Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by us the duo PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop now HTL17_gno



on November 6, 2017
I give this movie five stars---but it should be 4.25 or so. There are some major flaws and instances that just don't make any sense...and it would have been nice if the producers & directors caught them---because they made the SAME STOOPID mistakes in the sequel. When they make Kick Ass 3, they should really preview the movie to simple fans---and take their simple advice. This being the First Kick Ass---it was extremely entertaining. Hit Girl literally hits this one outta the Park !!! Chloe is one of those child stars that famously gives an outstanding Unique performance that is a JOY to see !! Catch it if you can, because these child actors rarely repeat such a fabulous ride ( unfortunately )...akin to a shooting star---ZIP---it's gone...I have been a huge fan of Nicholas Cage from his performance in "Raising Arizona"---but here his character didn't work. I liked the part where he was training his daughter to take a bullet while wearing a vest---but then the movie CONTRADICTS itself, later, when Hit Girl gets shot. Aside from the glaring flaws, though, I couldn't Stop thinking how fun this film was for about a month !! AND That's sayin' something...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2017
This is one of my favorite movies. It's bold, different, and really goes against the norm which is why I found it so refresher after most stale Hollywood movies. Well directed and perfectly cast, it really delivers. Chloe Moretz steals the show obviously, but everyone really holds their own. It's based on the comic books of the same name but has a few differences which work fine for the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2017
10-21-17 3rd viewing? Been a long time, and happily I see how very much I forgot and how very much I was glad to revisit given my skeletal memories of the film...no flesh on them. This classic certainly must have been very well deconstructed by reviewers. I don't need to read any -- the film owned me on several levels and I cannot lie.

Only rented. Probably shudda bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2017
Good movie. With that said, Kick-Ass is one of 3 films in my iTunes library (over 300 titles) that when I redeemed the digital copy with this film -- the studio saw fit to force only SD downloads. I paid for HD when I purchased this blu-ray. Very disappointing. Otherwise, I'm happy with the purchase but this practice makes consumers think twice about purchasing movies on disc anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2017
In a time of saturation from the Marvel Cinematic Universe and DC in the same path, it is refreshing to have other types of super hero movies available to keep things light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2016
I would never have chosen this movie from its title, but because I saw a preview it looked kind of cute and funny. Which it was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
Great superhero movie. This is Nic Cage's best performance in many years. I was not a reader of the comics and I am not a big fan of superhero movies in general, but I'll watch them when they come to cable or Prime. This movie has a large degree of humanity mixed in with over-the-top action fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2010
Dave Lizewski (Johnson) can't help but wonder "Why has no one tried to become a superhero?" As a comic-book nut he decides to take his passion to the next level and become a real-life superhero. His journey begins where else, EBay! What do you expect when you are a high school dork with only a $200 budget? His next step, a name...Kick-Ass or as Big Daddy (Cage) says "more like Ass-Kick"! Of course Kick-Ass has no powers, no skills, no smarts and no cool gadgets but he still inspires NY'ers once his beating by 3 thugs becomes viral on YouTube. His life is now changed by having his own comic book and copy cats. It all seems pretty cool, until he is implicated as the vigilante that is taking down D'Amico's (Strong) drug empire! Now, he is hunted by violent criminals and meets up with a pair of real crazed vigilantes, including an 11-year-old weapons wielding dynamo, Hit Girl (Moretz) and her father, Big Daddy. Kick-Ass eventually learns that the duo have their own score to settle with D'Amico. As obsession turns into madness, Kick-Ass is forced to become a real hero or die!

Kudos to everyone involved on this project (both the comic and the film)! Millar's story and Romita's drawings inspired Matt Vaughn's vision and the result is a cult classic that will be loved by comic fanboys and it's own subculture for decades. The true star of this movie is Hit-Girl played amazingly by Chloe Moretz. She absolutely steals the show. Fans of Leon the Professional will immediately pick up the relationship with Moretz and Cage as it is similar to Portman and Reno. The film is dark and although there is comedy, it can be uncomfortable. Ultimately, once the "Ass-Kickin'" starts, you will be cheering with every dead bad guy! A must see.

BLU-RAY THOUGHTS: A beautiful picture with outstanding sound. The colors pop and the blacks are rich. Blu-ray has made the home theatre experience so much better. SPECIAL FEATURES: Fantastic, although I would have loved deleted scenes. The two best features are long and include a making of and the origins of the comic book. FINAL THOUGHTS: I loved this movie. Comic book fans will jump all over it. Blu ray collectors should add this as well. Casual fans? Once you see it, you will love it too. A MUST OWN!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
honestly i skip the green boy and red boy scenes when i rewatch this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
A great action movie.
Definitely off the beaten path of hero vs bad guy movie. Great action scenes!
Probably not for young children as there is a lot of foul language, graphic violence, and some sexual situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse