Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fluke TP220 SureGrip Industrial Test Probes
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Style Name: TP220|Size: 1000VDC|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 2, 2011
These are well made.. as all Fluke products are.. and make testing wires in small confined areas much easier.
I do have a different brand set for far reaching harnesses, but use these for up close under dash work.
They don't twist the meter wire when you screw them into the harness as one might think, also these are rated at 5 amps and 60 volts dc which is great.

When done, remember to seal the small pin hole the probe leaves in the insulation.. as it could lead to corrosion. I use clear fingernail polish as it works great and is cheap. Do not use silicone sealers as many will eat the copper.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
First, let's be clear. This is not a set of probes with permanently attached leads. If you want the version with leads permanently attached, you want the TL175. These TP175E are modular probes with a shrouded banana jack on the back end. To use these probes you need to purchase at minimum a set of leads with banana plugs on both ends. An excellent (and highly recommended) example would be the Fluke TL224.

These probes are typically superior Fluke quality. The retractable shroud over the probe tips works very smoothly, and is excellent. It looks gimmicky until you handle it, and then you realize just how useful it is for avoiding shorting across adjacent terminals.

The probe tips are standard 2mm with a semi-sharp tip and threaded base.
For needle sharp tips, the TP88 pin probe adapters fit perfectly onto these probes. The only drawback to the TP88 adapters is that they are only rated for use to 60VDC.
The threading at the base of the probe tip allow screwing on accessories such as the (included) 4mm banana plug adapter, or the (not included) shrouded alligator clips AC175. I don't know why you'd *want* to use the AC175 instead of using the far superior modular AC285 alligator clips, but I'm sure there's some application for it.

In closing, these probes are part of a modular test lead system. They are unlikely to be purchased alone, without other parts of the system (leads, alligator clips, hook probes, alligator extended probes, gripper probes, etc). Honestly, the best way to purchase these is as part of the modular set, such as the TLK225. You'll save money in the long run.

Highly recommended, as part of a modular test lead set!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
These are *very* sharp pin probes which attach onto standard 2mm test lead metal probe tips. The attachment is a friction fit, without threading, so care is needed to prevent pulling the probe out of the TP88. I use these tips with a set of TP175E probes, and they work great for hitting fine traces on circuit boards and for probing connector shells. If your boards are conformal coated, this will go right through the coating to give a good reading.

One thing to keep in mind is that these tips are only rated for 60VDC. For typical uses this is plenty, but always keep in mind what the voltage you are measuring could be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
Well made with a price to match, as you expect from Fluke. Stiff, durable tips. My disappointment is that they are incompatible with my Fluke leads, a fact very hard to establish from all the model numbers they have. Is it too much to ask for all their leads to be interchangeable?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
I like this product, but the base is already cracked - it is not compatible even with some Fluke products, and absolutely incompatible with Agilent products. The plastic is too cheap and thin for the price. Steel quality is OK, though a little bit too soft, could be hardened better. I need to sharper the pins from time to time.
It total it is a good product, it is very useful for conformal coated PCBs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2010
This is a highly recommended product...and a great improvement from my old test probes mind you. Just to clear up any confusion as posted by other reviews, you will receive: One pair (red, black) of Industrial test probes (12 mm stainless steel tips) that are CAT III (1,000V) & CAT IV (600V) rated.

Again, this is just for the probes ONLY.

You will need to combine these probes with, depending on your requirements, either the TL222 or the TL224 test leads (the leads connect the probes to your meter).

Anyway, awesome product and the "SureGrip" texture is very nice compared to Fluke's "old" style of insulation/grip.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
I regretted buying these a little bit, mostly due to the price. Not they they are not fine quality, but no better than something half the price. Keep in mind you will also need test leads with 4mm MALE banana connector on Both ends. No biggie there, just keep it mind. And the thing about back probes, is really you can do the same thing with piercing probes, and it is easier in my opinion.

Fluke makes good products, but you pay more for the name than you do the quality. Power probe make some piercing probes that work great and do the same thing as these for less $$ And if you are auto tech like me, you are probably looking for quality stuff at bargain prices. That's why you are on Amazon looking at tools.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
Very good probes that I like to use on AC outlets.
Also good for working on crowded circuit boards due
to the slender tips which are less likely to accidentally touch
neighboring components.

Quality is very good despite being made in China.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
These easily clip onto wires you wish to test. The v self centers the wire in the clip and then you screw the base in to pierce the wire insulation. The pointed tip allows easy fishing into tight harnesses. Work very well and cant do without sometimes. Do not use for high amp applications... I have melted a set already. A must for pro technicians....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
Like everything from Fluke, it appears over priced, but it is worth it. I have struggled with back probes from lesser manufacturers for years. They bend, they don't stay sharp, the fall off the leads... I finally decided to do what I knew I should have done long ago. Just buy the right ones from Fluke. I did and I am happy with them.

The only reason that I left 4 stars is because one of the pins had insulation that had to be trimmed back. It covered most of the tip. I trimmed it back to match the other and it works fine now. After seeing how easy it is to trim back, I may buy another set and trim the insulation much farther back, or remove it all together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here