Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win STEM Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



VINE VOICEon August 30, 2016
What could I possibly add to the hundreds of reviews done on this splendid movie that would be of interest or benefit to a reader? Only this: the last 20 minutes of this film are worth the whole of it; so beautiful in it's meaning that I have watched it over and over, because of how it affects me. A Friendship so special that it becomes the "bridge over troubled water" for one who has all but given up in despair across the miles from another whose sprit refuses to be broken or maimed and rises above it all; whole and seemingly unaffected by the horrific prison experiences.

The culmination of this unusual rapport between Andy Dufresne and Red Redding ends with keeping a promise made to an old friend while never dreaming that it will come to be when it was made. The writing in a "half way" room scratched above a table just right for completing a suicide tells yet another story of the difference inspiration can make; one life ends in death because there is no hope, one life goes forward because of the bond between two - provided by only one. And the remembered phrase coming back to give him strength - "Get busy living, or get busy dying."

The visuals and audio during this finale are what make it so fine; more poignant than any dialogue. Determined to keep his promise to his friend made while in prison, (almost as a deathbed promise) Red goes to the fragrant hay fields of Buxton seeking the rock wall and what is buried beneath by Andy. As he descends from an old red farm truck that has given him a ride to the area, it as though he has entered another world, one tranquil and peaceful; gravel crunching under his feet as he walks in the hot summer sun; corn and hay fields, bird voices, dense green foliage; untroubled life and sound is everywhere; and at long last the old rock wall that holds his salvation buried there.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
**Spoilers – Please Do Not Read, If You Have Not Viewed The Movie**
This exceptional and well written, directed and cast production movie is a MUST SEE for everyone who likes prison movies, are impressed with mystery, intrigue, friendships, bonds, wrongfully accused, and seeing that sometimes life give surprises, with extraordinary results based on decisions made in life. Directed by Frank Darabont. Stars: Tim Robbins, Morgan Freeman, Bob Gunton, William Sadler, Clancy Brown, Gil Bellows, Mark Rolston, James Whitmore, Alfonson Freeman (Morgan Freeman’s son) and a vast array of cast crew members.

I was definitely surprised that Stephen King wrote the screenplay for this movie, (short story "Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption"). You would not think, at least I did not think this would be his type of genre, since it is not a horror/thriller genre film.

**Spoilers – Please Do Not Read, If You Have Not Viewed The Movie** The storyline surrounds around Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) who is sentenced to two consecutive life terms in prison for the murders of his wife and her lover and is sentenced to a tough prison. However, only Andy knows he didn't commit the crimes. While there, he forms a friendship with Red (Morgan Freeman), experiences brutality of prison life, adapts, helps the warden, etc., all in 19 years. A very good movie, with numerous surprises, twists and turns. I have watched this movie so many times, and was surprised that it did not win an Oscar. Of course, we know, and have heard that although Shawshank Redemption was a great movie, the jury found Forrest Gump better in terms of Picture, Director, Actor and Screenplay. Lion King had the better original score. Two other movies Speed (for best Sound) and Legends of the Fall (for best cinematography) also won vs Shawshank Redemption that year.

I purchased the Single Disk Edition which shows perfectly, I would probably miss the Director’s Commentary, Extended /Deleted Scenes, Bonus Tracks, and other incentives with a dual layered version, or a Special Edition Version of this DVD. My concern is how the DVD Single Edition would play in my DVD Player, which is good, since it can play more than one format. The price is reasonable. The Seller described the DVD accurately, and delivery was timely. I would recommend this DVD Movie to others, whether you have seen this movie previously, or it may be your first time viewing this movie. Thanks Amazon for a great price, and Seller for great customer service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
I love it so much. This is definitely one of my favourite movies of all time. It's about a friendship between two male prisoners that endures for several years. This makes me feel very warm inside. It's so beautiful. The story is good, the actors are amazing, and it's beautifully shot. I highly recommend this movie to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Let me begin by saying I believe this to be the greatest movie ever made in the history or movie making. That being said, if there were a way to give this a higher score,...I would. I've read the book and this movie stays very true to it. (aside from a few slight modifications to allow it to fit into the "movie" time frame) In all honestly, I've probably watched this movie between 150-200 times. And I plan to watch it even more.

Now for the actual review: *******There will be spoilers although I'm going to try not to do too much*******

This movie takes place in the 1940's and chronicles the struggle of Andy Dufresne's (Tim Robbins) life sentence in Shawshank prison. In the first scene we witness Andy in the courtroom being cross examined for the double murder of his wife and her lover. Throughout his explanation, we see his words transformed into scenes depicting his time prior to the murder and what he says actually happened. Unfortunately for Andy, his words are lost on the jury and the Judge sentences him to two consecutive life sentences (one for each victim).

We get our first look inside Shawshank as Red (Morgan Freeman) and some other cons are placing bets on the incoming prisoners. Each time a bus shows up, bets are placed on which convict will be the first to "crack". After scanning the crew, Red puts all his chips on Andy. A move that will unfortunately leave him 2 packs of smokes lighter the next morning. During the night as the other prisons put pressure on the newbies, we discover just how brutal this prison can be as we are fully introduced to Captain Hadley (Clancy Brown).

As time passes by, Andy begins his desire to return to a former hobby of his,....polishing and shaping rocks. He learns that Red is the "go to" for smuggling in such items, so he introduces himself. He and Red quickly form a friendship and so sets the stage for the rest of the movie.

Andy quickly falls into a routine filled with both good times and bad (dealing with the other "not so friendly" inmates). The monotony is finally broken when Andy reveals himself a most useful "employee" by giving some helpful advice to Captain Hadley while tarring a roof. Hadley then introduces Andy to Warden Norton (Bob Gunton), who finds Andy a more suitable "job" than his current, working in laundry. He sends Andy to work with librarian, Brooks Hatlen (James Whitmore). After learning about his former job as a Bank President and his help with Captain Hadley's "problem", the prison guards begin to come to Andy for financial advice and eventually help with their taxes. As time passes Andy begins helping Warden Norton launder money through several different programs the Warden sets up. (all while maintaining his innocence)

As the years go by, several things have changed at the prison. Inmates have been released (Brookes) and new ones have arrived. (Tommy - Gil Bellows). During this time, Andy has been busy building the new "Brooks Hatlen Memorial Library", which is considered "the finest prison library this side of the Mississippi". Tommy hears that Andy has helped some inmates get their high school diplomas, so he approaches Andy for help. During this time Tommy learns of Andy's past and reveals something he's learned during his stay's at various prisons in his lifetime. With this new information in hand, Andy goes directly to Warden Norton for help, but is, instead, refused. Andy explains the situation, which only angers the warden and as punishment, is thrown into solitary confinement for a month (which is then extended to two months). During his time in the hole, Andy learns that Tommy has, in deed, passed his high school equivalency test (with a C+ average). By the time Andy gets out, Tommy is no longer in the prison and time continues.....

At this point, Andy has had enough and decides his time in the jail has come to an end. He approaches Heywood (William Sadler) on the loading docks and asks for a 6' length of rope. Without thinking, Heywood gives him the rope and goes about his business. When Red learns of this, he can't sleep and spends the whole night worrying. The next morning every prisoner is accounted for,...except Andy. When the guards rush to his cell to find out what's taking him so long, they not only realize the existing problem, but are then faced with one MUCH, MUCH worse!

I REALLY don't want to ruin this movie for the few people still left that haven't seen it. It is, in my opinion, the greatest ending ever! The best thing about the movie is not only does it have the perfect ending, but it actually explains how the ending is accomplished. Without the original story by Stephen King, we wouldn't have had the movie adaptation. So, if you get the chance to read the book, you should definitely do so!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
Movies do not get any better than this. What a great script. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman do a superb job telling the story. I've watched this movie several times and each time I see things that I've missed before - - - which means I'll have to keep watching it until I have it completely memorized. Thank you Amazon. John Offield, Hemet, CA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
I know this review won't be in depth helpful, but there isn't much that needs to be said about the greatest movie ever made. I have never known ANYONE who doesn't think this movie is one of the best movies they have ever seen. The casting is spot on. Morgan Freeman's character was supposed to be a red haired Irish guy. Such a good call on going the other way. That is why they make a joke about his name being Red.

If you are disappointed with this movie, you must be devoid of emotions. Seriously.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
If you've never seen the shawshank redemption then you need to do yourself a favor and pick this movie up. I love this movie and i don't think ive ever met someone who didnt like the movie. It's got a decent length, but don't let that discourage you because it's worth every minute and you'll forget that it's that long because you'll be so drawn into the film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
...from my point of view. I generally don't care much for this type of story, and anything with "redemption" in the title generally steers me away. Then my wife convinced me to watch it, and it is now one of my favorites!

Convicted criminals make unlikely sympathetic protagonists--but some of them, at least, are still human beings, and remain so in spite of the circumstances. This film contrasts them with the hypocrisy and brutality of those in authority and power over them. In some ways, it is a study of how easily and thoroughly power corrupts.

It is also the story of how one man uses his brain to make a positive difference in his circumscribed world, and ultimately triumph over the hypocricy and corruption that keeps him in prison, even though proof of his innocence is discovered. This film will inspire you to deal with the entrenched stupidity and hypocricy all to common in today's world.

All of the actors deliver excellent performances, anchored by Morgan Freeman, who's character is the narrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
This movie is easily in my top 5 favorite movies of all time!!! I watch it at least once or twice a year and never tire of the redemption Andy finally gets for himself. Simply put the acting, story line of each character all the way down to the cinematography (even though it's predominately shot in a prison it is still shot superbly!) is a phenomenal piece of work. I HIGHLY recommend this movie!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
I had been hesitant to watch this movie for decades. I finally decided I had the strength and courage to watch it. An innocent man incarcerated and how he handles it with inner strength, integrity and pride. He is a role model for all who are incarcerated. And, I was uplifted by the movie. Gosh - why did I wait so long. A true treasure referenced many times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse