Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Plastic Window Kit for Whynter Portable Air Conditioner Model ARC-14S (ARC-WK-14SP)
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 29, 2014
I have a larger than normal sliding window and was told by Whynter that I would need this to extend the existing window kit. I only needed an additional 7 inches and ended up using a chunk of the cardboard that came with the AC unit and duct tape. Returned this item as I didn't need it after all​.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
Does not come with the mounts to hook up the exhaust and intake tubes to the A/C.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
This item works as advertised, and was simple to install - just used "official" duct tape around it to keep outside air and noise from coming in. My only complaint is the price. Kind of expensive for a pretty simple piece of plastic, and it could be thicker to add insulation value.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
This product is so poorly engineered and made, there is not way you can use it as is. When you slide pieces apart to fit into window, to keep length of 2 plastic strips as you want it, you use a screw that puts pressure on second piece of plastic, creating a gap in the window kit that will let hot air in, so you have to use all these foam pieces to seal it shut. And the 2 holes are so close together, that the hot exhaust naturally gets sucked into the intake air hole, making this unit incredibly inefficient. Ended up fabbing my own piece that is actually sturdy, without a bunch of air leaks.

When I called customer service, they could care less, told me its the same as any competitors products, so its good enough! Horrible attitude.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2014
I had to spend money on this and I shouldn't have had to.

Wider windows beware.

The unit ships with one long sliding extension to allow it to fit various window widths, and one short one. I have a wide window - just a few inches too wide for the sliders included with the unit.

IF they had included TWO longs and one short, it would have saved me time and trouble - and like $35.00!

Not a huge deal for Whynter, not too expensive so it would trash their profit margin. Thoughtless.

Customer service seemed bored and barely helpful. As if I should have known all along.

It works well enough to earn 5 stars, but I'm giving it 3 stars because of the hassle.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
Unit seems to be working OK but very poor quality materials, window kit has the worth design where it is pretty much useless if you have larger windows. It also leaks air if extensions are used. Customer support is useless. Would not recommend this unit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
In the description it states that it is extendable to 46 Inches. It is extendable to a max 36 inches.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
Met expectations. Made from quality material. Fittings and sizes of holes were correct for their functions. One improvement could be the use of a higher quality screw and even to the point of stainless steel (for increased prices to cover cost) so that moisture and humidity do not result in rust over time. Also, the instructions are not well written and the direction the "face" is supposed to be positioned is unclear - curl out vs curl in, etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2015
Didn't fit the window very well to many gaps the way it made
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
I guess it's fine - I had to return it since it didn't fit my window, wish the description had been clearer about "all" window sizes that it fits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse