Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM March Birthstone Book House Cleaning SneakyPete SneakyPete SneakyPete  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 315 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 511 reviews
on January 10, 2016
after reading some crackpot's review stating that the 5.1 mix is just ambient and not worth hearing, i was apprehensive about this release. i don't really care about out-takes and all the hoopla, i like well remixed 5.1 albums. i didn't want to pay top dollar for 34 minutes of an ambient surround mix ...
fear not folks. if you read that same review and have held off getting this because of it, ignore the troll. this has a very nice mix with instrumentation used well across all channels.
it is redundant to review the album, it is an absolute classic. don't start with that "astral weeks album is so much better" argument. astral weeks was a great album, but the moondance album is van morrison's signature album for short form songwriting and vocals.
if you say you like van morrison you should love this album. if you like 5.1 you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
The Moondance album is probably my very favorite Van Morrison album ... and I own 33 of them on CD alone. As a matter of fact, Moondance would clearly be on any short list I'd ever make of all-time favorite albums ... hands down! There is, in my opinion, not a single bad note on any song on the entire record ... and that's a very rare thing! I was really excited about this remastering package and couldn't wait to hear it! I opted for the Deluxe Edition and was pleased when it arrived so quickly! The remastered original album is simply superb ... it sounds fantastic, fresh, dynamic, beautiful & clear! On the other hand, although I'm a huge Van fan, the redundant inclusion of nine "Caravan" takes, six "Into the Mystic" takes, seven "Brand New Day" takes ... and on and on ... really seems to be a bit of an over-kill! I would have much preferred more than the one "unreleased" tune ("I Shall Sing", with seven versions of it at that) and far fewer (and often similar) individual takes of the songs ultimately released on the album. On top of everything else, it turns out that the very best versions of every single song in the collection are the one's included on the original album! Nice to know that they made the absolute best choices back in 1970 ... and while the alternate versions are interesting to hear once, or twice, such a "Deluxe Edition" might be better served with more unreleased material & less alternate takes. Bottom line ... Moondance is a fabulous album and the remastered version is flawless & the physical package is indeed deluxe, but one of the lessor available packages might be money better spent.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 5, 2003
Whether his music was recorded in the late 60s or early 70s, it is never dated. Yet he always seemed ahead of his time. The man is a vocal genius emanating sounds awarded to the most talented vocalists. And there is only ONE way to listen to Morrison, and that is with quality equipment and loud!

I can't get over how much I LOVE "And it Stoned Me" about a playful fishing trip romp with a friend, the voice, the lyrics, and the beat!

Another favorite, "Moondance", a sultry jazzy number that many other performers have covered. "Into the Mystic" is a bluesy, jazzy ballad.

But I can't reiterate enough, the BEST CD ever is Morrison's '68 Astral Weeks; It's uncomprehensive that at the young age he was, this phenomenal masterpiece evolved, .....way back in the 60's ...unbelievable. That one is my stranded-on-an-island cd. I recommend: Van Morrison, The Concert......Rizzo
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2016
An essential for your collection. I try to buy used, but this gem is just too hard to find in good condition. Worth just buying new
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
The vinyl sounds great. No static. Great pressing of a timeless masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
also one of his greatest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Classic Van - how can you not give all stars for this CD?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2013
I really wanted to like this. Really. This is just atrocious bordering on inexcusable. If a filmmaker wants to remake a movie, it should be because the original was botched in some way. Likewise if someone wants to remix or remaster an existing classic, it should enhance and not detract from the musical experience. The original "Moondance" was a masterpiece of its time and stands apart from its time as a classic. The new remastered version is not.

The new mix completely throws off the balance between Morrison's voice and the instruments. This is especially important, given how often Morrison himself uses his voice as an instrument, an Irish rock version of scat singing found in jazz. Those licks are often picked up by the horns and piano. This interplay is now lost. To take just a single example, "Into The Mystic" is savagely remixed to bury nearly all the instruments except the bass and the occasional guitar lick. Then there is a reverb layer over Morrison's voice like a thin velvet blanket obscuring the nuances of his articulation. If I didn't know the horn parts were there, I couldn't have heard them at all, even the tenor sax during the foghorn lyric is buried. This couldn't have been worse if they had wiped out all the instruments and put out Morrison singing unaccompanied.

The discs documenting the earlier takes are interesting. I find it fascinating how songs come to be and how the arrangements happen. The other discs are an interesting document of how a 24 year old musical genius put together his masterpiece, by using his heart and his ear to pick just what worked and what didn't work quite as well.

Disc 5 is the Blu ray audio disc. It is substantially better than the remastered version, but it's still a bit lacking. "Glad Tidings," the last track on the disc, is a case in point. While the reverb layer of fuzz over Morrison's voice is noticeably absent from this mix, the saxophones are muffled to the extent that they sound like they are in the next room. This is especially annoying when Van goes into his "La la" singing, where the horns pick up on those and to an extent the electric guitar does as well. The interplay is missing, as I mentioned before. My instinct tells me that 43 years of reviews complaining about the "braying saxes" and that the modern engineers went overboard. What people tend to forget is that Morrison himself is a fine saxophonist and he actually wrote "Moondance" (the song) on the soprano sax.

I'll always love "Moondance." It inspired me to learn to play the tenor saxophone. I'll listen to this one more time to be completely fair and then will sell it on eBay. Rarely do I totally regret a purchase, but this one is an exception. The packaging is fine but unexceptional. Photos of the original sessions, if they exist, would have been nice, but there were just publicity shots of Morrison alone. I suppose that's consistent with the new version, which ignores the role of the other musicians in bringing "Moondance" to life. It's just horrible how such niceties as Jef Labes' tasty keyboard fills are mostly lost. I'm giving it 2 stars for the musical content only. Put the original release of "Moondance" on and rejoice that there was a time when the stars all aligned and everything worked. I'll try to forget this ever existed.

A travesty.
1818 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse