Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Big & Rich Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 77 reviews
on May 7, 2014
I highly recommend this book for anyone that is interested in hearing about a true Cinderella story. Pixar was able to come back from rejections from Disney and eventually became a huge part of Disney films. It brings to our attention what it takes to make someone's dream come to life and how hard you have to work to get to where you want to be. Although Catmull was turned down for computer graphics he was offered a position to help with the Disney parks, but he in turn rejected Disney because he had his own goals that he wanted to reach. The book also talks about how Toy Story almost never came to life because it did not fall under what Disney believed and was part of the reason that they had planned to not finance the film. With a few adjustments to the films story, Disney did eventually finance the film and it turned out to be one of the best decisions either company could have ever make. The film not only brought in money for the two companies, but it also set up a partnership that has been very successful and will continue to be successful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
This book should be a must-read for any business student. It is a great summary of how the company Pixar struggled to life and then found great success. The book covers ground-breaking innovations in animation and software development. It's also a candid view of start-ups. The audio book has a wonderful narrator, but there is so much information that reading the hard copy is a better option.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2017
A great look at the history of Pixar, stretching back from decades before its founding up through 2008. I was interested in reading more about Pixar after reading Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson and Becoming Steve Jobs. The information covered in this differs a little bit from the accounts given in the Steve Jobs biographies about dealings at Pixar, so I was glad to be able to read another perspective. This was just a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
This is of course a story about Pixar. But Pixar's story is the history of computer animation.

When Toy Story 1 was released, I had some reservation about computer animation because I was such
a fan of Walt Disney's traditional, cell animation films. But I was so wrong.

With computer, you can do much, much more in animation. This book answered some of the questions
I've had about how computerized animation films are made and who these people are at Pixar.

Plus, if you are interested in Steve Jobs, Pixar's story can't be told without Jobs mentioned.
Although Jobs definitely played a critical role in sustaining and growing the company, it is sometimes regrettable
that people tend to overemphasize his role while undermining those of others at Pixar. "The Pixar Touch" somewhat
demystifies that part.

All in all, this is perfect for all animation fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2017
This book chronicles the rise of Pixar up until acquisition by Disney. Fascinating and well written if you want to learn how technology can blend with creativity then this is for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
Great book. For anyone who is interested in business or animation, it will be an enjoyable book. You will see how Pixar and their founders started with a vision, struggled for years and finally achieving their lifelong dream in the end. Very inspirational for those who also have goals and dreams that may seem impossible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2011
Hard to put down!
This was one of those books which was difficult to put down. Prior to reading this book I was aware of how Pixar came about but not to the extent the book delved into. It showed the perseverance of people's dreams and fight for that dream to come true. The technology which came out of the dream and how those magical movies showed up on screen were enjoyed by millions maybe even billions of people around the world, now that's a dream very few have come true.
The book shows what we already knew about Steve Jobs and his gut instincts to stand behind a product when no one else would. The vision of Jobs and the perseverance of Pixar led the world into technology and the standards trying to be obtained by others. These people were visionaries to technology and I don't see that challenge changing anytime soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
Just as described!! My son loved it!! Fast shipping. Thank you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2011
As a long time fan of Pixar and a fan (and critic at times) of Disney animation, I found this to seemingly be one of the better books written about Pixar and the evolution of 3D animation from Pixar's perspective. It is a solid look at Pixar from the Catmull's early years at the newly formed New York Institute of Technology to the arrival of Lasseter, to the investment of Jobs and his evolution from seeing Pixar as a hardware company to an animation studio, and finally to the Iger's epiphany (although perhaps obvious to others) that Disney Feature Animation needed Pixar. This book not only serves as a good case study of Pixar, but as a reminder that great animated films all start with a great story and are made absolutely fantastic in the execution of the details of that story's characters - concepts that held true when Disney first introduced animated features and still hold true today. It also makes clear something I had long thought, that Disney Feature animation lost its way under Eisner, substituting short term profit for long term value. The whole reason for the Disney Company's rise to success in the first place was its feature animation work. That work flowed to everything - it's theme parks, merchandising, resorts, etc. Pixar and Lasseter, ironically, brought this back to Disney. I would recommend this book to anybody interested in feature animation, story-telling and/or the business of either. It's filled with rich experiences of how business works and sometimes doesn't, and how a group of passionate animators with a knack for storytelling and drive for their trade brought animation into the mainstream once again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
This book was a great book on one of the best sleeper companies in the recent era: Pixar. It gives us an inside look at the creative history as well as the business history of this animated giant. It is amazing to think how one company was able to change the animation industry to what it is today.

I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in a great business story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse