Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on October 28, 2015
The book is mostly well written. The author does a good job of providing insight in to the person of Sam Phillips; his passion for relatively unappreciated grass roots talent, as well as his drive to discover the illusive “new sound” that would be the next “big hit”. He had a much more personal approach to running his tiny record company, creating a virtual incubator for innovation. This enabled him to capture the sounds that made Sun a legend in a field dominated by the contrivances of mainstream corporations with deep pockets, but narrow perspectives.

At times the timeline gets confusing as the author structured the book in a way that compartmentalizes the story into chapters about specific artists. I also found what appeared to be some minor typeset and grammatical errors.

The reason for my 4 stars was because this book was a blast read; mainly because I had such a good time using YouTube and Wikipedia to track down some of the original recordings and artists that were featured in the book. Using modern online resources provided the perfect background to the Sun story. I even discovered a new appreciation for some vintage artists that I hadn’t even heard of before such as Joe Hill Louis. I also discovered some more modern recordings that are available on CD such as the 1986 recording of “Blue Suede Shoes: A Rockabilly Session” with Carl Perkins backed up by Eric Clapton, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr. Thus, the real value of this book is in the fun you can have in rediscovering the wonderful texture of a bygone era, and the start of a musical revolution.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
Very satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
This is a great book! It tells the story of Sam Phillips and all of the talented musicians he worked with. A good book if you're interested in the birth of rock and roll and the amazing Sun Records. Next thing I knew, I was buying the music of many he took to stardom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
A detailed and informative account of Sam Philips and the Rise & Fall of Sun Records. The focus is limited to their time at Sun Records, with some discussion of their Sun Records career, and so those seeking a full history of Elvis, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison and others will have to look elsewhere. Many of the artists discussed are unfamiliar to me, but there's enough about them to warrant further exploration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
Nicely done, well documented, a real nice record of the story of Sun. Little interesting stories are scattered throughout, and when you read this you will be amazed at the sheer volume and diversity of the music Sam Phillips put out to create a niche in popular music. I recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Engaging, telling the story of how Sam Phillips' vision and hard work slowly earned him success, each step of the way. Lot's of great stories and not bogged down in statistics or superfluous background information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2013
THIS IS A GREAT BOOK. LOYS OF INFORMATION ON THAT KIND OF MUSIC AND THE RECORD LABEL THAT HELPED PROMOTE IT. I WILL RECOMEND THID BOOK TO ANY MUSIC LOVER AND/OR FAN OF ROCK AND ROLL, ROCKABILLY, AND BLUES.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
Excellent book about where Rock and Roll started. Couldn't put it down until I finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Very informative and well compiled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
The birth of the country rock music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here