Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Logitech G19 Programmable Gaming Keyboard with Color Display
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon July 24, 2009
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The video I uploaded shows a quick unboxing and showing the G19 with the previous G15 keyboards, and the color LCD displaying some YouTube videos.

** Review Updated: 8/16/09 **

Short Review (if you don't want to read all that):
======================================================
I give it a 4 1/2 stars. The keys feel nice and mushy. The LCD is no doubt really awesome to have for any multi-tasking person. I feel the features on the video player/YouTube player is missing some basic options and that is why I'm not giving it a 5-star (although this could all change with new apps or updates). Overall, the keyboard is for any gadget lovers/video enthusiasts/YouTube fans -- not just gamers. The macro G-keys, as usual in previous keyboards, is also a powerful tool for anyone wanting to work more efficiently, and again, not just for gaming.
======================================================

[2005 model] G15 v1 (Blue LED) has 18 G-Keys x 3 modes = 54 programmable.
[2007 model] G15 v2 (Orange LED) has 6 G-Keys x 3 modes = 18 programmable.
[2009 model] G19 (White is the default LED) has 12 G-keys x 3 modes = 36 programmable.

THE KEYS ON THE KEYBOARD:
G15 v1: It's small and spread apart.
G15 v2: It's larger and close together.
G19: The size is in between those two keyboards; it's also close together like the v2. Overall, I like typing on this the best.

Some positives and negatives of each keyboard...

G15 v1 (2005 - Blue LED):
+ Has the most G-keys (most people didn't seem to need/use this much, including myself, hence why v2 had so little)
+ Volume/media control wheel is nice
+ LCD can be closed shut completely
+ Has handles on the top of the keyboard for carrying it easier.
+ Lots of custom apps to be found on the net.
- Takes up the most desk space
- USB 1.1 (okay for plugging USB headphones and gaming controllers)

G15 v2 (2007 - Orange LED):
+ For those that don't need that many G-keys and prefer larger keys.
- LCD cannot tilt (already fixed)
- Volume control is just a plain button
- USB 1.1

G19 (2009):
+ Color LCD (biggest selling point and biggest upgrade) - what keyboard has a color video display?! Any geek's dream come true. It's great for multi-tasking and time flies even more now that you don't waste a second even on game loading screen or spectating a game.
+ USB 2.0 (all previous G15's were USB 1.1, so now it is suitable for even connecting flash/hard drives and not just game controllers) -- this is why it also requires an AC adapter to the keyboard. The USB ports are both on the same side now, which makes it a little easier to locate than the previous keyboards having it one on each side; however, it can be a problem when connecting flash drives or SD card readers that really stick out to the side)
+ Custom backlight colors
+ Volume scroll (although I wish it turned smoother) / some custom apps for the G15 uses the volume up/down to select menus/songs, so the new up/down scroll volume control on the G19 works out perfectly for that.
+ The keys have a nice clean feel and layout (as mentioned before, the keys aren't too spread out and still large enough, so there's less strain on the fingers for me)
- Requires AC adapter (although it is understandable, some may not have a plug open)
- Lack of app support for now.
- Price is a killer! (considering there isn't really any other keyboard with a video display, it is slightly understandable... but the apps still needs work.)

====================================================== ISSUES FOR ME:

* I have to say the documentation is very poor for this keyboard. I had no idea what the "Clipboard Commands" (10.4 on the readme file) was all about for playing a YouTube video -- that I actually want to watch. The only option you get when you enter the YouTube Video Player is viewing "Top Rated, Top Favorites (not your own), Most Viewed, Most Popular, Discussed, etc." -- of all time, this month, this week, or today (default) -- Sure, sometimes some interesting videos may come up, but I honestly never really care for those "RANDOM" videos anyway; I prefer watching videos that I actually WANT to watch (not some "YouTube Celebrity" talking about their life all the time).

I mean, the dedicated YouTube viewer is definitely a nice idea, but I don't know why they couldn't just add a simple built-in search to toggle between typing on the LCD and out of it! (Hopefully some talented people can make some custom app to do this; for the G15, the custom app music players, such as the myLCD WVS, are far superior to Logitech's Music Media player)

It has the usual LCD Clock, Performance Monitor, Countdown Timer, but having an LCD screen, it would have been useful and nice if it at least had a built-in notepad to type out codes and other memos! (this would have also been a great workaround for using the "clipboard command")

Basically, you first have to enable "automatic playback of YouTube video URLs" in the advanced tab options, and whenever you copy (Ctrl + C) a YouTube URL, it will automatically end up on the LCD screen. So if you're in a game and you can't type and highlight/copy text, then you really can't search anything.

And to actually search for videos, you have to use their "clipboard command" (you'll want to macro this instead of having to remember and type this command every time):

======================================================
lcdyoutube:search=<type whatever you want to search here>
======================================================

So for example, if you want to search Logitech videos, you have to type

======================================================
lcdyoutube:search=Logitech
======================================================
AND THEN you have to highlight all that and COPY (Ctrl + C) it to actually execute the search. I believe in games like WoW and Counter-Strike, this is OK for now and not completely useless, since it lets you type and highlight in-game for games such as those.

* You cannot navigate to different video folders through the LCD. You have to keep setting one video directory/all sub-directory and it will list all of them.

* Would be nice to change aspect ratio/stretch/zoom/fit when viewing videos, and especially for pictures. Since it has directional controls, they should allow you to zoom in on pictures. The picture viewer is pretty useless for me.

* It needs a quick jump to top/bottom or multiple files instead of scrolling through all the files one by one, especially if you have lots of videos. It would be nice if the volume control scroll could be temporarily toggled into acting as navigating up/down menus because it's so much easier than the buttons.

* I find it odd that it allows you to go quickly back to the top/bottom if you get to the end of the list for the main 'Switch to Program' menu screen; however, for the video/YouTube player list, once you get to the top or bottom, you're stuck and have to scroll all the way back up/down yourself! Personally, I find this inconvenient, especially since the navigation buttons aren't necessarily easy to keep pressing. For the YouTube search results, it does not allow you to HOLD-scroll either.

* For YouTube search results, it only displays the first 25 video results.

* It would be nice to be able to have a video playlist or be able to access your YouTube account's favorites. I would love it if it had a Winamp support so that it plays videos from the Winamp list too.

* Fast forward is already determined depending on the video duration. If it's a really short clip, like less than 10 seconds, then you can fast forward/rewind at 1sec intervals. However, if it's an hour long clip or so, it's already set to fast forward at 5 minutes. It doesn't matter how long you hold the button or release, the speed is not variable and is already set. This makes getting the precise spot of the clip impossible.

* It only looks for common video extentions. I have some .flv files that I saved directly from YouTube, but I have to rename them to .avi for the LCD to pick it up.

* If you searched several YouTube videos on the LCD, then you can press the Logitech-back arrow button key to see the previous results/videos, but once you go back, you can't go forward!

* Once a current YouTube-sent video ends playing, it ends up going back to the menu screen and there is no quick video repeat option. It really would be nice to have a history of viewed YouTube videos played on the G19 LCD!

====================================================== OTHER THOUGHTS:

* The install CD that came with mine was an older version 3.0.1 (but the website had a 3.02), so you should check that before installing.

* As long as if the video plays fine on the main system player, such as Windows Media Player, having the right codecs and everything on the system (not built-in codecs like VLC), then it should play on the G19 monitor.

* If the person uploading a video on YouTube doesn't allow external linking, it will not be playable on the LCD; you will get that error message instead and ask if you want to play directly on a browser.

* Sometimes the YouTube Player may not respond to your clipboard commands; you'll either have to restart the Logitech LCD Manager or just kill the "LCDYT.exe" process and open just that YouTube software (LCDYT.exe) again, which is located at "C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\Applets\ColorOnly\LCDYT.exe" (at least for XP, that's the default location.)

* It would be awesome if there was an option to view comments for YouTube videos also on the LCD; and again, if it had a toggle built-in key input for the LCD, it would be even more awesome if it were possible to comment on YouTube videos while still running a video game too. (how about it developers?!)

* Would be nice if there was a small LED above the USB ports to indicate when USBs have successfully connected (I like USB hubs that have this, which allows me to know that a USB is successfully powered and connected; I notice there's a small orange LED on the keyboard near the USB ports, which indicates that the AC is powering the keyboard, so I wish they added something similar for the USB ports)

Cons:
- The video player is cool, but it's still missing some key features! (fast forwarding speeds, YouTube searching - and other suggestions in my rant)
- MSRP is asking too much for what it does for now. (I can understand Logitech's leather racing wheel costing this much, but $200 for a keyboard? Maybe Logitech tried to target the Alienware buyers, since the LCD shape design seems like it would match great with those systems, and you know people who buy Alienware already spend a lot of money...)
- Menu buttons/arrows need to be pressed hard

The original G15 has had a lot of enthusiastic custom app developers and it has made the G15 keyboard better than what it was out of the box. For now, I give this keyboard a 4 stars. I really wanted to give this keyboard a perfect 5-star; I mean, come on... a color LCD video player on a keyboard?! This keyboard definitely has potential to be a 5 star, but that all depends on the apps. The keyboard is nice, but the app features that comes with it is just a little too basic (the video function); it's missing some key standard features, so in that aspect, that needs more improvement. Hopefully, the cons can be addressed and the color LCD can be taken more advantage of. I hope future games (like StarCraft 2?) would really take advantage of this keyboard LCD feature. It would be cool if game characters displayed as a video on there talking directly to the player whenever you accomplish a mission or something; something that really makes use of the game exclusive to the keyboard.

It's a no brainer, the G19 is the best out of the three. If you have money to throw away, then obviously this is the best one to get. However, for the LCD to really benefit over using an actual -- larger -- dual monitor, the features (ie: built-in YouTube searching) on the 320x240 LCD need to be addressed to win over those alternatives.

I found a workaround for having a playlist in video; If you use VLC Media Player, there is a third-party G19 plugin to send the video directly to the LCD instead of the VLC player. (However, when it goes to the next video on the playlist, it doesn't work perfectly because there's a minor nuisance where you have to hit the 'switch to program' button on the keyboard to get the player in view again. Moreover, you can't control with the Logitech keys, so you'll need to set up global hotkeys if you want to control during a video game. See 'Comments' for the link, since I can't post links in this review. And if you know any other good plugins for the G19, be sure to comment too.

** Update: The plugin called "LCD Miscellany" just made this keyboard x1000 times better! It's a must-have plugin if you want to get the most out of your G19 keyboard! This plugin had the perfect by-product tool of what I wanted this keyboard to do. 'LCD Miscellany' has a built-in Calculator tool, which allows copy and pasting text -- WITHIN THE LCD (you can toggle in and out of it) -- so it's a really great workaround to search specific YouTube videos -- while in games or in other applications that don't have any text input/highlighting! The plugin also has a Text Viewer, so if you just create a text file with URLs of your favorite YouTube videos, save it; and then access the text file within the LCD, you can then highlight (using the arrow keys while HOLDING the shift key), and then do the routine Copy (Ctrl + C) to execute the videos -- a pseudo-YouTube playlist!. This plugin also contains displaying your local weather and forecast, controlling your task manager, and more details about your CPU/memory/bandwidth usage/graph/volume/time/date all on one screen -- and much more! This plugin supports the G19, so the display is in color and the Logitech control keys work with it!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
2121 comments| 343 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2010
Logitech's G19, an expensive keyboard with back-lighting, a unique color screen with game and other application support, and plenty of macro keys, is pitched by Logitech as the crème de la crème of keyboards. Is it? Unfortunately, this is not the case. There are numerous shortcomings that prevent the G19 from being a winner.

I owned it for two and a half weeks before returning it to my local Best Buy.

Where does the G19 fall short? Well, other than the screen, it's just designed poorly (materials) compared to the competition.

1. The quality of the mechanism. The keys on the G19 use a rubber dome system for its keys that became popular for being inexpensive - it made free keyboards with the sale of computers go from a major expense to a non-issue. The mechanism made it possible for $5 keyboards to exist. However, this mechanism makes compromises for the price, and thus it becomes an inappropriate choice when put in a board as expensive as the G19. Why?

-Rubber dome keys simply do not last as long as scissor switch, capacitive, or fully mechanical key switches. Logitech claims that the G series keyboards get 20M actuations (keypresses that register with the computer) per key, but this is many times what other industry competitors will list and is unrealistic - there are a LOT of complaints online about key failure just outside of a year on the G19. Interestingly, much cheaper keyboards that Logitech rates with much lower lifetimes (10 million or less) will have 2 or 3 year warranties, yet Logitech only warranties the G19 for a single year. Mechanical keyboards last 50 million or MORE.
-Rubber domes deteriorate before they fail completely. Why does this matter? Well, the domes degrade slightly each time they are used. This means that in order to get enough contact for the controller in the keyboard to recognize that a key is pressed, you must use slightly more force each time. This compounds, and in a few months the board can require 50% or more force than it initially did, worsening with time. This means keys that you use more often will require more force (WASD, anyone), and you'll have to use a significant amount of force on every key to ensure actuation. Mechanical keyswitches are not prone to this, and require the same amount of force until they fail. This amount of force is typically LOWER than rubber dome boards when new- this discrepancy only worsens with age. This means a mechanical keyboard will be much more comfortable to type on for long periods of time, especially as it gets older.
-Rubber dome keyboards introduce inherent limitations to the rollvover- how many keys can be pressed at a single time where every key will be recognized properly by the computer. When on USB, the maximum is limited to 6 (except for the Microsoft Sidewinder X4, which uses a patented approach). This is important to gamers, and the rollover on the G19 is respectable - you have 5 fingers on your left hand and five on the mouse in most cases, and most keys around WASD are well-ghosted (most combos of 6 will work). However, there are combos of 3 keys that do fail (and 4, and 5, and 6), and no combo of 7 or more keys will go through. In contrast, a mechanical keyboard can (and the overwhelming majority in the price range do) have N-Key rollover - ANY combo of keys, including every key on the keyboard, will be recognized over PS/2 (purple connector), and ANY combo of 6 keys will go through on the USB bus (limitation of the USB HID specification for keyboards).
-Rubber domes actuate at the bottom of travel - right before the keycap hits the bottom. Mechanicals actuate at halfway through full travel (2mm of 4mm)- making them MUCH more comfortable to type on for long periods of time, and making your critical moves occur earlier than they would on a rubber dome keyboard. Tactile feedback provides subtle and subconscious confirmation that keypresses went through, and helps to identify that point without looking.

Given all of this, why did Logitech use rubber domes? Price. A rubber dome mechanism costs pennies to implement. A mechanical keyboard represents at least $50 of initial cost to the manufacturer (MINIMUM!) since it requires expensive individual key switches and a large PCB. Other keyboards much cheaper than the G19 implement every feature but the screen, and keyboards that are less money or comparable in price have better quality with mechanical keyswitches.

2) The body, the keycaps, and the backlighting.

a) The body
The Body of the G19 looks neat, but it's a relatively light keyboard with a non-negligible flex, especially around the edges. The keyboard does not feel solid and doesn't use the strongest plastics. Other keyboards in the price range have "heft" that keeps them from moving on the desk, makes them feel like quality products, and do not flex/creak, even around the edges. Designing a solid body requires denser and more expensive plastic and greater quality control...

b) The keycaps
Keycaps are the plastic that covers the mechanism (dome, mechanical switch, etc.) that you hit, and on the G19, they are clear plastic, painted over. This is a cheap approach, and Google images will show you PLENTY of images of G-series keys wearing to the point of illegibility. This process can happen in just a couple of weeks if your skin chemistry is not favorable- indeed, my F and J keys (which have the nubs- they're where you'd rest your fingers where not typing if you type from the home row) had already worn, and the F key had become indistinguishable. This process will be slower for the majority of people, but the point is that other cheaper and similarly priced keyboards with backlighting will use dye-sublimation or two shot molding on their keycaps. Both of these processes are permanent and will not wear after years of use and ABuse. IBM and Cherry Point of Sale keyboards use these methods for that reason, and many modern keyboards (by Razer, Deck, and other competitors) will use them as well. Paint is a non-durable, but cheap method...

c) Backlighting
The G19 has customizable backlighting. This is a neat feature but requires significant compromise compared to other back-lit keyboards. How is it done?
The G19 uses LEDs of numerous colors throughout the board- a few light up all 100+ keys. Why is this bad?
Well, when you have a few LEDs spread throughout the board, it leads to uneven and relatively dim backlighting. Other keyboards around this price use individual LEDs for every key- leading to vibrant and completely even backlighting throughout the entire keyboard (and most boards are adjustable so you can increase the effect for visibility during the day and decrease it to a level that won't blind you at night).
Having a single LED per key is relatively easy and inexpensive if you already have a large PCB for your entire board, but greatly increases complexity and cost on a board designed more cheaply.

3) The screen
The redeeming feature of the G19 and what makes it so unique! It's the feature that excited me the most, and it truly does set the G19 apart. Is it to a great degree? Unfortunately, no. Logitech leads the pack in game support, but many games have very little useful information- a number just spit information back at you (location, mana, health, etc.) that already appear on your much bigger monitor! Why would you look away from the screen to see the same information (but none of the game) on a much smaller screen?

Additionally, if your desk level and keyboard level are not close enough, you have to look completely away from the monitor to look at the screen. This is the case on many desks...

The feature is also not compatible with other OSes, requires software that can use 100MB or more of resources (that could seriously impact game performance)...not every game supports it...

It's neat, but has significant limitations.

SO WHAT IS THE FINAL CONCLUSION?
If you've read this all, and I haven't swayed you, you're probably very attracted to the screen. And if you truly are completely enamored with the screen, buy it - you'll probably enjoy it if a feature is so desirable to you.

But if my review has raised doubts, it has for a good reason. The screen is a unique feature, but it doesn't justify the rest of the keyboard. If it weren't for the screen, I would have returned this keyboard much sooner - I REALLY wanted to like it. Ultimately, I could not reconcile my issues with the board, and I returned it. The G19 is a $20 keyboard in every fashion except the screen, and, of course, price.

Other competitors with similar features - such as the Razer BlackWidow Ultimate - offer similar features without the expense. The BlackWidow Ultimate offers better antighosting (unfortunately, not NKRO), is much more durable and comfortable to type on due to its excellent Cherry MX switches, offers macros, has a much better built body with no flex, dye sublimated keycaps, and individual LEDs per key for backlighting, audio/usb passthroughs, etc. - it exceeds the G19 by far in every aspect but the screen. Others, such as Deck and Xarmor, offer much better built keyboards with similar features as well.

Give serious, serious thought to buying a G19. If you want a keyboard that has a color screen and not much else, the G19 is really the only game in town. If you want a keyboard that excels at its primary purpose, look elsewhere.
2424 comments| 240 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2009
The Logitech G19 keyboard is perfect for 1: Serious gamers 2: Serious Geeks or 3: Seriously rich people who have nothing better to do with $200.

There is no instruction manual included with the G19, everything you need to know is included in the software, including a video guide to get you started.

Comes with a wrist rest that can be attached if desired, but it is made of hard plastic and is therefore not comfortable and of little use.

The following is an outline of the pros and cons I have found while using the G19.

Pros:

-The backlit keys are completely customizable. You can choose any shade of any color including white.

-Awesome LCD with many applets and features including: CPU/RAM monitor, clock, RSS newsfeeds, Youtube feed for viewing Youtube videos,picture slideshow, and video player. Also works with supported games giving you in-game info.

-12 G keys each capable of storing 3 different functions acessed by the M keys.

-Media controls (Play/pause, stop, next, back) mute button and volume roll wheel.

-Windows key disabler switch which is standard on the G series keyboards.

-2 USB ports on the back of the G19 allow you to plug in and power any USB devices you want.

-Up to 5 keys can be pressed down at the same time and still register.

Cons:

-Needs to be plugged into both a USB port and a outlet. Extra power is needed of course for the LCD panel.

-What, you expected there to be more cons?

Conclusion:

Overall it is a wonderful keyboard that comes equipped with a not-so-wonderful price. Is it worth the dough? You be the judge.

Now if you'll excuse I shall watch a Youtube vid on my keyboard... because I can...
99 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2009
I struggled with the cost of this keyboard but found Amazon to have the best price plus the free shipping. I am not a heavy duty gamer but was looking for a solid keyboard with good back lighting of the keys. I had tried the Razor from Microsoft and was extremely disappointed with the lighting which comes more from around the keys than through them. Also, the feel of the keys was too "weak" for my tastes.

On this keyboard the lighting comes only through the keys and you can change the colors. This combined with a solid feel with I type makes me very satisfied.

I found the installation to be a breeze with the included software. Really, this is a plug and play unit once you have installed the software which gives you some utilities to control the features.

If you want a solid feeling keyboard with backlighting and can handle the extremely high price, this is a keyboard that you will not regret buying.

Now to load the WoW software that my daughter talked me into trying and then will learn how to use the macro keys!
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2012
I'd like to share my experience with this keyboard. I have used a Logitech G15 for several years and decided to upgrade to the G19. The G15 is excellent and still in working condition, but I really wanted to use the color display on the G19 for video playback. I purchased the G19 in April 2012, and it worked wonderfully. Should you get this keyboard, definitely look into the freeware application LCDHost. It lets you make custom displays with tons of options. Currently, my G19 is displaying the time, outside temperature, weather, memory usage, cpu usage across all for cores, i/o on 4 hard drives, in and out speed of my internet connection, and the number of emails in my inbox, all updated in realtime, simultaneously, with a custom background picture to boot.

The keys have a much softer feel to them than the G15, and the fully customizable backlight color is a great feature. The built in apps are adequate. I don't really like the new resource monitor. The bar chart format for memory and cpu usage on the G15 was much easier and faster to read than the tachometer-style meters on the G19. As I said above, you can fix that by making a custom config with LCDHost. Also, the movie playback plugin often doesn't recognize a lot of formats. There is a plugin for an older version of VLC that lets you redirect video to the LCD. That's great, but it means having 2 versions of VLC installed, and some twiddling.

Now, for the bad. I heard that this keyboard had issues with Intel X58 and AMD 790 chipsets. I have an AMD 790 based board, but everything was fine...until I reinstalled my Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe sound card, which I had take out to make room for a graphics card. After installing this card, I started getting the same issues that have plagued a lot of users. The keyboard would work fine for 20 minutes to 4 hours, and then it would lock up. It often locked up when Netflix was playing, or in the middle of a game of Battlefield 3. No amount of driver re-installation would fix the issue. Logitech's forums had lists of suggestions, but many of them were ridiculous, like disabling Crossfire. I have a Crossfire system, and I don't think that disabling my second graphics card is a great tradeoff. It didn't work, anyway.

So, for a few months, I have been using the G15, occasionally hooking the G19 up and trying a different suggestion. Nothing seemed to stop the constant lockups. During this process, I noticed that the AC adapter was making a loud buzzing noise. I had high hopes that I might have a bad AC adapter, so I ordered a new one from Logitech. The new adapter does not buzz, but the keyboard had the same lockups. I tried tweaking USB settings in the BIOS, as directed by Logitech. They even claimed that cell phones sitting near the keyboard could cause lockups. Moving my iPhone across the room didn't fix it, and to be honest, I'm not surprised.

In a last ditch effort to get this expensive (but really nice to use) keyboard working, I bought an IOGear 5 port USB card (which can be found on Amazon). I hooked up the keyboard, and it finally works with no problems again. There is still a downside, though. The USB card isn't recognized until Windows boots. So, I still have the G15 hooked up, sitting in a corner, in case I need to get into the bios or tell Windows to start normally after a crash. Obviously, this isn't exactly ideal. But, the keyboard is so good that I'm willing to put up with it. If it had worked well without any issues, it would be a five star product.

So, in conclusion, if you buy this keyboard and it works for you, you will really enjoy it. Combined with LCDHost, it is an incredible piece of hardware. If it doesn't work, you might as well either return it or go straight to using a USB card instead of your onboard USB. I haven't really been satisfied with Logitech's explanations for these keyboard issues. I can see how there might be a problem with one particular USB chipset, but the USB logic on the Intel X58 and AMD 790 is completely different. I believe that there is either a hardware flaw with the keyboard, or a flaw in their drivers. I don't think it has anything to do with the Creative hardware or drivers, since plenty of people encountering this issue have used onboard sound.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
I really liked this keyboard and I'd love to give it 5-stars, but I have had nothing but problems with the keyboard stopping working entirely with a "USB Device Not Recognized" error on my Win7 Home Premium 64-bit OS rig. Every. Single. Day. Whether browsing the interwebs or typing documents or gaming or whatever I'm doing, this keyboard repeatedly just abruptly stops working, and then I have to unplug the USB connection, unplug the power plug, replug-in the USB connection, replug-in the power, and reboot the keyboard over and over. Most of the time, no matter what I do other than unless I do a full computer reboot, nothing on the keyboard works but the QWERTY keys, the backlight, and the media controls work after the plugs reboot. No display but the blazing white Logitech logo, and no G keys working. I also use a Logitech G500 mouse and Logitech G930 wireless headphones and those are never affected. They work great. It's just this keyboard. I've tried every one of the 7 USB 2.0 ports available (3.0 USB ports don't work at all as this keyboard is not compatible), and google searched for a remedy numerous times with no fix -- and the problem persists no matter what I do. Constantly. Many other people have this same problem, and Logitech does absolutely nothing to remedy the issue at their end but tell people to try different USB ports and/or reboot. That stinks -- especially because this keyboard costs so much money and Logitech's attitude toward addressing this problem with an actual permanent fix is... MEH! POUND SAND!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Fully customizable color schemes and macro keys? Check. Profile (and thus Macro and color) switching on the fly? Check. Full color LCD screen? Check. Logitech sturdiness and reliability? Check. Physical keys to control media players and system volume (instead of soft/touch keys that I had on my old keyboard, which were always just going off randomly)? Check.
So why don't I love this keyboard? I'll tell you.
The LCD is all but useless. I found one game - ONE GAME - in which it displays one piece of game info; the health meter. It did so monochromatically, as though the screen was running DOS or something. Oh, it has a PILE of prefab profiles for games. But they don't DO anything except let you map the (terribly positioned to the point where I never use them) macro keys slightly more easily; in The Witcher 2, instead of choosing that pressing G1 is the same as pressing 4, you can just tell the software sweet that G1 should cast Aard. But the screen itself still sits there useless, either displaying the time, or your RAM usage (depending on which one you pick). I cannot stress how infuriating it is to expect amazing things from this amazing screen (especially when there are "game profiles" that you ASSUME will link the screen to the game), and find it to be an utter waste of tech, money, and space.
Also, the menu and related keys are a static color; they will always be orange. Looks reeeeeally odd if you have the other keys lit up in any other color.
I'll always be loyal to Logitech. But I absolutely cannot recommend this keyboard to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
I really enjoyed the keyboard for the 1st year that I had it, shortly after that I started having random issues where when typing all the lights would turn off and they keyboard would stop working. This was not a huge problem because it only happened every so often, but about 2 years after purchase it completely shorted out and would not work at all. I take very good care of my electronics and it was cleaned on regular basis and nothing was ever spilled on it. If I had not run into these problems I would have given it 5 stars for sure because I loved it, but only getting 2 years out of such an expensive keyboard is ridiculous.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 4, 2014
I have been using this keyboard for a long time, since they first were introduced into the market.

Early on I was enamored with the screen and used it as much as I can. I even found 3rd party software that allows you to customize your display all kinds of unique ways (there is a whole forum dedicated to this as well).

After years of use the primary reasons I use the screen now is to monitor the computer temperature. I use EVGA Precisions X software and have it setup to display GPU, CPU temps as well as fan speeds. I also like it in software like ventrillo where I can see who is speaking on the server while I play games... without the need of obtrusive onscreen popups.

It is a well made keyboard being that no letters have worn out over all these years (I think the letter/numbers are etched behind the keys so they never will.. i have owned a backlit keyboard where the paint was on top of the keys and the whole key glowed through after long use)

Since I bought this the price has dropped dramatically. I bought mine for 2 bills. Even still I do no have regrets. In all this time there is only one other keyboard that I know of that implemented a color LCD information display into their keyboard (Razer). It costs more than this one (especially not that this is so much cheaper) and to be honest I doubt it would add much value over this (which is why I never bother buying one).

If you want a high end gaming keyboard with a lot of high end functions put this one on your radar... it will literally last you years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
I finally updated my very, very old G15 keyboard to this and I should have bought this keyboard a long time ago! It is a bit pricy but it was worth it, at least to me. I like using AIDA64 Extreme with it because it shows things like the temps, fan speeds, memory consumption, CPU and GPU utilization and so on. That is mainly why I like having the small screen on my keyboard. I guess I just got to use to it with the G15 that I just wouldn't want a keyboard without it. The screen on this keyboard is so much better than the one on the G15. I could put more on it than I even expected, more than the G15 for sure.

The volume wheel is a neat idea. It works well. I like the fact that I could change the colours on this one. I game on this keyboard sometimes and it works great. All in all I think this keyboard was worth what I paid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here