Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,141 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,733 reviews
on May 9, 2016
For me this is similar to, but more successful than, Burton’s more critically lionized ‘Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure’ "Beetlejuice" too creates an alternate reality universe, and fills it with surreal images, wacky performances, and that odd Burton mix of absurdity with just enough heart thrown it. But the visuals here are stronger than in ‘Pee-Wee’, and the protagonists are more relatable (a sweet, not all that bright, but endearing newly dead couple, who simply want to save their house from the yuppie couple that would destroy it’s charms).

Michael Keaton is very funny as the title character (which is really a supporting role) of a rogue ghoul who sells his services to help the young couple... but who is also insane and completely out of control. Keaton goes over the top, but it hardly matters, since the character is conceived as over the top. Indeed, the whole thing has the feeling of an absurdist somewhat adult cartoon brought to life. Wynonna Ryder gives one of her very best performance as the young Goth girl who can actually see the dead couple, played with charm by Geena Davis and Adam Baldwin.

Not every joke works, and the energy flags for a moment here or there, but overall this that rare thing, a truly original vision of a usually too familiar world – ghosts, the afterlife, etc. And what a vision of the afterlife! That alone is worth the price of admission!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
This was the first English-language film I have ever seen after traveling to the U.K from gloomy post-Soviet Belarus to visit my father when I was around 11 years old, ( the objective being to spend Christmas with my whole dysfunctional family which was sadly much creepier than the Deetzes). Imagine my shock and amazement seeing this beautiful insanity on British TV on Christmas eve and thinking that this is exactly what ALL American and /or English films are going to be like in the future (expectations dashed terribly in later life unless another Tim Burton wonder was available on occasion). I barely spoke English and understood maybe a quarter of the dialogue at best but awesome stop animation visuals and Michael Keaton's hysterically pervy character completely made up for it. That was almost thirty years ago and I'm still madly in love with this film. It's an absolute treasure.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2015
Haha....I hadn't seen this movie in years....well maybe decades but who is counting. My son hosted a movie night on the projector and invited a crowd. They laughed and giggled and had such a great night. It's an oldie but great to watch for some good old fashioned humor.
review image
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
this is a movie about a young couple played by geena davis and alec balwin,
before they were famous and they live in a old house out in the middle of no where
there is a bridge that crosses the creek from there house, there is like a empty shell of a house over it
they were crossing that bridge one day going into town when they lost control of the car and it went through the building and into the creek up side down and they both drowned, somehow they woke up to find out that someone there house was up for sale and someone was moving
in there house, they finally figured out they were both dead, they came back from the dead and now alive sort of
the new people have a little daughter, played by winnow Ryder, she is always dressed in black and has a bad feeling about life
geena and alec find a book in there house called about the deceased, they have no idea what that means , but later figures out for sure, they are dead and the living people can not see them, but , as the new couple move in with there daughter, and finds out she can actually see them
any way, to make along story short, alec and geena have to figure out how to scre the new couple off!
alec keeps seeing commericals on an old tv about a guy that can help scare people off or do whatever is needed
he finally decides to give it a shot and that person is beetle juice, you need to watch the movie, its funny,
there is some music that will get you hummying along
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
I received this movie yesterday and I have already watched it two times. I have been a huge fan of tis movie since I was little. The DVD came fast and was well packaged. I have no complaints at all. It is an amazing price for it as well seeming as though I cannot find this movie anywhere anymore! I would recommend this movie to anyone looking into purchasing it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
Tim Burton has been recognized already for years to be a master of black comedies with fantastical and weird elements. Beetlejuice is brightly colored early gem in that collection that has been bit forgotten behind darker, later masterpieces. The story itself is however very "Burtonesque" and feels to be close relative of Edward Scissorhands that has similarly abstract, colorful imagery and bit sad undertones behind otherwise brightly colored fantasy world.

Here we have Geena Davis and Alec Baldwin as newly-deceased lovely, naive couple who want to get rid of family that has settled in their old house - and their desperate attempts lead them to bio-exorcist Betelgeuze, who of course almost manages to wreck everything before bright, happy ending. The whole cast from happy couple to Michael Keaton's demented Betelgeuze to Winona Ryder's goth girl and annoyingly preppy Catherine O'hara seem bit unlikely selections in their roles but that makes them even more charming and fun. And the score of Danny Elfman fits the picture well together with sunny tunes of Harry Belafonte.

It is rumoured that there will be sequel for Beetlejuice but I am not sure whether that is a good idea... maybe he should be left to wait in Underworld with his shrunken head and hope that nobody calls his name three times...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
Great Keaton work here.
He is working here. Beetlejuice
Good story, funny.
Good cast, good acting.
Great time.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
This is one of those classic Tim Burton movies that I remember loving as a kid that I had to have as a adult. Definitely worth the money. I bought it used but it works great. The case has minor scratches but disk worked perfect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If this is what the afterlife is going to be like then I guess it won't be so bad when it's my time though gotta stay away from anyone like Beetlejuice. Tim Burton movies are an a acquired taste while entertaining then do sometimes seem a little out there though that's what makes these movies so entertaining in the first place. The cast are great in this movie as they all seem to give a 110% into their characters and while for obvious reasons some of the effects will seem dated they will still make you give a laugh as y see the hijinx of Beetlejuice in action. I do advise new comers to try and watch a trailer or clip though as while many especially fans greatly appreciate the movie it might not be for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
One of my favorite movies with Michael Keaton. Though I saw it years ago, it still holds my attention. The actor's were all great. I loved the make-up and costumes. Though gross, Beetlejuice is a terrific character. He was funny and scary at the same time. The story line was good, and interesting. I wouldn't show it to little kids though, don't want them to possibly have nightmares.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse