Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 468 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 935 reviews
on April 29, 2017
Fantastic period film that captures the oddities that seem to be prevalent in driven pioneers, particularly in wild 1800's America. Oil exploration and discovery is a backdrop for a character study of a strange man who will say or do anything to prove a point, satisfy his ego and secure his empire. Excellent acting.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2017
Very good movie. Really strange and off t;he hook which made it alluring and interesting to watch. D day Lewis is a cool dude.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2017
I liked the film, but the music ruined it. Jonny Greenwood scored an oilman's film using techniques borrowed (or stolen) from the Sonorists of the mid 20th century. He apparently knows a little (very little) about the great Polish composer, Krzysztof Penderecki. Much of the music misplaced in this film was directly stolen from Penderecki's various works. It should be considered a copyright violation! I'd have enjoyed the film better dry, without any music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
VERY WELL DONE MOVIE. TENSE & VIOLENT AT TIMES
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Interesting film. Great performances from DDL and Paul Dano but this film bears no resemblance to the Upton Sinclair novel which supposedly inspired it. I watched it when it first came out and then again just recently. My estimation of it dropped with the second viewing. The actors are great but the story is a somewhat sophomoric treatment of capitalism and so I only give it 3 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2017
Another tough movie to watch, but excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Best Move Ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
brilliant!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
There Will Be Blood
There Will be Blood

Paul Thomas Anderson's 2007 classic "There Will be Blood" is a searing portrayal of ambition, greed, and betrayal set in Southern California in the early 20th century. It is the story of Daniel Plainview (Daniel Day-Lewis), a silver miner-turned oil wildcatter and his climb from poverty to great wealth. Along the way it examines the cult of evangelism, the strength of family relationships, and the emotional toll exacted by gaining success at any price.

Thematically, the movie is loosely based on Upton Sinclair's
Novel "Oil!, which in turn is based partly on the life of Edward L. Doheny, of Teapot Dome infamy. In the movie, Plainview's son H.W. becomes deaf when the big gusher comes in. In real life, Doheny's son Ned was killed in a murder-suicide involving his male secretary and purported lover. The killings took place at Greystone Mansion, the enormous house the elder Doheny built for his son. The mansion is the setting for the final scene of the movie, which I won't divulge.

The cast is uniformly excellent, especially Paul Dano as Eli Sunday who also plays his brother Paul. Eli is an ambitious evangelist, intent on growing his church with Plainview's money, which comes from the oil from the Sunday family's ranch.
One element of the movie that didn't work for me was the introduction of a drifter, who shows up one day claiming to be Plainview's half-brother. Inconsistencies show up in his story, and in a fit of rage Plainview takes his revenge.
I've purposely held off discussing Daniel Day- Lewis's performance until last. There is no disputing the intensity of Day-Lewis's acting, but for me, it was too over-the-top.
Day-Lewis is notoriously avoidant of interviews and self-explanation, so we are dependent on the performance alone to determine his character's motivation.
I give the movie four and a half stars... taking off one star for the poor packaging the CD comes in. It's a cheap piece of cardboard like you find in supermarket discount "dollar DVD's" and a lousy way to market a product.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
One of the best movies of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse