illusion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 6, 2016
This is so unlike the other Nolan movies. Totally different feel, and such a dark twist at the end.

But it's worthwhile, and of course Hans Zimmer's music is always the star of the show, too.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 2, 2006
MOVIE: The Prestige is Christopher Nolan's new thriller and also the second film about magicians that we've seen in the past few months. A lot of people compare it to The Illusionist, but in fact we have two very different films here. The Prestige tells the story of Robert (Hugh Jackman) and Alfred (Christian Bale), two friends who make their living as magicians in London. The two start to become competatitve and try and outdo each other with every new trick. When Alfred performs the amazing transportation trick it drives Robert insane as he tries to figure out the secret. His assistant played by Michael Caine says he uses a double, but Robert believes otherwise. He travels to see Nikola Tesla (played surprisingly well by David Bowie), a mysterious man who designed a machine for Alfred once. Tesla's assistant is played by the one and only Andy Serkis who is finally branching away from Peter Jackson. What follows is a great and entertaining film, but it's really more about the tricks and the twists than it is about the characters.

The film is incredibly stylish and it has Christopher Nolan written all over it. He crafts a great film and follows the structure of the magician's act. Act one of the film is indeed the pledge, and we see something that seems ordinary but probably isn't. This seemingly innocent rivalry is more than meets the eye. Act two is the turn in where the magician makes this ordinary something become extraordinary. This point comes when Alfred performs the inexplicably amazing transportation trick. We think we know what's going on, but Nolan knows where he's leading his audience; we know nothing. The final act is called the prestige, where all the twists and turns are presented to the audience. Once this suspense ride finally resolves and ends, the audience is left sitting tensely in their seats as the screen fades to black. "Directed By Christopher Nolan" appears on the screen and we realize who the true magician is. The film is a wild ride with incredible atmosphere and great acting. You truly are captivated by the setting of the film. David Julyan's tense ambient score keeps things on the edge and Wally Pfister's dark and muted cinematography creates the perfect mood. The only flaw of the film is the lack of emotion we as the audience have for the characters. Throughout the entire film we are thinking "oh, what turn is going to happen next?!", not "what is going to happen to Robert!". Don't get me wrong, the characters are strong enough to carry the film, but the film should be centered around them not the magic.

ACTING: As in terms of acting we get a fine slate. Christopher Nolan brings his Batman Begins buddies back and we have Christian Bale and Michael Caine. Hugh Jackman has the lead role with supporting work from David Bowie, Andy Serkis, and Scarlett Johansson. Christian Bale steals the show and crafts a very deceiving character, which all the more helps the impact of the twist ending. Bale finally gets to act with his native English accent, and it's interesting to hear him with it since we are so used to him speaking with an American accent. Hugh Jackman does a superb job at matching Bale's screen presence. The acting is great all around, and it always is when it's a Nolan film.

BOTTOM LINE: Nolan delivers a crafty and suspenseful film. It's visually stunning with great cinematography and set design. However, on the character side it lacks to deliver an emotional punch, the film is purely contextual. It's a great movie though that promises to entertain.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
I listened to the book through Audible and really like it. Oddly enough, the book was under a channel called "Better than the movie." They weren't lying. I love Hugh Jackman and was disappointed. I also think that hearing the book first spoiled my opinion of the movie so I'm giving it 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
It was very good. You have to pay attention to the details as there is a good twist in it, especially at the end. I'm not a big Christian Bale fan, but he was very good in this. As he always is, Michael Cane was superb. The companion movie to this is the "Illusionist" with Edward Norton, but it is hard to find.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
Christopher Nolan, who brought us the Dark Knight re-boot of Batman, as well as the cerebral "Inception" in recent years wrote/produced/directed this brilliant film about two magicians and the deadly consequences of their professional and personal rivalries. The cast is flawless, well-paced, and the use of flashbacks very effectively ties together a complex story that resolves itself in a most satisfying ending that will no doubt surprise the first-time viewer.

The video/sound quality of the HD instant video is clear and indistinguishable from the Blu-ray, with the only criticism being the inability to select or skip ahead (or review) "chapters" within the film as you can using Blu-ray or some other streaming services. This makes jumping ahead to a favorite scene a bit annoying and time consuming, but otherwise no complaints - particularly because the cost of owning this video on the cloud is a better value than some competing streaming services.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
I felt confused through most of this movie and by the end only some of that confusion had been cleared up for me. Still, though, it was an entertaining ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2017
Perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
Another compelling thriller from Christopher Nolan, and is great for family viewing. The image and sound is crisp, which allows you to fully enjoy two solid performances from Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale. Watch this movie if you enjoy mysteries and riveting thrillers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse