Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Big & Rich Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,662 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,524 reviews
on January 5, 2017
I can't resist a Coen brothers movie and this one is a masterpiece of technique. It contains little dialogue in the first hour yet builds a powerful narrative. The setting is Texas in the late 1970s when drug running across the border was bigger and bloodier business than it is today. Josh Brolin plays a down and out former Vietnam veteran who stumbles upon a drug deal gone bad and makes off with a lot of money. The bad guys send a mercenary played by Javier Bardem to recover their funds. Tommy Lee Jones plays an aging sheriff unsettled by the new reality of the drug running culture, hence the title.

It was an excellent movie, but be forewarned: it is a dark story with an unsatisfying ending. It was nominated for several Academy Awards. The source material is from a novel by Cormac McCarthy, whose work is dark and dystopian. I've not read this or any of the author's books. If you are a Coen brothers fan, this one is not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
Hate to admit it, but I've seen this film at least four times, and I rate it in my top five ever. It is BRUTAL and not a light ,cheery movie. It is super dark and , t times, hard to fathom-- Just ask Tommy Lee Jones' character as the sheriff-- this is a new breed of bad guy and the violence just keeps coming. Really fine acting by Jones, Brolin, Harrelson, and especially Javier Bardam!!

Bardam's character, the hit man Anton Shugarh , has a set of ethics that strangely makes some sense in a very perverted way-- hence, he often flips the coin and "allows" the intended target to 'call it'. He kills a BUNCH of people and wants to fulfill his mission no matter what.

This is a hard movie for some to watch, especially if one wants the happy ending-- but, it's honest and real. Great writing , wonderful acting and a killer plot--in more ways than one!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
This is one of my favorite films,all the actors due a great job. Tom Lee Jones is from Texas so has just the right accent and attitude. The dusty wide open spaces lent a lot to the film. Xavier Badiem is fantastic in the "villan" role. Josh Brolin is very convincing and I am wonder struck by the acting of the actress(McDonald) who plays his wife,a Scotish or English girl who does a realistic Texas drawl accent ! The many supporting actors are very convincing. The setting lends much to the film and of course the cinematography . I read the Novel and the addition of the voice over narrative in the film adds alot. Another great wild and weird one one by the Cohen Brothers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
Broadly, the film depicts the once peaceful, wide-open spaces of the American south west, now co-opted by violent drug dealers for their own insidious purposes and how modern-day law-enforcement has had to uncomfortably adjust. Long-time sheriff Ed Tom Bell, understanding the vicissitude of crime, reminisces fondly of the days when it was practically optional for a peace officer to even carry a gun.

The films main characters play a part in the recent criminal zeitgeist in the south west and are emblematic of: the current state of law enforcement, random drug violence, and your average citizens blinded by easy money. The story centers around Llewelyn Moss, a goodhearted resident who stumbles across a drug deal gone wrong and a large sum of money while hunting near the Rio Grande river. In a momentary lapse of impulsive greed, he takes the cash home with him. However, on a whim, returns to the gruesome scene to bring a dying man some water and is spotted by the ruthless thugs back to reclaim their money. He barely escapes but is now pursued by Anton Chigurh, a cunning, violent force of nature dedicated to his principles of murder. sheriff Ed Tom Bell, familiar with the stalkers steadfast brutality, tries in vain to convince the prideful Moss to turn himself in, even appealing to his girlfriend for help, as he follows Chigurh's bloody killing spree.

It's an excellent depiction of a broad-category condensed into a pretty basic story. I haven't seen it yet, but I've heard amazing things about the how the desert scenery and even the gore and wounds look in HD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
No Country for Old Men is as exceptional a mix of two creative talents- the Coen brothers, Joel and Ethan Coen, and author Cormac McCarthy (recent winner of the Pulitzer for The Road, his own masterpiece) as one could imagine, as they converge on a story that in lessor hands would be just a B movie. The story concerns an average Joe out hunting one day in Texas who comes across a bunch of dead bodies, heroin, and a satchel with 2 million in cash. He takes it, but without knowing that a true embodiment of a psychopath (Javier Bardem) is on his trail, and as he evades him it becomes more and more clear the fatalism that lies in store, as a weathered sheriff (Tommy Lee Jones) is also on the trail with perpetulally sad eyes looking on from his stolid demeanor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
One of my 10 all time favorite movies. Anton Chigurh doesn't have a sense of humor? I think he does.
If you find two million in cash and you manage to make it home... never, NEVER return to the scene where you found it.
Trust me on this one. Oh, and check the cash for transponders while you're at it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
Typical quirky Cohen brothers (directors) film, a definite conversation piece. Great drama, suspense and twists and turns. Kinda bloody/violent. Great setup and a thought provoker ... what if I found that suitcase??? Watch it and you'll grimace at the madness of the lead character, Javier. Also Josh Brolin and Tommy Lee .. great acting. If you want a trilogy watch this film, then Fargo (1994) and then Blood Simple (1986) and you'll get a glimpse of the rise of Nicholas Cage and many others actors from that 1986 film. No Country won Best Film at the Academy, if I recall ... and for good reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
as you may have guessed from its critical acclaim and multiple Awards, this is a really great movie. Like most Cohen bros. films, it deserves a second watch to pick up on all the cinematography and subtleties that you may have missed before. I definitely put this in the top Cohen films along with Fargo, Big Lebowski, and Raising Arizona (in my opinion)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
One of my favorite movies of all time. It would be difficult to say anything that hasn't already been said about this movie, but Javier Bardem is absolutely amazing in this movie. His portrayal of the maniacal villain is what makes this movie as great as it is. Tommy Lee Jones adds some good humor to the movie, and Josh Brolin is very good as well. My only regret is that I didn't have a blu-ray player when this movie came out, so I ended up with the dvd version. This is one of the few movies I would be willing to purchase again, simply to have on blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2016
This is as good as movies get. Bardem personifies the random badness of life and Jones the feeling of a good man "overmatched" by it. Josh Brolin is also great as a bystander who thinks he's in control of the situation. Beautiful, bleak shots of empty land. There is a lot of violence in the movie, much of it shocking even when you know it is coming: the Coens have the courage to show it without varnish. Think about the major movies you've seen in the past ten years. How many show violence for what it is: brutal, meaningless, destructive? It is one of my favorite Coen movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse