BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



on December 9, 2012
Whoever wants to overhaul or change a bottom bracket unit will need this baby. However, make sure first you get the right one for your bike as there are several systems out there and each needs a different type or size of tool. Since you will need to apply a lot of torque for removing / installing bottom brackets make sure it sits firm in the notches of the bottom bracket, otherwise it will slip out and cause stripping or injury. As with the crank puller you only need this tool once in a while. I got mine because there always is a friend out there who might need it, and after years in the Service Business I know that the "once in a while" often seems to happen on a weekend or a holiday or when the next bike shop is miles away, and then I have it! :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2009
Park Tool is widely regarded as the best bicycle-specific tool maker. This bottom bracket tool, essentially the socket end of a 1/2" drive socket wrench, makes it easy to see why. It's splined to fit Shimano sealed cartridge bottom brackets, just like a very similar socket I have from another manufacturer. The crucial differences are two: fit and contour. The tool snaps very precisely on to the bottom bracket, making easier work of a removal job that can be difficult due to overtightening or seized threads. Just as importantly, the top of the socket is contoured so that if the drive handle is providing insufficient leverage to do the job, one can fit a box end or open end wrench over the hex-shaped top of the socket. This makes possible the "desperation method," in which the socket must actually be bolted to the spindle of the bottom bracket and then turned a little at a time (often with much swearing, cheater pipes, etc). In the "seriously desperate" version of the desperation method, the tool can be bolted to the bottom bracket spindle and then clamped into a vice, with the entire frame being turned as a lever to move the seized threads. The shape of this tool makes that clamping possible.

If you have to do this, make sure to treat yourself to a beer or similar reward afterward. But with this tool, you can! If you're blessed not to need that method, this tool will work exactly as it should anyway, and for years to come.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2017
not as tight a fit as I expected, but still works well to remove the bottom bracket.

Opted for the Park Tool over lower priced off brands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2011
Not having a large bench vice or adjustable wrench with at least 32 mm (1-1/4") jaw opening, I purchased a Bottom Bracket tool I could use with a 1/2" drive socket wrench. I committed a rookie mistake because I did not realize that Bottom Bracket splines come in different lengths and my 121 mm spline bottomed out on the right (drive) side. So to fix my screw up, I purchased this tool that easily slipped over the spline and it worked perfectly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2017
works fine, nice hardened steel.

this is actually the second one ive bought, only replacing it because i lost it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
I used Park Bottom Bracket tool to replace the square taper sealed cartridge type bottom bracket on my Mercier Galaxy SC1 14-speed road bike that began making creaking sounds when I pedaled after just 3,000 miles. The park BB tool offers a wide variety of turning options. The end of the tool has a slot for a standard 3/8" socket driver and it can also be turned using a 32mm or a 1" socket or wrench. The 32mm or 1" ends are ideal to use with a 1/2" breaker bar and socket for added leverage when removing difficult bottom brackets. The larger ends placed near the head makes it easier to center the tool while turning it and applies torque to the head of the tool instead where it's needed, instead of the end. The 3/8" slot can be used to tighten it with a torque wrench to avoid stripping the threads and ensure the bottom bracket is torqued to the proper spec. The teeth on the Park tool did begin to slightly show wear after just one use. I'm not sure it will live up to the 'shop quality' claim in the description, but it should be durable enough for occasional home repairs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
I needed this tool to install a Shimano BB-UN55 Square taper Bottom Bracket, and it worked as advertised. The tool made BB installation/removal seamless, and its not some cheap item either - it should last the lifetime of your bike, and them some. It would have been nice to have a built-in handle (I used a socket wrench and socket to provide leverage), but all in all a good tool that will help when it's time to install/remove/maintain my bike's BB.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
Use this to disassemble bottom bracket on Trek 750. Works perfectly. Park tools are the best !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
It's a Park Tool. Quality (and a little pricey). It worked well. Glad to have it in the toolbox.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Does the job and for once in the history of the universe a Park tool is the low-cost option.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here