Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The League: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 16, 2010
Not for those easily offended by profanity or sexual innuendo, The League is the most entertaining, refreshingly witty show I've enjoyed since Arrested Development. The humor is simultaneously blatant and subtle, which may be due to the show's semi-scripted nature and the timing and the delivery of the actors, which are very well cast.

You don't need to understand football, or be a fan of the NFL to enjoy The League, although it helps if you are familiar with the teams and the names of the players, if for nothing else to understand why the characters get so excited about the draft order and picks. If you have ever worked in, gone to school with, or been in a situation with a group of friends involved in any ongoing competitive event like a Fantasy Football League you will understand and enjoy this show, provided you have a broad sense of humor.

Tonight was the second season series premiere, and in true FX style it's aired practically every hour. I've watched it twice and my abdominal muscles are sore from laughing. Watch the first season "marathon" style before viewing the new episodes if you have the opportunity.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2010
When I first saw the commercials for this show on FX I thought it could be funny. From the first scene I was hooked, this show has to be one of the funniest shows I have seen on television. Bravo to FX for releasing shows like this. If you like Its Always Sunny you may not find it funny after watching the league. The humor is straight in the gutter and although this is an FX show it still has a fair amount of language. Its mostly guy humor, tons of sex jokes, songs about genitalia, drug references, and a deal one couple makes so porn can be watched in the house.

With that in mind, and if you are still reading then you must be into some rotten humor like I am. If so, give this series a shot.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
My favorite NEW show..

Recently I've tried a few new comedy shows to get into. (Party Down, Parks & Recreation, Louie and The League of Shiva) Yeah, all of them were funny, but its The League that has truly won my heart though. I gotta say when this show first was released on FX I was in no way trying to get into it or even give it the time of day. The sixth season of Sunny was going on at the time and this show came on afterwards. Never watched longer than 5 minutes. Boy, do I not sure feel like I've missed something. This show is on point with it's humor. I laugh out loud each and every episode; can watch the same episode multiple times and it does not get old also. Each and every character offers something different to the show making each one of them a riot!
My personal favorite character is Kevin's wife. She is just perfect as the woman who is into the fantasy league just as much as her husband, if not more (picks his players, tells him who to use) yet plays it off like she isn't, it's great. The other characters include:
Taco, the over-sexed stoner who makes his own deodorant to save 4 dollars and knows hot girls drive Jettas.
Pete, the 3 time Shiva-bowl champ who is going through a divorce and who doesn't like surprise reach-arounds =)
Ruxin, or Rodney haha who is my second favorite and who is just such a douche I laugh at everything he says espeically the bounce test.
Kevin, whose fixated on winning, lets his wife choose his team and perform the usual bet.
and last but not least Andre, who is not the favorite by the league yet they all tolerate him to make fun of him. He is the typical goof-ball thats is easily influenced by his "friends". He loves him some Shiva =)

All these characters bring somehting different to the table and I promise you'll fall in love with all of em as I have...

This short season sadly only has six episodes in it. The episodes average around 21 to 22 minutes other than the pilot episode which is more like a half hour. The thing i found nice was that when you don't choose play all and select an episode you can select the extended version of the episodes. This was were a few "f" bombs were dropped, some very funny stories a lil too vulgar on tv were added in and some very dirty "quick on your feet" responses were given. The longer versions of the episodes do not seem drawn out or forced either. There is only an extra 2 minutes or so in each episode but the extended versions are a must see still. I am yet to look at all the special features yet but will get to it soon. I highly suggest this show...it's new, funny, vulgar, and it gets funnier as the season goes on and after the first initial viewing of the season. I purchased it a couple days back and it was like 10 bucks. Great deal, as I do this review now the price is 8.99. IT is honestly a steal. Check it out, catch up on both this season and season 2 which has already finished airing and should be coming on dvd soon enough here. I hope I've been helpful...Go watch THE LEAGUE
-Cam
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Well the football season just started and with my boyfriend in current action with his fantasy football team, I thought this would be the perfect show. We both watch it and we love it. Its sexually humorous and great comedy. Worth the watch.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
This is a MUST watch show if you've ever played Fantasy Sports and/or had a bunch of friends that loved making fun of each other. It's very "real" (I wish it was real, but it gets close to what reality should look like hahaha) and engaging.

It's an amazing show for guys and some girls open to the idea of understanding why men behave the way we do sometimes. Definitely a good time investment. El Cunado brings a new fantastic low level and you just engage more and more with every episode and season.

One of the best shows you'll see out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
The first episode I didn't think I was going to like it because I have no interest in football especially "fantasy" but this has show has so much more going on in it.Great for both men and women. It is halarious and you really get to love the characters, especially taco!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2016
Oh man, this is some funny stuff! These guys keep me laughing from beginning to end. Maybe a little raunchy for some viewer's taste, but oh boy, this is some hilarious stuff!
Don't be put off by the fantasy football theme...football lover or no, this is FUNNY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
This show was recommended to me by a co-worker and I absolutely LOVE it! I'm in my mid to late 20's, female, not in a fantasy football league and only pay attention to my home team and I still really enjoy this. They obviously do talk about football but that's not the entire show. The group chemistry is great and I can't wait to watch more! I highly recommend this to anyone who likes comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2015
Funny show that hits the right level of humor for a bunch of dudes trying to be big shots in the their lives. If you play fantasy sports or work in an office with multiple personalities then this show works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
Stumbled across the League on Netflix and became hooked. Whether you love fantasy football, or can't stand it, this show will have you cracking up constantly. Extremely original content.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here