Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 832 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,852 reviews
on November 1, 2016
I love horror movies. This is my favorite horror movie. After reading many reviews as to what addition of this movie to buy i went with this one. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with CC closed caption. My ears are at that point that i now need it due to being hard of hearing. Still glad i own this. Oh by the way the jacket cover says it has "CC". One more thing i hated with a passion the remake of this movie. Rob freaking Zombie in my opinion RAPED this movie with his telling of it. In my opinion Halloween" is the "Gone with the Wind" of horror movies. No one would dare say "hey lets do a remake of that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
This HALLOWEEN 35th ANNIVERSARY EDITION is pretty cool and features several new items in the "special features" area. The picture has been remastered for Blu-Ray and approved by the original cinematographer, Dean Cundey, as well as adding a new Dolby True HD 7.1 audio for those with high end home theater sound systems.

I didn't see this in the movie theaters, so I'm not sure why there was some controversy about the first Blu-Ray release, which I also own, but in this release the picture is really stunning! I only noticed the tiniest bit of noise in some scenes that had a pitch black background, but otherwise the image quality is outstanding. The darks are really dark, without becoming a blackout, and you can make out details in the shadows, so it really makes the movie even eerier than before.

One thing that puzzles me is the scene where the Shape comes into the bedroom dressed as a ghost with Bob's (John Michael Graham) glasses on, and Lynda (Soles) is in the bed and she says, "Like what you see?" I could've sworn viewers could see her breasts and she lowers the sheet, but here you don't really see past the top part of her chest. Maybe my memory is fuzzy or it was one of those scenes where your mind fills in the blank (like the shower scene in Hitchcock's "Psycho"). Anyway, it's not a big deal.

The only issue I had is with the special features. Missing in this 35th Anniversary Edition of Halloween is the nearly 90-minute featurette, "Halloween: A Cut Above The Rest" that was featured on the 2007 Blu-Ray release, so fans might want to hold onto that disc.

However, other special features have been added in its place:

SPECIAL FEATURES

*** The Night SHE Came Home!! *** 59:42 -minutes 11/2012
This featurette shows Jamie Leigh Curtis going from Los Angeles to Atlanta and then on to Indianapolis for the "Horror Hound" convention in a fundraising effort for Children's Hospital Los Angeles. You get to see her interact with fans of Halloween, take pictures with them, and sign a million autographs (you'll also see a grown up Tommy Doyle [Brian Andrews] come up and greet Curtis). This is one of the very few horror (if not the only) conventions that Curtis has appeared in for "Halloween."

*** On Location 25-Years Later *** 10:25 -minutes 1993(?)
Fun featurette that features writer/producer Debra Hill and actress P.J. Soles (Lynda) revisiting the real locations that were used in the film. All of the exterior shots were filmed in South Pasadena and West Hollywood, California, and viewers get to see them. The featurette shows the scene from the movie, and then shows the actual location as it looked in '93 (or when this was shot).

*** TV Version Footage *** 10:46 -minutes (SPOILERS)
This shows clips that were used in place of certain scenes in the movie that were too racy for television. I'm not sure if it's shown exactly as cut and presented on TV or not -- I don't think I've ever seen the TV edited version -- because it's a little confusing the way it's presented here. It shows somewhat of the back-story of what takes place after the murder of his sister and Dr. Loomis (Donald Pleasence) is having it out with the psychiatric board about the need to keep Michael Myers in a maximum security mental hospital, but they refuse. He then goes to visit the young Michael and tells him that he's not fooled by this act and then the scene brings us back to the present (back then). Myers is an adult and already in Haddonfield, and we get to see the inside of Laurie's (Curtis) house with a scene of Lynda (Soles) coming over and then they talk to Annie (Nancy Loomis) on the phone. This scene takes place after they get home from school and before Annie picks Laurie up in the car for baby sitting.

*** Trailers & TV/Radio Spots ***

The digibook also comes with liner notes about the movie and production with great behind the scenes photographs of the cast and crew.

This movie is a CLASSIC and it held up well through the years, in fact it's better than most horror movies coming out today, so I would recommend getting it. I'm not sure why this now only available from third party sellers (as of this writing 11/04/13) unless Amazon sold out because of Halloween.
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
I bought this as a gift for a friend, but obviously had to watch it with them! Halloween is the classic horror film, and even for someone like me who shies away from horror, I can't help but love this movie (though it certainly makes me afraid to look outside my window!) Jamie Lee Curtis' performance is iconic, as is the haunting theme music. The blu-ray rendition is excellent, so if you are debating blu-ray versus DVD, I would opt for blu-ray.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
I love Halloween. The original two movies were two of the best horror movies ever (in my opinion). They really did not go overboard on the violence. Yes there was blood and you saw people being stabbed and choked etc, but unlike the horror movies of today where they go overboard on the gore, the goal of these movies were to scare you before the actual death scenes so they had a much larger effect. The movie was as much suspense as it was horror. Jamie Lee Curtis did a great job as Laurie Strode, and of course Donald Pleasence was wonderful as Doctor Loomis. Their characters really had to drive the story, and although they only had one scene together they did that very well.

While Michael Myers was set up as the indestructible killer in Halloween, unlike the later sequels he still seemed somewhat human. He was a regular sized guy who could be hurt, but not killed easily. I believe John Carpenter has said the intent was for Michael to really die at the end of Halloween 2, and never make it into the Jason/Freddy category where they just keep coming back. I think this version of Michael is much more effective and scarier than the supernatural version you got years later.

The version of the movie I am reviewing (the limited edition dvd) contains both the original theatrical version and the extended version with the scenes from the TV version mixed in. Because the movie had to be edited to show on tv, they filled it in with footage shot during the filming of Halloween 2. The extended version is the unedited version of the movie, plus the TV shots edited into it. While I do not think they add too much to the story, and even slightly spoil the revelation in Halloween 2, they do help flesh out Loomis' character and why he feels the way he does about Michael Myers.

Chances are if you are a fan of horror movies you already own some version of Halloween. If not, definitely give it a look.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2016
I purchased this item with the hopes of the deleted scenes such as Dr. Loomis talking to the psychiatric board to keep Michael in a maximum security facility, and Dr. Loomis going to see Michael in his room at the hospital stating "you fooled them Michael." I also wanted to see the scene where he tears the nurse's office apart before he escapes from the hospital and the word "sister" is written in blood. I am very disappointed with this DVD. I could have just watched it on television if I would have known these scenes would be deleted. Without these scenes it's as if the movie is just thrown together because it doesn't make sense. I used to like Amazon, but lately I been getting nothing but misrepresented items from them....disappointed
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
NOTE: Despite what's stated in the editorial review, this IS a box set - 7 discs in one case, plus another set for the 2 bonus features. Also, they are Region-Free (R0). I haven't seen these movies in years and what a joy to watch them again, and what a bargain! All that I've watched so far are excellent quality. The "25 Years" set is quite a bonus as well. Case and disc artwork aren't the greatest but the discs play well, and for this price I can't complain.

Also, kudos for not including #3, which has nothing to do with the Halloween franchise and is just a waste of money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
This is such a classic in the horror genre and really set the bar for Halloween themed slasher movies. The blu-ray breathes life back into the movie providing a clear cut image of Michael Myers and all the reasons we hate to love him. Halloween belongs in every horror movie buff's collection, there is nothing like the original. It never grows old!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
During the fall of 1978, the devil came home - to Haddonfield, Illinois.

Upon its initial release, Halloween had difficulty finding its traction with moviegoers, but after a few positive reviews, John Carpenter's horror flick was off and running. Even more spectacular is that fact that the film was produced on a ridiculously tiny budget of $325,000, eventually cashing in big with an impressive $70 million.

By now, most everyone is probably at least vaguely familiar with the concept of the boogeyman and quite possibly even well-acquainted with the boogeyman himself - the man in the white mask that walked around stalking babysitters, Michael Myers. This cold-hearted killer has engrained himself in pop culture, creating legions of fans, endless merchandise, and several sequels featuring the character, including two reboot films. Myers is the villain everyone loves to hate, having been forged into the spitting image of evil - unrelenting in his mission to stalk and eventually eliminate his prey.

The creation of the Michael Myers, one of the most iconic and recognizable characters in the horror genre, leaves little doubt that Halloween is the greatest horror film ever created.

Directed by John Carpenter (Assault on Precinct 13, The Fog) and co-written with Debra Hill, Halloween stars Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie Strode, who along with her high school friends, Anne (Nancy Kyes), and Lynda (P.J. Soles), is stalked by an escaped murderous mental patient, named Michael Myers (portrayed by five different actors, including Nick Castle & Tony Moran). Desperate to find him before he kills innocent people in the small town of Haddonfiled, Illinois, Myers' doctor, Sam Loomis (Donald Pleasence), sets out to stop him. However, Myers' whereabouts is unknown to everyone, except for two young children, Tommy Doyle (Brian Andrews) and Lindsey Wallace (Kyle Richards). Charles Cyphers also stars in a supporting role as Sheriff Leigh Brackett.

Halloween is not only the best horror film ever created, but it's also the most important horror film ever created - okay, maybe it's the second most important film, slightly behind Psycho. Following in the footsteps of Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho, Halloween continues the trend of a modern day killer unleashing his fury on the innocent women of suburbia. Both of these films took the simple premise of a mysterious killer shadowing beautiful women - just before mutilating them, and made it, well - hip and frighteningly entertaining. There's just something so nail-biting and downright creepy about a man lurking in the shadows waiting to strike a moment's notice.

While Halloween is responsible for elevating the career of director John Carpenter, it's also responsible for introducing Jamie Lee Curtis - the (at the time) unknown daughter of "scream queen" and Psycho star, Janet Leigh. The amount of screen time devoted to her character was quite sizable, regardless of the fact she'd never acted in a feature role. Regardless, Curtis demonstrated the scared, vulnerable qualities required to be the leading lady in this unnerving, often unpredictable slasher flick. She's innocent, likeable, and had the make-up of a future Hollywood star - even though it's safe to say no one could have predicted the future roles she'd amass. She would go on to star in several popular films, including True Lies, Trading Places, and three Halloween sequels (Halloween 2, Halloween H2O, and Halloween: Resurrection).

Today, John Carpenter and Jamie Lee Curtis are the top names that casual movie lovers typically associate with Halloween, but let's not forget that back in 1978, there was only one star of Halloween (pre-release): Donald Pleasence. As the hard-nosed Dr. Sam Loomis, Pleasence has the film's most memorable lines, including the famous "...the devil's eyes" line. He took on a role that he was incredibly uncertain of at the time - and wasn't even the first choice for the character. As such a low-budget production, Halloween was unable to gain the interest of original sought-after, popular actors Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing. Still, Pleasence turned out to be the right man for the role of Dr. Loomis - which quickly became the role that would define the rest of her career. His professionalism illuminates this role as the overly concerned doctor, and he obviously become a fan favorite - which is never more evident in the way he returned to the role for four sequels (five Halloween films in total).

The success and legacy of Halloween led to the creation of several similar, yet moderately unique horror films, including Friday the 13th and A Nightmare on Elm Street. Regardless of the success of those individual franchises, Halloween still stands out as the one film that jump-started the slasher craze of the 1980s and beyond. Without Halloween, there's little doubt that the more recent horror franchises, like Scream, Saw, and a slew of easily forgettable knockoffs, would have enjoyed the same successes that they achieved. And, while the slasher "craze" is currently non-existent (at least for the moment) from overuse and a lack of progressive originality, there's little chance Michael Myers won't rise from the ashes again one day to stalk babysitters (or his female relatives if you liked the direction of the sequels).

Overall and on its own, the original Halloween is the best and most important horror film ever conceived or created. Even today, the story is as solid as ever, but the acting, camera shots (in which we see through the killer's eyes), and imagination also have withstood the test of time. Sure, the film owes some of its success to Psycho, but the character of Michael Myers/The Shape/The Boogeyman has taken on a life all its own - which eclipses the wildest dreams of his creators. The fan base of Halloween is strong, despite that fact that the original conception might not be as scary to this generation as it was the previous generations. Although the inclusion of several sequels to the franchise certainly diluted the original storyline, Halloween will forever and always be one of the greatest films (and not just of the horror genre) to ever grace the big screen.

GRADE: A
FNDNreview.com
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2016
Bought this dvd based on a review that claimed additional footage from the tv versions were added to the original. If you've seen the older televised versions, the scenes include (to paraphrase)- Dr. Loomis pleading with a medical board to keep michael locked up, linda going to laurie's house to borrow a blouse, and a scene where Dr Loomis sees "sister" written on michael's door at the sanitaruim. As a huge halloween/carpenter fan, I looked forward to finally having these scenes on dvd instead of watching them on old vhs tapes (and winning bets that the scenes existed). Unfortunately, the copy i received DID NOT include these scenes. Not in the full, widescreen options or in extras section. Very disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
The 1978 version of Halloween is a classic in every sense of the word. Michael Myers is the perfect horror character as portrayed by Carpenter. He is not well known and he is driven by pure evil. I want to also add that the movie has just a great overall feel from the soundtrack, to the way it was filmed. 5 out of 5 stars, no question.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse