Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on January 15, 2017
You need to read this book. You will come away with a clearer intent to your own work. It's that simple.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2000
Collecting experiences from the turbulent storms of life and intuitive flashes of inspiration is one thing. Refining them creatively into a brilliant piece of work is another. Bringing clarity to that transformation process is what Ms. Goldberg offers in "Thunder and Lightening". She covers fear of criticism and rejection, the value of writing workshops and the benefits of an editor. She shares her own mistakes and her vulnerability. She says, "writing opens us wide so that our own individual suffering becomes universal suffering". This personal window into the author's life says much about the expressive depth of her writing. You may want to add this "thunderbolt" to your writing kit. It is a an excellent follow-up to Ms. Goldbergs, "Writing Down The Bones" and "Wild Mind".
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Natalie Goldberg is a master of description and writerly advice. I am deep within the book and enjoying it very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
More depthful that 1996 Writing Down The Bone....a Ph.D writing on the craft of writing...a skilled and encouraging read, lots of underlining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Basically, the author just rambles on until she finds her point. In fact, she admits that this is her writing style. Yes, the book is well-written. It is like a conversation with an interesting author. But I did not find it helpful. It will not teach you to write well. It does not contain many secrets. If you simply want to connect with a brave author who has mastered her own voice, go for it. If you are looking for guidance to become a better writer, you should probably avoid this. To become a better writer check out David Morrell's book on writing and Stephen King's book:On Writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
What is not to love about Natalie Goldberg? I wish they'd re-release this on CD. I had to buy it anyway, because I needed to hear her voice again-- then scrambled around the house looking for a tape player that still worked.

Totally worth it. You want to write? Nat'll tell you how. She'll calm you and stoke you and help you have compassion for yourself in the process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2017
I'll read anything by Natalie Goldberg. This isn't a how-to writing book, but I find it inspiring and have already read it three times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
I love reading Natalie Goldberg's books. This one was no exception. I am always sad when I get to the end of the book and I feel as if I've only touched the surface of the author's amazing way of getting to the essence of creating. I am left satisfied and yet wanting more time to spend with her. This is a great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
Natalie Goldberg's teachin genius shines through once again. She gets right to the meat of things, breaks through our fears of writing and supports us at the same time. This book demystifies the writing craft and helps the writer become accountable and ready to step up and put it all down, all those rich and juicy moments in one's history in ways that break through from whining into solid plot and character. This book is especially valuable when paired with Writing Down the Bones (for beginning writers) or Old Friend From Far Away (for those who want to write memoir).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
Love Natalie's writing.
Engaging and alive and personal as well as honest about her process as a writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse