Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,249 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,369 reviews
on February 28, 2017
...But not because of this series. Breaking Bad episodes are primarily filled with dark and degenerate people, subjects and situations. But watching Breaking Bad is probably as addicting as the drugs Walter manufactured and sold. IF you're gong to watch this series, be sure to watch Season 2 episode 6 "Peekaboo" where Walter teaches his science class about Carbon and the man who invented the first man-made diamond. That's my Father, H Tracy Hall, and my only claim to fame. He probably rolled over in his grave when this series came out. Google 'H. Tracy Hall' to learn more about the real man and his diamonds. He was a good, quiet, patient, well mannered, faithful man with honor and integrity. His most prize posession was his family and his faith, not wealth or fame.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
American culture prefers happy stories, to the point that nearly everything on network tv is about as deep as an empty suburban swimming pool. Fortunately, we have alternatives.

Breaking Bad is the story of Walt White, former brilliant graduate student turned high school chemistry teacher. His life is bland and unsatisfying, and Walt keeps it chugging along by hiding his many dissatisfactions under a mild facade. He says that he loves his wife, but the couple occupy distant universes.

When Walt learns he has late stage cancer he chooses to forgo treatment. His family stages an intervention and, in a moment of rare honesty, Walt tells them that in his entire life, he has never made his own choices. The intervention ends with Walt acceding to his wife Skyler's demand that he undergo chemotherapy. Believing that he has only a couple of years to live, he sets out to give his family a financial security that they lack. Through his DEA brother in law he learns about the money to be made cooking meth. During a ride-along, he meets a former student turned meth peddler; they form a partnership in the crystal meth trade.

The world of a meth cook, while grim and uncertain, is stripped of the petty deceits that made his previous life possible. Unable to tell his family what he's doing, he lies. And the lies slowly rip his old life apart.

It's a painful story to watch, but an honest one. Well written and acted, as it is, it is also impossible to turn away.

Good, honest storytelling always has something to tell us about what it means to be human in a particular time and place. And Breaking Bad is superb story telling.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2014
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling. Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles,
this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an
end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a game we can never win.

The second season made clear the promise of the first would be lived up to. The show would go to the edge, even if it meant risking alienating the audience. This is powerful, important and yet utterly enthralling stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2012
Breaking Bad's second season is darker than the first. There are some humorous moments (usually at Jesse's expense), but overall this season is much more "intense".

"The Sopranos" and "Boardwalk Empire" are entertaining crime dramas, but they don't pull me in the way this show does. I know of no other TV series or movie about an illegal enterprise where you actually witness the "business" being put together, almost in real time, while the law desperately scrambles to stop it. That whole process in itself makes for fascinating viewing.

Again, this series in no way glorifies drug taking or drug trafficking (quite the opposite), and it's pretty interesting how they manage to make this seem so viscerally realistic without excess profanity or violence.

I don't want to go into detail without spoiling the plot, but suffice it to say Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul continue to be amazing together onscreen. Anna Gunn gets more screen time, as do Dean Norris and RJ Mitte - and this season they further prove how great the entire cast is.

