Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$38.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 420 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 539 reviews
on December 23, 2016
Amazing game, absolutely stunning graphics, fantastic cars!!! I can't say enough about this amazing game. Hands down, the most fun open world, free roam racing game. Period. Countless vehicle customization options, hundreds of vehicles to choose from, hundreds of races to attend. They captured the scenery of the Rocky Mountains in Colorado in terrific detail, and there's terrain for every type of driver! My favorite thing is to go up in the canyon with my buddies on multiplayer and have drifting competitions, screaming down the winding roads. Car handling is perfect in this game, once you learn the sensitivity it's amazing. It's not too easy that it gets boring, but it's also easy enough that you can really enjoy yourself doing things you could never do in reality (drifting down insane corners doing 120 in an Mustang, topping out your Koenigsegg at 243 mph on the interstate, or taking an AWD lambo and doing pin-point donuts until the road is a sold black streak of burnt rubber)!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
I've played Forza 2-4 as well as other racing games and for my taste this has everything I'm looking for (open-driving, track racing, rally, licensed cars & the perfect ratio of realistic physics vs. arcade-style forgiveness). Maybe I'm crazy, but I even enjoy speeding around the game just for the fun of it.

It's really easy to earn money and new vehicles. If you adjust the difficulty you can make some of the races pretty challenging, but imo they've done a great job of balancing it all. You can also modify the performance of the cars, although there aren't a ton of options for changing the looks (doesn't bother me).

It's nice you can switch between the music selection. It's somewhat varied, but before long you might find yourself getting sick of the same tunes.

I think this game deserves 5 stars more so than 4, but obviously I'm not saying it's perfect. I'm disappointed the DLC is so expensive, but luckily the variety of in-game vehicles is enough to satisfy most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
Let's just get this out of the way: If you're expecting this to be Forza Motorsport 5, you're going to have a bad time.

Turn 10 and Playground Games have created a fantastic hybrid of the great physics engine from the Forza Motorsport series and a fun, arcadey open-world racing game. Yes, the car physics are a little "dampened", but Horizon isn't meant to be a balls-to-the-wall simulator. Horizon is a game nearly anyone can enjoy. Fun racing, an open world modeled after the great and varied beauty of Colorado, and the vehicle customization and performance tuning we have come to expect from the fine folks at Turn 10.

My only legitimate gripe about Horizon is that the car roster is a bit underwhelming. This is, after all, a Forza game -- I was definitely expecting way more cars, and once again, the glaring omission of Porsche's lineup hurts a little. I paid for the Porsche pack in Forza 4, but I'm not sure I would pay again in Horizon. If it takes them as long to release a Porsche pack for Horizon as it did for FM4 (if they even do at all), I'll be pretty much finished with the game by then, and not really interested in adding content that won't extend the game.

Barring my complaint about car selection and Porsche, Horizon is a ton of fun to play. I really enjoy the day/night cycle, and the "real" traffic cars. The racing is fun and fast, and it's definitely a game I can just play a couple of hours here and there, and not take too seriously.

4 / 5, would recommend.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
If you're looking for a fun, enjoyable game with all the Forza tech under the hood, this game is for you!
This game comes with a modest amount of cars (A fraction of the amount featured in Forza 4), but this can be supplemented by the Monthly DLC packs wich cost about 5 dollars each and come with about 5 cars (Although a car from each DLC is free, for people like me who dont have the money for such ventures.) There are two Add-Ons, the Rally expansion pack, which costs 1600ms points, and the 1000 club, which is free. The rally expansion adds five cars -- all of which have close ties to rally racing. There's the 1992 Toyota GT-4 Celica, the 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII MR, the 2005 Subaru Impreza WRX STi, 1992 Ford Escort RS Cosworth, and 1982 Lancia 037 Stradale. The Expansion also adds 25 new rally stages, and a multitude of rally races on these stages. The 1000 Club DLC adds 4 or more challenges for every car, including DLC, aswell as 2 new cars, the 1995 RUF CTR2, and the 1956 ford F100 (Yes, I said 1956, Ford, F, 100!). The Game is set during the fictional 2012 Horizon Festival in the (Also Fictional) County of Horizon, Colorado. you work though the ranks by winning festival races (which gain you points) and beating the stars of each level when you gain enough points to challenge them. Overall, a good 70+ hours of core racing gameplay!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
Awesome game. Really fun to play,but it throws DLC in your face every chance it gets.
Upgrading your car: "Oh that's a nice part!" *click* "Purchase Bullcrap DLC #24 to access this part."
Buying cars: "That's a sick car!" *click* "Purchase February DLC car pack to buy this car."
Every Loading Screen: "Purchase Horizon Rally pack so you can actually play this game how it was meant to be played!"
DLC is awesome, but not in the way this game implemented it. 50% of the cars and 10% of the parts show up on all of your screens, but you have to pay to use them! Having paid for the game already, I am sorely disappointed to see that a large part of the game's content is DLC and must be purchased separately.
Beyond the demand for you to purchase the DLC on top of the game to enjoy the game, it's a truly fantastic driving experience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
Yup. Bought it, beat it, sold it, and found myself wanting to play again.
Really excellent portrayal of a fictional Colorado and surrounding Southwest. I found myself seeing stretches of I-70, I-25, US 285, Garden of the Gods, Idaho Springs, Pueblo, Longmont, San Luis Valley, Durango, etc.

The art based on the location is nice and welcoming, but the feel of driving fast, open roads with traffic at dawn, sunset, at night, sometimes part of a race, sometimes a challenge, and sometimes just seeing what there is to see and be found--it's unique among games. Semi-reminiscent of Burnout Paradise, but the actual immersive feel and fun is more akin to Red Dead Redemption (one of this game's influences) or Sleeping Dogs.

I would say this is the videogame equivalent to Vanishing Point, with a dash of Cannonball Run, and a touch of On the Road. It's open, free, and captures the feel of the West all while letting you race and do silly things.

The multiplayer piece is nice too--sort of a cross between Project Gotham and Dirt. Enough fun in that to keep you coming back and challenging your friends and enemies.

Beware though: I was disappointed in a controller with very few layouts (I think only 4) and can't receive custom mapping. Your ride can't be customized either--no gearing, no brake adjustment, ride height, just nothing except performance upgrades. In that it sets itself apart from the core Forza series.

But if you want a racer that's more about huge drifts and spinning tires than clipping apexes, then you'll probably enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
I was never big into the Forza series, but when I heard about this open world version, I just had to give it a try. I really enjoy a lot of the concepts with this game. You have a wide open area to traverse that is absolutely beautiful and you have a lot of activities to keep you busy and earn upgrades/cash for vehicles. The soundtrack is great and the car selection is also very nice. I don't like how some of the items are modeled like a pay2win or free to play model after purchasing the game, but in the end they aren't necessary.

I also like how the community items are implemented and you can see some of the things your friends are doing. A pretty solid driving game that isn't just about courses but more about exploration. The presentation is quite nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
This game is an experiment I believe. It's not a pure racer like past Forza titles but not a purely open world street racer, a la Need For Speed Most Wanted, Burnout Paradise or Test Drive: Unlimited either. Instead, what we get is a hybrid effort, think of it as the love child between NFS: Most Wanted (2012) and Forza 4.

Unfortunately that leaves us... somewhere in between. It's not quite deserving of 4 stars somewhere past 3 and a half as well.

It certainly can look like Forza 4, the race line is there, the cockpits are there, the visuals are excellent, but it plays like NFS:MW - without cops. And that's bad.

You'll drift like NFS, you'll survive head-on collisions at 130 MPH; someone will talk to you in a bluetoothy sounding voice as you do things that would kill everyone on the road including you. But it's never quite as ridiculous as Most Wanted, and that's good.

Well, good to an extent. There's some charm to the ridiculous.

Anyway. The point of the game is that you're in an open world that you can explore as long as you stay on the road, and you enter into the "Horizon Festival" in Colorado. Of course, this is all fictional, even the Colorado part. Fortunately, the cars are real enough and there are some great one to be had here. Everywhere you go you will be greeted by the excessive. It's like everyone who plays Call of Duty in collage has the month off and all made it down to this massive, state wide party. There's concert stages in the background, nightly fireworks and though there are never any beer can's on the ground, the whole thing reeks of the "dude, bro" lifestyle.

There are plenty of different race types to try and keep things interesting and a lot of hidden items to find, but it never really keeps itself from getting stale - but that's fairly common with most racers. Granted, they do try hard; you'll find yourself in challenges against hot air balloons, biplanes, WWII fighter planes and helicopters - which is a neat ideal and works decently, though I never have figured out how they determine who wins those races. It is exciting though, so there's that.

The Rally expansion is an excellent addition and does a lot to refresh the game. If you like RallySport Challenge you'll want to pick up that DLC.

The soundtrack, by the way, is touted as some big deal but I will tell you this - I think it's pure rubbish and after several tries to just get used to it, finally turned it off completely.

So should you buy this game? Well, if you like racers, yes. If you like Need For Speed, yes. If you like Simulations then no. However if you like terrible indie pop electro music and cars then yes.

It's a good game, and it does a lot of things well, it's just not a particularly great game. It's like when you date someone and you like them well enough but for some reason you still find yourself looking at porn afterwards. Yeah, I guess it's somewhat like that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
Before I bought this game, I was playing Need For Speed Rivals and Midnight Club Los Angeles, and this game flat out beat them. What a great game this is. I would recommend this to anyone. The people I ordered it from did very well and they sent it quickly, even faster than I expected it to come. However, they really screwed up the Nissan GTR. They made the gear ratio terrible so it doesn't even come close to its full top speed. It hits its rev limiter very quickly, which means it is able to go much faster, but there is no way to get it to go faster. It's like that with lots of other cars. Other than that, great game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Forza Horizon is my fourth owned title in the series, and is now my favorite. Whereas it incorporates the enjoyment of track racing as found in the other Forza series titles, this one allows the driver to free roam the Colorado landscape.

Several race modes exist; from street racing, tracks, cross country, and more. Yet one of the most enjoyable aspects is simply driving around, watching the beauty of the landscape, and the awesome changing sky. You find yourself driving at night and in daytime,

Discovering the "barn finds" is a great distraction from racing for the championship. Here, while listening to any of the preselected radio stations you get clues of where to look to gain free cars. These cars range from a Cobra Daytona to an Astin Martin DBV. Rather than pricing out, the best cars are free for the finding. The selection of cars at "the auto show"are impressive. The game lacks some I would like to drive, 66 Mustang, Model T, Corvettes, and NASCAR stock cars. Yet what they do offer is a great cornucopia that will satisfy the hunger of all gearheads.

My boys and I greatly enjoy this game. The views of the cars inside and out are amazing in their rendering. From cockpit view you get all sorts of wow factor for each particular car. For example, some of the Ferrari's have gear indicating lights in their steering wheel. We also love the "y" button feature. If you wreck, you can rewind the action to various distances to get a "do over". This is a great advantage over having to restart a race. With the driveline feature showing the route and brake warnings, it is the best game on the market for all skill levels. I highly recommend using the wireless steering wheel for this game, it makes it all the more realistic and enjoyable.

It works fantastic with the Kennect system. Just speak your commands and Kinnect activates your GPS and routs you to wherever you desire.

All in all, this game is one of the best thought out and designed I have ever played. Some days after trials and tribulations, I find it relaxing to hop in my 63 Ferrari California and take a leisurely drive in the mountains, all at endless MPG.

What could be an improvement? Having avatar customization would be a plus. In the future, I would like to see various driving conditions, rain, snow, etc. Another feature to an update would be more roads to drive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 41 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here