Truck Reviews Beauty Magazine Deals Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Shop by look Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite Find a new favorite show Find a new favorite show Find a new favorite show Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on October 5, 2016
I bought this based on reviews and because I really enjoyed AC II and wanted to continue the story of Ezio. I must mention that I bought this game after having played more recent assassins creed (Black Flag, which I absolutely love!)

First off, I have to mention the fact that the controls don't work well. This is my main complaint. You will fall off a lot of things, possibly to your death. In combat, I missed the part where it tells you how you can counter attacks or dodge. This is extremely frustrating because I die quickly.

Secondly, during missions it is unclear what to do or where to go & how to get there. I was hoping that using eagle vision would give hints as to where to go but so far nada. I'm the type of player that likes to collect all the little treasures and whatnots and It is time consuming trying to figure out what to do and how to get all the treasures, flags, etc. It is definitely clear that they were still working the most effective and user friendly gameplay options. I am ultimately disappointed, though perhaps I need to progress farther in the game to like it. This may simply be because i have played recent AC games and am used to the updated gameplay.

I have no complaints on the storyline although sometimes it is a little confusing and random.

So, in conclusion I'd probably recommend skipping this one and getting a more recent game because of the better controls. Black flag is a great option I just got Rogue so we'll see how that goes!
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 3, 2011
The Assassin's Creed story continues with this direct sequel to Assassin's Creed 2 (AC2). Again, you are placed in the role of Ezio. Instead of going from city to city in search of your targets, you remain within the city of Rome. Assassin's Creed Brotherhood adds some new elements and changes some things around a bit for yet another great game in the saga.

Story: The story of Assassin's Creed Brotherhood picks up directly following the events in AC2. Due to various events, Ezio finds his way to Rome and seeks to undermine the efforts of the delusional Cesare Borgia and his scheming family. As with the previous game in the franchise, the story here is deep and the characters memorable. Caterina Sforza also makes a reappearance, but isn't quite as vulgar as she was in AC2, which is a bit of a disappointment. The character Lucrezia Borgia is also introduced, and, although she is an antagonist, she is one of the most compelling and tragic characters in the game. It is not quite as long or as deep as AC2, but it is certainly better than most.

The visual style of Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is very similar to that of AC2, it is Italy and done within the same time period, after all. The difference here is that Rome is ancient, filled with ruins, so unpainted brick or marble is available for you to climb on. The stunning chapel climbing sequences are mostly gone, in favor of the ruins, so you rarely get to see the fine, ornate, detail that Renaissance Italy was known for, but certain areas are the city are beautiful to look at. As someone who enjoys the history of the Roman Empire, and yes Byzantium is included in that too, setting the story in Rome was a treat. As soundtracks go, this is also well done. Some of the tracks sound like they belong in the HBO series "Rome" and use vocals quite a bit.

Gameplay: Put simply, the gameplay in Assassin's Creed Brotherhood mostly mirrors that of AC2. There are several new additions that further refine the gameplay, making it even better, mostly, than the previous installments. If you enjoyed rebuilding and upgrading Monteriggioni in AC2, Rome has got you covered. You can open a number of shops to heal you, make weapons and armor, dye clothes, and paintings. There are other structures you open, like banks, landmarks, aqueducts, stables, a fast-travel tunnel system, and guild buildings. All of these provide gameplay benefits and net you cash every 20 minutes. Open every building, and you get a very useful cape. It would have been nice if, in renovating all structures in a given area, that area would become more noticeably better, but as it stands, the difference is very subtle.

In Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, there is also the new guild system. There are three main guilds, thieves, courtesans, and mercenaries, along with an additional assassin's guild you control directly. The three primary guilds give you side quests and a challenge board. Complete every challenge and the guild owner will give you a special item. Individual side quests open over time as you progress through the game. The assassin's guild is very interesting, you recruit assassin's from Rome's population to fight for your cause. These assassin's level up and can be sent out on missions or used to help you in a fight by providing backup or to rain arrows down on your enemies. Although the assassin's guild is fun, once they reach the maximum levels, there really isn't much for them to do except sending them out on the difficult "starred" assassin missions, which net not only florins but also rare items, or calling them into battle. You do not have access to your assassin's guild during certain gameplay sequences where they would be most useful, but you can use them fairly often.

The full synchronization concept is also introduced. In previous installments, you get a mission telling you to do something, it is then up to you to determine the best method to accomplish this. In Brotherhood, you still have that option, but if you accomplish the mission in a certain way, you synchronize more fully. As your overall synchronization meter fills, you gain special memories from earlier events. These memories are triggered at various benchmarks, such as 30% overall synchronization all the way up to 75%. Mercifully, the developers stopped at 75% knowing that not everyone has the patience to go much beyond that. Keep in mind that if you fail the full synchronization requirement, and the game will certainly let you know this, and decide to suicide yourself to back to the checkpoint prior to the event you failed, you will still have failed in the requirement. If you want to try it again, you have to restart the mission entirely from the beginning.

Everything starts at the Borgia towers which dot the landscape. These break Rome up into several zones, some of which are totally inaccessible for arbitrary reasons not connected to the story. To get new assassin recruits and access to buildings, you must dispatch the captain of the tower and then burn it to the ground. Each captain is given a star rating which is meaningless if you played any previous installment of Assassin's Creed. The rating is supposed to indicate difficulty, but, I was able to take down a five-star tower the moment it became available when Ezio first entered Rome without guild backup. Removing the towers removes a certain number guards or makes them weaker in that zone.

One of the most talked about additions to the franchise is the inclusion of multiplayer. There are several multiplayer game modes to choose from. Alliance is where the six players are split into three teams, all sent to hunt other teams. Team work is crucial in alliance. Man hunt is another mode, where two teams take turns being both the hunter and the hunted. Wanted is a mode where you are assigned targets, often other players, and you go assassinate them as solo agents. There is a spin-off to the wanted mode, and that is advanced wanted where gameplay is shifted forcing a more stealthy approach as the compass, which points you to your target, is reduced in effectiveness. Players can choose from a number of characters to play as, all of which are generic in appearance, allowing the players to blend in with crowds more easily, or even stand next to an identical non-playable character to throw off would-be assassins. The whole system is ranked up to level 50 with bonuses at each level, and you gain points for stealth on top of simply killing the target. This is used to discourage players from merely running around killing everything since the points gained just killing are relatively low compared to the bonuses given for actually being an assassin.

There are other minor tweaks to the gameplay. You now have shop quests which require you to scour fallen enemies and treasure chests for rare items that can be combined to make new equipment. There really is no real reason to get paintings or buy every piece of weapon and armor in the game since there are no completion benefits or trophies in doing this. The annoying flag mini-game makes a return, but with a twist. Some of the flags are hidden the Romulus lairs, which are similar to the assassin's seal quest that ultimately yielded the Armor of Altair in AC2. These lairs can be tricky to navigate, so it is likely you will miss one or two flags. Completing these lairs grants Ezio the Armor of Brutus and Dagger of Brutus, which are both the best armor and short weapon in the game, unique in many respects. The dagger is very useful, civilians and enemies sometimes cower and the animations using it draw upon how Brutus killed Cesar with vicious stabs, being both effective and brutal. Da Vinci also makes a return, giving you a parachute if you destroy the war machines he is contracted, forced, to build. These are fun mini-games allowing Ezio to take control of tanks, naval cannon's, and bomber aircraft. Brotherhood also introduces execution's. If Ezio counters or kills an enemy, he can follow through and cause a one hit kill on any nearby enemy, even brutes. The trick is to know which enemy is going to attack next and kill them before they hit you, stopping the execution. If you pull off the execution, you can follow it though to another enemy, and another, and another, without anything stopping you other than an enemy breaking your streak with a hit.

Misc.: Assassin's Creed 2 was considered my game of the year for 2009 and I believed Brotherhood would join it in 2010. Sadly, this was not the case for a few minor reasons. AC2 is a deep game with plenty of story elements to keep the player engaged for many hours. Brotherhood is similar, but not quite as deep, only going as far as nine memory segments. With few exceptions, the side missions assigned by the various guilds are very similar with little to add to the story, nor do they form small story arcs encouraging you to play them all. The rebuilding of Rome is also fun, for a while. You do gain discounts and new items in opening up shops, but, aside from this, nothing really changes all that much to the city. Hearing the populace talk about Ezio or the assassin's more, the buildings being cleaned up, or even flying the assassin's or the Auditore flag, similar to how they flew at Monteriggioni, would have been nice. This would give the feeling that the assassin's were tipping the balance in Rome.

The assassin's guild is also very useful and fun, but, Ezio's guild seems very separate from the game with none of the missions bleeding over into the main game. It would be nice had Ezio been given direct involvement in some of the missions, or if he could lead a team on special missions. As it stands now, the guild doesn't really have much impact on the story with the exception of a few memories. In fact, you could recruit people and not bother to use them at all in the game and not lose much. The guild of assassin's can be useful as backup or to rain arrows down on your enemies, but I found myself rarely needing them, especially after leveling them up, which is quite easy.

The main issue that kicked the game a few notches down on my "Game of 2010" list centers around multiplayer. I usually don't play multiplayer, it gets repetitive too quickly and there is nothing affecting the game's canon in it. Although there are a number of modes and character archetypes to try, it does get old. Moreover, unless you have several friends you can invite, you will be stuck with a least one person not acting stealthily, racing from rooftop to rooftop to get the next kill. It often seems as though many players are trying to take a multiplayer shooter strategy, which is get the most kills, and apply it to a unique multiplayer experience that discourages this type of gameplay. This makes multiplayer less fun since the whole point of being an assassin is to kill without being seen until the last possible moment. I would have liked a Demon's Souls multiplayer mode where you can bring in other gamers to help in some cases, or, have them hunt you down in the single player game should something go wrong in a mission. Instead of outright failing a mission if you are detected, a player could appear in the city and hunt you, even after you completed the main assassination. I would have found this type of multiplayer more compelling.

It should also be noted that this game has multiplayer trophies. You could squeeze every last bit out of the single player experience, even hunting down the irritating flags, and still not get the platinum trophy unless you invest almost as much time in multiplayer as you did in single player. As someone who often does not play multiplayer or find it enjoyable, this is a major let down. I probably would have gone back after finishing game to get the more difficult trophies had multiplayer trophies not been added, but since they were, why bother? For a mostly single player game in a single player franchise, these multiplayer trophies should have been removed in favor of bonuses in single player campaigns or just stripped entirely as a stand-alone feature granting UPlay points.

Overall, in the single player game, it is an improvement in terms of mechanics. Expanding the rebuilding game and adding in the assassin's guild was a fun addition, but it really doesn't do much to change the game. The full synchronization concept is interesting and there are rewards for doing it. Thankfully, the developers make it goal to get full sync, but set it up so unless the player actively ignores doing it, it is almost certain they will get the reward for completion. The war machines side missions are very fun and I would like to see more. The hecklers have also been toned down a bit and thief races are few. Overall, it is a great game and a worthy addition to the franchise, but, for me, it just wasn't as good as Assassin's Creed 2 if only by a tiny amount.
5 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on May 26, 2013
I've bought this Assassin's Creed title to add it to my collection of "best so far" for this series. I became a fan of the Assassin's Creed series after playing Assassin's Creed 2 which upped the ante on so many levels within the gaming experience from the first title and further tweaked it with Brotherhood. The series captivates with the awesome story line moving from Altair to Ezio Auditore...and the series grew they (Ubisoft) branched out into other assassins expanding the story line...through Desmond Miles who had a link to the assassin's and their lineage through the various historic periods in time.

Brotherhood refined a lot of the game play as a single assassin earlier on in the game and as the missions unfold you are introduced to other characters in the game that lend support throughout. It's like having a team player co-op within a single player environment and each of the characters bring their own style of moves and assassination.

Apart from Assassin's Creed 2 & Brotherhood I was recently gifted Assassin's Creed 3 (collection growing) which I haven't played as yet since I like to go through the story lines and game play before moving on to the next title and hopefully I complete these it in time for the new title "Black Flag". Based on these story lines so far I am anticipating "Black Flag" to bring an all new feel to the series...I mean who wouldn't want to be an Assassin/Pirate who participates in high sea battles and plundering across the scenic islands of the Caribbean and the rest of the world...whilst taking on the Templars :)
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 19, 2011
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood picks up exactly where AC: II left off. Ezio is back for another throat slicing, roof hopping, and horse riding adventure. This time Ezio explores the ancient and holy city of Rome. Don't worry about it being too small because it's only one city, it's huge!! It's easily as big as three Venices from AC: II. There are many new improvements and additions that give this game a different feel from its predecessor. The boldest and most interesting addition is the online multiplayer. AC: Brotherhood will be a game you won't forget.

Remember those faces from AC: II? Well they're back! Uncle Mario, Leonardo and Claudia are just a few ready to stand behind Ezio. There are also a few new ones, notably Cesare and Lucrezia Borgia. Voices and movements are great and the graphics got even better. I have heard about problems, like glitches but I downloaded an update before I started and I haven't noticed any major ones since.
One of Ezio's jobs is to renovate Rome. You buy landmarks, like the Coliseum, you buy stores, like blacksmith, tailor, and doctor, and you solve more of subject 16's puzzles. Remember the tombs from AC: II? Well now they have Lairs belonging to followers of Romulus. The objective and the way you go about it remain the same. If you complete all 6 lairs, you get Brutus's armor which is very strong like Altiair's'. Inside you will do a bunch of free running and climbing, sometimes against the clock, or you might have to fight some Romulus followers.

Flags, treasures and feathers are back! You can purchase maps for them and they will pop up on your mini-map. They not needed for the story, but if you want to get 100% sync and trophies you'll need them. Speaking of synchronization, for all missions now there will be a certain objective for you to do. If you don't do it you only get 50% sync on that mission. Some of the things they will want you to do are: complete in under 8 minutes, use hidden blade to kill target, don't be detected, or some variation of those. It can get frustrating at times, but you can always go into you DNA and replay any mission again later.

The fighting has changed the most. Remember in AC: II when you had to wait for your enemy to attack before you could perform a counter kill? Well now you're rewarded for striking first instead of waiting. You can perform what's called an execution streak, where you successfully kill a guard and then you can kill all the guards around you in one hit each if you can avoid taking damage. It is a skill that takes some time to learn, but once you pull it off and kill 10 guards before you can blink, you will become addicted to it. Travel has also changed; you can ride your horse through the city instead of just the country. There are also tunnels that you can renovate and then zoom around the city to other tunnel stations for free. Another new and notable feature is the assassin guild you now command. What you do is find people who are being attacked by the Borgia and you save them, then they are added to your guild, then you send them on missions to gain experience and make you money or you can call on them in battle. They will jump out and stab your target or shoot arrows. Once they reach level 10, they become an assassin where they are sworn in and they become very deadly. It's a helpful tool, since now you don't have to do all the work yourself.

The multiplayer is an interesting addition. You play as characters from the single player campaign (executioner, doctor, nobleman etc.). Your job in the multiplayer is to find and kill your target while at the same time avoid being killed yourself. Essentially you are the hunter and the hunted at the same time. You get more points for stealthy kills and less for not-so-stealthy ones. For example, if you killed your target from a hay cart or while blended in a crowd, you would get maybe 500-700 points. But if you were spotted by your target before you killed him, and had to chase him down and stab him, then you would only get maybe 100 points. See the difference? Points are added up after each match and bring you up to the next level. The higher the level you are the more equipment you have. For example you can get smoke bombs, the ability to morph into someone else for 15 seconds or a super sprint power.

The ending of AC: Brotherhood is very climatic, sort of like the AC: II ending. I can almost guarantee that they will make another sequel, probably with the good men Ezio and Desmond again. It will most likely be another extension like AC: Brotherhood was and not a new series. I wonder what they will do for AC: III?? Over all, if you liked the series, you'll like this.

"Nothing is true, everything is permitted."
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on January 31, 2011
To someone like me who did not play the prequels, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a solid 5-star game. The goal is for you to save Rome (Roma) from the Borgia forces with a lot of help from historical characters such as Machiavelli and under full control from `the future' - that would be the present-day you helping the `you in the past' re-enact the past... it's complicated but it's fun playing it. In order to do this you have an arsenal of weaponry that can range from a small blade to a tank that can clear out dozens of enemies. And, if you really want to know what's going on or rather what went on, there is a massive in-game database that holds a lot of information about the buildings and the places you see and the historical characters you interact with. But... yes, the plot.

You must find the location of the apple of Eden in modern time (present) and, of course, save the world but, in order to find this information you need to live the life of Ezio of the 13th century. There is this machine called the Animus which allows you to access the memories of your ancestors. If you are able to survive through part of his Ezio's life you will find the path to the item that was able to save Rome and will help you save the present day world. Of course, LOTS must die if the world is to be saved and, as a professional assassin, it's going to be you or your allies responsible for all that creative killing. But the cause just - saving the world and getting rid of those bad Borgia guys - and Machiavelli makes it clear that achieving a good goal justifies any means. Well... you better believe that if you want to feel good about whatever it is that you are doing in the game :)

You are assigned very specific missions but while playing you can do whatever you choose to in-between missions. While playing, you can choose to engage multiple enemies at once that can give you the feeling of split second action scenarios - a rush that not many games can compete with and, remember, it's all done for a good cause. Not only is the fighting well made, the climbing also has a very nice feel to it. In the beginning of the game climbing may cause little thought at all, but as you progress you are forced to keep your mind open and look for those hand and foot holds that are keeping you from falling to your death. Creativity is a key part of the game and it will stretch to its limits if you are to play the game well.

Sometimes when you get bored of playing on the campaign you can play with your friends on multiplayer and compete in a variety of game modes that usually involve you assassinating other people or you avoiding it. Some of the multiplayer game modes are cooperative and slow, while others are a free for all and can lead to fierce competition and last-second wins. If you really want to test your reaction time, and mental skills, multiplayer is the place to do it.

`Brotherhood' comes with a remarkably good if not morally compelling story line and I appreciated the huge amount of historical information that can be accessed at any time in the story mode and helps placing everything within its historical context. And those who don't necessarily agree with the Machiavellic views on morality (I don't) may still enjoy a very-well made game when it comes with combat and tactics and graphically stunning even for a PS3. While not a particularly long game in the story mode, you should be able to spend many more exciting, fun-filled extra hours in the multiplayer universe.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on July 2, 2011
From my video game review blog: [...]
Ezio Auditore di Firenze is back for his second adventure, and the third Assassin's Creed game from Ubisoft. While his mission was complete in his mind at the end of Assassin's Creed II, a few of his confidantes didn't think so. The additon of a few new Borgia members, most notably Cesare, become the main villians. I actually purchased this game first, before the first two games in the series, but waited a few months to try out the single player as I had never played an Assassin's Creed game before. It always seemed so daunting and seemed like there were too many actions to perform and not enough buttons and the game too vast. Once I got the hang of the multiplayer, I gave the single player a try.

After debating a while, even though I had heard you didn't need to play the previous iterations, I purchased and completed the first two games, aptly titled: Assassin's Creed and Assassin's Creed II. I'm really glad I did, as it added more to the whole experience of Brotherhood through some inside jokes and older characters returning. I would recommend at least playing ACII, before Brotherhood.

I was a big Altair fan from the beginning, so I was a bit disappointed when Ezio was introduced. In fact, even after completing Assassin's Creed II (platinum trophy!) he still hadn't won me over. So when I popped in my Brotherhood disc, I was expecting to be a little disappointed. Needless to say, Ezio really won me over with this game (the Assasssin's Creed: Revelations E3 trailer helped a bit too).

Gameplay
After being dropped in a battle scene where you need to just press buttons, Brotherhood opens with you replaying the final moments from Assassin's Creed II, in which Ezio must escape with his Uncle Mario. The game quickly returns to Monteriggioni, which had changed a bit, however, with a few simple memories to make sure you still remember how to control Ezio, the main game begins. The quaint town is quickly under attack, so Ezio and friends need to escape.

After a brief interlude with Desmond, Lucy and the 2012 crew, the game, then turns its sights to Rome. After AC II, with all of the different towns to visit, I was a bit surprised to see Brotherhood only featuring one city. This is definitely the Liberty City version of Rome, which seems absolutely huge (makes Florence seem like Forli). Within Rome, however, there are nicer parts, poorer parts, and even countryside settings, which reminded me of the original Assassin's Creed game, with the variations.

The missions are what you'd expect, however I loved the variety in Brotherhood. It wasn't all about the killing. Two words sum up why this game is the best in the series: Full Synchronization. Someone not as enamored with the AC series could still enjoy this game, but potential "couch assassin's" get so much more out of it. Each mission could be completed how the user preferred and still progress through the story, but those who take their games seriously could opt to carry out the mission the way Ezio would, and achieve Memory Full Synchronization. This could mean do the mission in a certain time limit, use a particular weapon, don't be detected, don't use the roof, don't kill anyone, etc. The first time I only achieved 50% synchronization on a memory sequence, I immediately paused and restarted the mission, sometimes multiple times (you know who you are "Hell on Wheels").

This game is loaded with optional side missions, as well. There are still the Tomb Raideresque missions (this time called Follower's of Romulus Lairs - which are worth it for the bonus after they are all completed), the search for Subject 16's video, feathers to collect (only 10 this time), Borgia flags (101, but you can purchase maps), the usual contracts (Assassination, Courtesan, Thieves), Guild Challenges (Assassination, Courtesan, Thieves), and the capturing of Borgia Towers under command from a Borgia leader (Some fight, others run and hide, leaving you to wait until a guard shift change to challenge them again) . The addition of the crossbow, throwing multiple knives at a time, Leonardo missions (where you try out some of his inventions - Renaissance tanks!), and horseback riding as it should be, make things even more interesting and enjoyable.

But, what would the game be without a Brotherhood of assassins? For every Borgia Tower toppled, you can recruit one assassin (male or female, even). These can then be trained (by being sent on missions in other places) and upgraded with better armor and weapons until they reach the ultimate ranking of assassin. When the assassins are needed, they can be called upon to help you battle forces or dispose of foes without you being spotted or bothered. They also have a power called arrow storm, which releases a flurry of arrows out of nowhere into multiple targets in your vicinity. While the training of recruits was quite basic, as you had to pick proper missions to send them, resulting in experience points and subsequent leveling up, they certainly come in handy.

The story progresses nicely, with even a few surprises thrown in. Ezio is one determined dude, but you do get to see a softer side of him as he matures, especially when it's not all about the assassinations. Where it does seem to lag, is unfortunately in the 2012 sections. The interactions between Desmond and Lucy seemed forced, while Shaun is even more irritating than before. Plus, guiding Desmond around, seems to lack much of the fluidity that Ezio posesses. At least those sections are few and far between. Yes, I did achieve 100% Synchronization in all missions, including every side mission, and often liked just roaming around finding treasures, flags, etc, so that my 55 hours invested in the game, really felt like around half of that.

The fact that this game finally has multiplayer, has to be mentioned. The fact that it is actually very good definitely deserves higher praise. Multiplayer in Brotherhood is a totally different experience than I'm used to. There are a variety of modes, some where you're on your own (Wanted), and some where you're part of a small team (Alliance, Manhunt). Anyone looking for a run and stab kind of game should look elsewhere. The mulitplayer modes do a great job of mirroring the single player experience, but kicked up a few notches. It's all about blending in and sneaking around. In Wanted, you're searching for your target, but are also being targeted by one or more of your opponents. The more obscure your kill, the more points you'll get. This is a game where you need to sit up and concentrate!

In Manhunt, for example, for one round, you and your teammates are the hunters, but in the next round become the hunted. Any mode I've played definitely gets the blood pumping. It does have to be noted that actually getting into a multiplayer game can be tortuous. Sometimes it connects with the correct amount of users and the game starts right up, but more often than not, you are waiting 15-20 minutes before you get a full group of 6 or 8. Extremely frustrating, to say the least. It's tough going at the beginning being lower leveled, but once you get to level 29 (poison is now an option), I would think things pick up (I'm currently at level 25).

Graphics
The cities are quite detailed, but often a little repetitive. If you don't mind that kind of thing (I didn't), you'll be fine. I did like the differences in regions, from the buildings, to the clothes the people wore. There is, however, quite a bit of pop-up when on a horse. I didn't notice it so much at the beginning of the game, but later on when I was trying to avoid certain groups of troops, all of a sudden a guy would pop in on top of a building's roof. I'm not really a huge graphics person and I was so immersed in the story, that it wasn't a game killer.

Sound
The city is vibrant with sound, ranging from people getting annoyed that you ran into them, to those mystified by your agile grace, and the return engagement of those annoying minstrels (which I just tackled this time around). Also, the score does pick up, especially in tense moments, with the correct mood music.

Replay Value
There is A TON to do in this game, especially if you'd like FULL SYNCHRONIZATION on all missions, and the additional sidequests. I'd say a quick run through might take around 15 hours, and going for everything around 30-40 hours (or my 55 hours). Quite a lot, I think. Ubisoft could have just put out a filler game for half of that. The multiplayer adds infinite replay, in my opinion. That is when you get connected.

RATING:
9

As enjoyable a game as I've come across, although I am an AC fanboy. Definitely the best in the series to date.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 2, 2012
This is such an awesome game...an overall amazing series of games at that! This and Assassin's Creed II are amazing games! I have very much enjoyed the awesome gameplay and open worldness of these 2 games. There is so much to explore, especially as more area opens up as you go along...and there is plenty of little side quests and items to find throughout the environment to keep you plenty busy as you play along. Plus, like II, after you have beaten the story, you can continue to play to try and find everything you missed and play all the side quests you didn't get around to. I like the addition of recruiting fighters to build them up as assassins to join the guild. There is an even greater variety of weapons you can use throughout this game, and a new assortment of fun little gadgets and other stuff to make hunting enemies and exploring more enjoyable. There are so many great weapons to chose from for melee fighting, but I think my favorite was this one particular mace that you can by later on...I call it Ezio's bashing stick. There was some pretty brutal counter kills that could be done with that weapon...loved it! Haha! I enjoyed the storyline...continuing on with the story of Ezio, and at times I was very immersed in it. Just ask my wife, haha.

My only little gripe about this game was that, like II, it had a tendancy to glitch out just a little bit every now & then. As an example, sometimes when I would be running along a rooftop chasing someone and trying to catch them, Ezio would occasionally jump a completely different way than I was running or he would not grab ahold of a ledge when prompted. There are other examples of this, but that is just an example. However, these little glitches weren't consistent, and I could in no way bring myself to mark this game down any for that because overall it's just simply an amazing game! I highly recommend this series to any gamer out there who loves a good open world action adventure game like I do...it's simply awesome. I look forward to getting into Revelations, which is one of the next games in my collection that I have to play! So awesome!
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 31, 2012
Excellent product, very good seller, my order arrived within the stipulated time, recommend to all, five stars seller, I am satisfied with my purchase since buying amazon has always been a pleasant experience. Once you have the product in your hands you can not think of anything else other than you made an excellent choice to disburse money to acquire it. The seller will behave responsibly and comply with the details and shipping details. All Perfect, All good, all amazing.

Excelente producto, muy buen vendedor, mi pedido llegó en el tiempo estipulado, lo recomiendo a todos, cinco estrellas al vendedor, estoy satisfecho con mi compra ya que comprar en amazon siempre ha sido una experiencia agradable. Una vez tienes el producto en tus manos no puedes pensar en otra cosa que no sea que hiciste una excelente elección al desembolsar dinero por adquirirlo. El vendedor se comporto responsable y cumplió con los detalles del producto y los detalles del envío. All Perfect, All good, all amazing.
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 26, 2011
Second time ever that I bought a game the day it came out(first time was probably a WWF game for the PS1 several years ago...those days are over)...anyway, this is the first time ever that I pre-ordered a game----that is how excited i was about this game.
I loved the second one, but this one didn't grasp me as much, even though it is pretty much the same thing. Game play is fantastic, graphics are amazing -i hope the creators of this make more history style games AND add modern theme for new games, it was very well done.

The reason it gets a 4/5 is because the story mode was very short...took me 10 hours, also the story was interesting but confusing. i will definitely buy the next installment, but will probably wait until it gets into a lower price range or get it used. multiplayer is really fun, and that coming from a guy that is more interested in story mode/single player type of games.
One person found this helpful
|22 comments|Report abuse
on July 10, 2012
So far I have been doing a lot of the little side missions and the history side of this game is really an enjoyable part. I know after playing the first 2 of this game that I wanted to see how the story would progress and it is an interesting story that keeps you engaged which is really important in any good game. I would say pick it up and just have a lot of fun.

Edit: I finished the game and while the initial review still holds true in many aspects I have to say the main story was not as compelling after I got further into the game. I mean it started off well with a good character motivation but that motivation kind of went away in large part by the middle of the game. I might give ACIII a try but will wait and see if it can live up to the 2 game because this one in the long run did not live up to it predecessor.
|0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here