I'll just conclude by saying that the last episode of season two is heartbreaking to watch, but up to this point, Breaking Bad is one of the best shows I've ever seen and definitely merits repeated viewing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
If you are reading this review chances are you have already watched season 1. Breaking Bad is one of the greatest shows in TV history. While everyone in the cast is terrific, Bryan Cranston seems like he was born to play Walter White...he just nails every scene. The plot and dialogue are well written, with plenty of twists and turns. Even the ancillary characters are interesting. Season two follows along where season one left off and without spoiling anything, in this season you really begin to see the evolution/devolution of the characters. One of my favorite things on the show, and something that reinforces just how well crafted the show is, is that the car model each character drives really fits their personality; it sounds weird but try to notice it. As a car nerd, this was very appreciated and kudos goes to whomever chose the character's cars because it speaks a lot to the character's personality traits; i.e. Walt's Aztec. This is great TV and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
What can you one say about one of the greatest television shows ever that hasn't already been said? Season 2 of Breaking Bad picks up right where it left off with Walter and Jesse making big bucks from their blue meth. Walt is finding it increasingly more difficult to conceal is double life from Skylar, while Jesse loses becomes homeless in the process. Walt and Jesse have teamed up with Tuco, and it proves to be a tumultuous relationship. The season really comes to climax with the death of Jesse's girlfriend Jane. It goes without saying that Breaking Bad is like a good book: you just can't put it down (or stop watching in this case!). I would recommend BB for anyone looking for an invigorating and thrilling show that captivates its viewer and begs them to watch just one more. Before you know it, you'll have watched the entire season in one day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2016
This is my second viewing of Breaking Bad. The casting of this series could not have been done better. Every character is well developed, no one phones in their lines. The scenery is spectacular. The camera operators are the best ever. The music by Dave Porter is brilliant. My eyes are glued to the screen until the name Vince Gilligan appears at the end. What is most significant is the evolution of the main character, Walter White, into the villainous Heisenberg, an everyman haunted by the thought of his family trying to make their way in the world without him.
This is the best TV show ever offered. If you haven't seen it, you have missed out on an experience of a lifetime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
I like it, especially being able to watch it at my own pace, without commercials.
not watching much tv, I cannot compare it to anything else. It does stand on its own.
What's to say that hasn't been said, I like the connection to the real world, as in, this could happen. it brings out some great points on things to think about, like health insurance in the usa. One stretch on realism is that everyone I know in teaching has very good health insurance. Another thought provoking topic is dealing with cancer. I am learning a few things about it, and dealing with my friend's cancer helps me to consider things that she is going through, and how to accept and respond to her fears and situation. The entertainment part of it is great, a chemistry high school teacher and his real life application of his knowledge, and how he adapts and handles his problems. Lots of side stories brought in for a well diverse story all around the central story, such as the petty theft by Walt's sister in law, the turtle in the desert, Walt Jr and his cerebral palsy, even the lawyer, lots of things for consideration.
A what could be look at a real life side of illegal drugs, what it does to a person, family,... especially Jane, Jane's father, as well as the business side of it, especially Jesse's street friends. an intelligent main character, Walter, and cast, written by intelligent writers, put together and presented in an entertainingly intelligent way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
~~~~SPOILERS APPEAR LIBERALLY THROUGHOUT THIS REVIEW~~~~

DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN'T WATCHED BREAKING BAD Season 2.

Amid all the darkness of BREAKING BAD's second season there is light, and generous pockets of laugh-out-loud comedy. The funniest dialogue spills from the mouths of characters not around in the first season. Skinny Pete's nonchalant delivery of "Feng Shui, yo!" comes to mind. A man of Skinny's limited intelligence would not even know how to spell Feng Shui, let alone pronounce it. Yet the expression rolls off his tongue as if he were intimately versed in the Chinese concept. And that's one of the throwaway lines. The best ones come from Saul Goodman, a one-of-a-kind criminal who happens to be a practicing member of the Bar. The first time I saw 'Better Call Saul' I thought the suits should give good ol' Saul a show of his own. And they did! One can't help but accept Saul's deliberate smarmy approach, his license plate is LWYRUP, typical of his sense of humor. His multitude of underworld connections yields a number of interesting personalities who aren't funny at all; suffice to say they're scary and realistic people. Chief among them are Gus, slight in stature, mild-mannered and walks without moving his arms but seethes menace; and the damage control expert to whom Saul conveys complex instructions in cryptic Saul-speak: "I think we got a wife problem."

Danger keeps looming up more and more around Walter and those he loves. Jesse has an intense side-story (without Walter but with consequences) that concludes with him holed up in what looks like a native American Indian sweat lodge. Walt Jr. AKA Flynn becomes quite a forceful personality taking turns hating both his mother and his father. Flawlessly portrayed but totally unlikable Hank Schrader becomes slightly less overbearing, i.e. a bit more likable. Not a lot but a bit because some chinks in his armor are divulged.

BREAKING BAD Season 2 has a lot going for it, wonderful writing, acting and photography, the outdoor scenes make me want to move to New Mexico. If one looks closely enough a lot of the pre-credit openers are out-and-out tributes to Sergio Leone. Clever, subtle, nice. Why four stars instead of five? There's only one bad show out of all 13, 'Four Days Out,' with Walter and Jesse stranded in the desert without water for a boring amount of time. This dispensable episode drags unbearably and, although not laborious to watch, is curiously slow compared to the show's regular frenetic pace and seamless weave of multiple interconnected storylines. That alone doesn't merit a four-star rating.

I felt cheated by the plane crash finale though horrified just the same. Cheated because the whole second season previewed images of Walter's shattered windshield and body bags in his driveway begging to mislead the viewer into thinking two of the White family die by violence. The last show of the second season opens by panning back from the driveway to a panoramic wide angle shot that includes the smoke of two separate fires burning behind his house. I wondered what that meant until Jane's father was revealed as an air traffic controller then immediately knew he would cause a crash. BREAKING BAD is not a mystery story, per se, it doesn't need such unnecessary misdirection, sufficient tension existed without it. Those flash forward images DO ratchet up viewer suspense. Except in the end the payoff is undercut bigtime, yo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon December 11, 2013
I got turned onto Breaking Bad by a friend. The last time I got hooked on a series was 10 years ago watching Babylon 5 reruns. I still don't watch much TV, but I made an exception for this show since it's so good.

In this second season we see Walt and Jesse learning to deal with the problems in selling and distributing the meth.

The show succeeds to a great extent because it's premise is both so improbable and dramatic, as a nerdy high school chemistry teacher sets out to make the purest, high yield meth on the market when he finds out he has stage 3A lung cancer. He has nothing to lose since he figures he's going to die anyway, so he goes for broke in the hopes that he can set his family up financially.

He has the science down pat, but the meth subculture couldn't be farther removed from his middle class life. In the process he must learn to navigate the dangerous waters of the meth culture and street market as he deals with psycho distributors, unreliable partners, a beleaguered wife who he keeps in the dark, and all the while trying to fly under the authorities' radar. In an improbable but intriguing character development which Gilligan manages to make work, his own brother is a veteran DEA agent who doesn't know he is looking for his own brother.

With strong characterizations, a hard-hitting script and dialog (which recalls Clifford Odets and The Sweet Smell of Success to my mind) and taught plots and story lines, producer Vince Gilligan has his most winning series yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse