Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,130 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,734 reviews
on September 30, 2016
What's this?! Tim Burton's Disney classic on Blu-Ray? Absolutely!

I received the 20th anniversary edition, which does not include a digital copy as mentioned in some of the older reviews, nor does it come with a protective sleeve as pictured in some reviews. Just the normal, blue jewel case of your typical Blu-Ray disc.

A brilliant mix of stop motion animation, great music, and creepy but good fun, Nightmare Before Christmas was a staple in my household growing up. Definitely one of the darker Disney movies, so the young ones might be a bit frightened. That said, anyone old enough to ride the Haunted Mansion at Disney World or Disneyland should be perfectly fine!

Never has this wonderful world of Tim Burton looked better. Do your children (or your inner child!) a favor and pick this up. You'll be humming "What's This?" for days to come!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
Had to have this movie for our annual halloween movie watching tradition. This movie confuses people because the title makes you think of Christmas but our family very much likes watching the Pumpkin King do his thing around Halloween. It's a great Tim Burton film. My 10 year old loves this movie. Be warned there might be some younger kids that get freaked out by some of the nasty halloween monsters. My daughter has liked this movie since she was about 6 years old if that helps at all. This is a must have in your collection even if you don't have kids.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
This may be Tim Burton’s pièce de résistance. Yeah, he’s made some other really great movies too. But I can’t think of a single one that has maintained the longevity and popularity of this one. The story is completely unique and imaginative, and the animation is (at least “was”) completely one of a kind in style and quality. Now, this might be a PG movie, but I’d put it towards the upper-end of PG.
The 3-D is pretty decent as well, and was nice to add to the collection of 3-D titles, but the main reason for the purchase was simply for the standard Blu-Ray, which looks and sounds incredible.
I was a little shocked by the price tag (for the 20th Anniversary Edition Blu-Ray 3D, Blu-Ray, DVD, & Digital Copy), but it is rather popular, and there are a lot of different formats being offered in one package.
All-in-all, well worth the money. Whether you’re an old fan looking to upgrade the copy you already have, buying it for the first time, or completely new to it and interested in checking out, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2016
Weird, crazy.... but nothing you wouldn't expect from Tim Burton and it's all good weird and crazy. He creates a dreamlike world inhabited by the strangest and funniest cast of characters you've ever seen and the animation is amazing. Strongly recommend for preteens through adults... Multiple levels of humor for everyone. Wouldn't recommend to kids under 10 years old as there is a strange Gothic side to the movie. Funny if you're older, not so funny if you still believe in creatures living under your bed. 8-]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
My daughter loves it. She is now 7. My sons and I (they are 20 & 14 now) never got into it. Yes. I'm a Tim Burton fan. I get his artistic representation. But this is just never been one of my favs. I tolerate it to watch with my daughter though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
One of my all time favorite movies. I have this movie on VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, and have every special edition that's came out to date. It was only suiting to buy a digital copy to add to the collection now that DVD players are becoming obsolete.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2017
This is my very favorite Tim Burton movie. It was very colorful and creative.I loved the characters,and the personalities behind the characters really come alive with the animation. I will be watching this once a year in between Halloween and Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
One of the features of my last halloween party. I took inspiration for my costume.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
I love this movie and I was happy to get it for such a nice price. The only down side is it says it is the collectors edition but it's not. I seen the collectors edition in stores for about twice the price and it has special features and a nice interesting box with a 3D pop-up Jack face on it like its really nice. That was what I was expecting to be honest but it wasn't. It's just the same design as the cover but 2D. Not really a problem though other than the fact that it doesn't have the awesome special features. But I will live without it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
Looking at a store shelf and seeing both Halloween Decorations and Christmas decorations together, I believe, may have been the premise for this wonderfully offbeat holiday movie. Jack Skellington is the Pumpkin King and the ruler of Halloweentown where all the Halloween nightmare figures live, work and plan for every Halloween since the beginning, but Jack is slowly beginning to feel tired of the same yearly routine and is starting to wonder if there isn't something more. As he is pondering these thoughts, he does encounter something new in a stretch of forest just outside of HalloweenTown. There in a grove is a circle of trees where each holds a doorway, and each doorway is marked differently. One, however, intrigues him more than the rest and he opens it--and is pulled into a completely different world, so unlike his own.It is then he discovers that there are other holidays-and towns like his that celebrates their own days and he has entered ChristmasTown.So enthralled and delighted with his discovery he takes back all that he can find to share this news with the rest of HalloweenTown and ponders his discovery further, especially how to share this holiday. Instead, he decides to take it over and has Santa Claus Kidnapped as he and HalloweenTown prepare for Christmas. The three henchmen who kidnap Santa However, decide to take Santa to Oogie Boogie, who is delighted with the prospect of throwing a wrench in Jack's plans, while Jack proceeds to carry out his plans of delivering toys and treats for Christmas, but with a decidely different twist on things which is not appreciated by the population he visits, prompting an attack on him by the military. Sally, a lovely young creation of Dr. Finklestein, has only Jack's best interests at heart and when her warnings fall on deaf ears tries to save Santa herself, only to be captured by Oogie to join Santa in his own impending demise.Only Jack can save them both--if he can get back in time. This is quite a fascinating romp and there are wonderful catchy tunes and while the figures in HalloweenTown are somewhat nightmarish looking,they are quite likeable in their own quirky way, and seeing Jack play Santa Claus is definitely worth a laugh. Oogie Boogie though is actually quite scary, but has a way with a song which is also quite memorable. While this might scare the toddler set, others would find it fun. It is quite a quirky treat for either Halloween-or Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse