Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on August 29, 2008
This book covers almost everything related to EJBs in their new reincarnation. Its author have rightfully chosen to scrap any information concerning EJB 2.1. This is the right path to take as the new 3.X standard is so radically different (read much more useful) from the earlier versions.

The book starts out with a fairly detailed introduction to JPA 1.0 persistence mappings, entity relations and inheritance. It then moves on to covering session beans, interceptors, JAX-WS/RPC, the JNDI ENC and JTA.

This is a massive amount of stuff and still the author manages to convey its primary use, pitfalls and corner cases in an engaging technical style. So from a topical point of view you get what you pay for (and then some). The book is however not without some problems. First of all it contains some annoying errors, like:

1) In the interceptor chapter, the author fails to inform you that EJB interceptors are only used on direct invocations. That is if you put a interceptor on EJB A and inject it into EJB B, then delegated method invocations on EJB A from B are not intercepted. This is annoying at best, and at worst it could be considered an enormous flaw in the EJB spec.

2) Some JPA information is just plain wrong (like the use of named parameters in native queries). Most of these errors can be traced back to the fact that the author uses Hibernate which indeed supports this non-standard functionality. While understandable, it does confuse you some when confronted with strange errors in other containers

Many other errors exists and this book badly needs a review from some of the other EJB/JPA spec members, preferably someone not involved with the JBoss container. Another and more grave problem is the fact that the book presents most technologies as separate entities, and thereby you fail to see the complete picture. I really miss a complete real life EJB applications including:

1) Security (propagation of client role to the server (i.e. getCallerPrincipal)).
2) Interceptors (for logging and security).
3) Use of EJBs from a web application.
4) Testing of EJBs (best practices for easy unit testing).
5) Packaging and compiling (these days you cannot write a JEE book without a complete Maven sample)

This might sound like allot of grief, but I still choose to give the book four stars from the simple fact that it is complete, contains allot of useful samples (like the .NET SOAP application client) and manages to make many hard topics easy to understand.

In general a well written and useful book with a heap of information, written in a pragmatic style without to much fluff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2007
At the time of this writing (June 2007) this is for me the best book for the EJB 3.0 specification currently available. It covers all the grounds and it is very, very dettailed. Session, Entity and Message Driven beans are very well explained, as well as new new JPA (Java Persistence API); other chapters focus on the services provided by the container (Timer Service, Interceptors, JNDI ENC, Transactions, Security and Web Services).

The books closes with an overview of J2EE and EJB for the Real World (when/how to use them).

Down sides:

- lot of tiny errors; while they are not deal breaker, it'd be nice if ALL the code presented was truly functional. It's usually little things that can be solved by googling the topic (like forgot to implement Serializable, a variable's name mispelled, etc.).

- where's the source code? No CD comes witht he book (thumb down) and following the link provided in the book takes you to the JBoss source, rather than the examples's source.

- Web Service chapters (2), try to zip a 800+ topic in 60 pages. While it's true that web services are a HUGE topic, maybe dedicating a little less time to XML semanthics and focusing on a *runnable* web service example would definetly be a pro. The web service was the only chapter I couldn't make the example work.

- Sometimes it looks more like a reference guide; author could definetly learn from the Head First guys about didactic AND fun!

The theory part of the book is general in nature, specifying which behaviors are specs dictated and which are vendor implementation dependant. The practice part is JBoss specific, which is one of the main reasons I bought this book.

The Head First EJB (3.0) is still unannounced (estimated Spring-Summer 2008), and there isn't yet a SCBCD specific book available; so your best chance is to get this book, find any extra material online and you'll be ready to go!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2007
If you're planning on using EJB 3 ( which includes moving from EJB 2.1 ) you'd love this book. I come from EJB 2.1 background and therefore to move to EJB 3 was such a delightful experience. The book covers everything you'd ever need to know about EJB 3 and includes practical insights as to " How to make it work"

I'd suggest you buy it with JBOSS at Work ( not needed really, but hey, if you're an enthusiast those two gel really well with each other ).

All in all a good buy.

Regards
Vyas, Anirudh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2007
If you are buying a book on EJB 3, this should be it.

This book has no equal.

Interesting/Relevant examples, no "stretching" to prove/illustrate a point/concept, straight-forward, smothered in suggestions for constructive thought process in your designs, filled with reference to methodologies and their value, etc. etc. etc.

I cannot speak highly enough for this book.

From beginner to advanced EJB developer, you will find this as not only a valuable reference, but a wonderful insight into how to go about designing your Java-based enterprise applications.

The wide variety of topics covered do not take away from the primary focus of the book: Entities, Session Beans and MDBeans. These core principals are beautifully illustrated in this book in a wonderfully architected example.

The book touches briefly on the principals of Web Services, WARs, packaging, JBoss, etc. etc. etc. These brief touches show that while all of these aspects are involved in Java enterprise systems, that the core of all of them is the powerful ESbMDb structure. The author leaves it to specialized books to speak of these topics rather than trying to munge them into his in-depth coverage of their core principals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
the best book! very very very good!!!!!!!!! everything is well written. only one problem is that, that book is old writen. with Jboss 4. it will be better if we see a new eddition. EJB 3.1 book was not as good as 3.0.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2008
I found this book very helpful getting me up to date with the latest version of EJB. I had used EJB 2.1 before, but this book is good even for complete beginners. The first couple hundred pages are about the new Java Persistence Architecture. The last couple hundred pages are on using EJB 3.0 in JBoss AS. The middle of the book covers the rest of EJB 3.0. I still reference this book from time to time when working with JPA and complex relationships. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2006
I have pro ejb3 and this book. For me the other is significantly better. This book is less concise, and repeats itself in a way that is truly remarkable, -as if different authors took turns trying to explain the same thing every few pages, or maybe one author pasted together things written at different times. Such repetition is really irksome when a new concept is introduced without explanation, or the very often given explanation of "this will be explained in chapter 14". I found Pro EJB3 better organized, easier to read and more informative.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
Enterprise Java Beans 3.0 - the ultimate persistance technology that all java developers eventually need! Though Hibernate rocks now - it is going to be this one that will last. Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2011
Found a lot advertising for JBoss but not enough technical depth of the enterprise javabeans in the book... I am disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2010
The book is amazing. Content is well organized and it provides several code examples throughout the chapters.
I recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse