Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 48 reviews
on October 4, 2015
I had to return this cell after eight months because I kept hearing a sparking noise (not the regular, annoying “popping” sound). I also smelled smoke (no one in my household smokes). Oreck said that one of the wires could be loose. The unit was completely dry (I let it sit out in the open for two days).

I think it's extremely hard to keep these cells clean. I purchased this "eight month cell" to replace my previous Truman cell. I was experiencing the same issues with the previous cell. Oreck claims that all you have to do is wash the cell off in water. That works for a bit, but you have
to start using oven cleaner or their spray to get the thing clean (oven cleaner smells worse than their spray and seems to eat away at the metal finish. Oreck recommended I try oven cleaner when their spray was not working). I question why Oreck sells a spray when all they claim you need to do is wash the cell off in water to keep it clean. Money, perhaps? Eventually, even oven cleaner doesn’t work.

Just a word to the wise: David Oreck sold his interests in the Oreck company in the 1990s, but is still the company spokesman. Oreck filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy, and is now owned by TTI, which is a division of a Chinese company. They claim that the Truman cell never needs to be
replaced. Yeah, right! If that is true, why do they sell replacement cells on Oreck.com? Oh: I know! $$$!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Have had these air cleaners for a long time. The old ones were left outside to dry. The long plastic spacers eventually warped (all 8 of them). Time to get new ones. They work great! Just needed a minor snip on the either side to enable it to fit into the slot. Working like a charm. And quieter too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
Unfortunately the Truman cells don't seem to last as long as they are advertised to. For me it was an absolutely necessary purchase.
On the other hand, for $20-$30 more you can get a Oreck factory Refurbished Proshield unit, that seems like a better way to go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
Great to have a spare on hand. When one gets dirty & needs to be clean, just pop in the clean extra to always keep your Oreck air purifier working. You don't have to wait for the dirty cell to be cleaned, then totally dried before you can purify your air again. I've read that using vinegar and water to clean the cell works really good and it's amazing how well he cleans the cells plus it a much better price then the Oreck spray cell cleaner
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Well it finally got here after being reshipped from the USA to the Philippines.
Too big, not for the desk-top. for a Cell-Pro Series.
Cost more to return it than its worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
worked perfectly and fit well also
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
Works like a charm! If you plug the machine in and it doesn't work after pushing the "test" and "reset" buttons, take the cell out and put it back in. The Oreck machines are very picky about how the Truman cells fit in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
My old cell arced and made a lot of noise. The strap had broken off making it difficult to extract. The new cell was a perfect fit and the air cleaner is working almost silently again. I had tried to get this part from Oreck for over a year but it was never in stock. (disappointing) I am very pleased with the purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
A must have back up Truman cell for the original XL Pro series and the newer XL Pro series model. This Oreck Truman Cell-Pro is the exact design from the very first original XL Pro series from the infomercial. There is a "newer" model XL Pro series that has a few new features compared to the original XL Pro, but both use that same Oreck Truman Cell cartage. The difference I believe from the two is that the 1st series XL Pro has a stronger UV light to zap mold, pollen, bacteria, and viruses whereas the newer model you don't see the UV light, but its stated that there is an internal UV light with an Ion thing that will make the dust fall to the ground. I have both and they operate different, both have their pros and cons but they use the same Truman cell. The newer XL version seems to lessen the dust allergies better compared to the original but the original is a better build with a stronger UV light to zap and destroy pathogens in the air; both are good in their own right. All accessories that are labeled XL Pro besides the Truman cell can not be used by the original infomercial model, everything that is labeled XL Pro can be used on the "newer" XL Pro models.

The original family based Oreck went bankrupt and had sold their property ownership to the current holder/seller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
I got mine sooner then said and once I opened it i did have to cut the handle to make it fit perfect but other than that works just as sood as OEM
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse