Your Garage World Book Day STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Shop Popular Services Bosch Bosch Bosch  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$4.82+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 296 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 381 reviews
on April 1, 2016
NO REST FOR THE DEAD, a novel with an introduction by David Baldacci and chapters contributed by 26 authors of note. Initially I was reluctant to purchase the novel but with an introduction by Baldacci and with JA Jance and Sandra Brown’s name attached, I thought it would be worth a try. Like a quilt with 26 seamstresses contributing one square—chapter—at a time to the symmetry of the whole, the novel flowed smoothly as if by one writer, a miracle in itself. The job of handling 26 submissions along with dealing with 26 large egos and editing and reediting fell to the brother-and- sister-team of Andrew and Lamias Gulli who, by their own admission, felt at times like throwing in the towel. Since the idea for the book was dreamed up by Andrew Gulli to raise money for his cancer charity, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, he labored on. I’m glad he did.
Rosemary Thomas, a woman content with her life with two wonderful children and money from her family inheritance, found herself thrown in prison convicted of murdering her philandering husband, Christopher Thomas. Rosemary is too soon executed by the state. Ten years after the execution the legal team and those who witnessed the execution are invited to meet for a memorial service honoring. A letter written by Rosemary the night before her execution is read for the first time at the solemn occasion by her best friend. The contents set off a new direction in the pursuit of justice with a wild and intriguing ending.
The story is well crafted thanks to the yeoman editing efforts by the Gulli team. I give the novel a 4-star rating. I enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
There are so many problems with this story, it would be hard to list them all. There is absolutely no way possible in California for a RICH, WHITE, FEMALE to be put to death only 2 years after being found guilty of murder. It is never made clear the errors the main character, police detective Jon Nunn, made in his investigation that led to her being convicted - as if a single, supposedly expert investigator would be solely responsible for the conviction. And we're supposed to believe an ex-cop, so distraught over a wrong conviction that he leaves the force, becomes a drunk for 10 years but then miraculously finds it in his power to race throughout the streets and parks of San Francisco in a Mercedes chasing an Aston-Martin without hitting any innocent bystanders and then, just as the villain is pulling away because of his more powerful car, the dead-eye ex-detective good guy is able to nail the bad guy in his speeding car weaving in and out of traffic with one shot from his own speeding car, presumably with his left hand or he'd have to shoot through his own windshield with his right. I could go on, but bottom line - not worth the time to read.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 7, 2011
While it is said that too many chefs spoil the broth, this novel demonstrates that twenty-six writers can put together an eminently readable, entertaining novel. The book itself flows seamlessly, although some of the chapters are quite short.

The book opens on Death Row. Rosemary Thomas, a wealthy, cultured socialite, is awaiting lethal injection for the brutal murder of her husand Christopher. Handsome and debonair, Christopher uses his wife's wealth and position to gain stature in the art world. His considerable charm masks his avarice. He is involved in high stakes art theft and fraud and adultery. Rosemary learns of the adultery and can no longer tolerate the humiliation. So when christopher disappears and a decomposed body is found in an ancient torture deviced loaned to Rosemary
s division of the museum they both work at, her nightmare begins. Fast forward ten years. At a memorial of Rosemary's death, all the suspects, friends and foes are gathered together and the mystery unravels.

Despite excellent prose and apromising start, my enjoyment was compromised by a predictable storyline(perhaps I watch too much CSI but figured it out at manner of death) and two many non-essential characters. there is the alcoholic brother, venture capitalist friend, the cop who realizes too late that it was a set up, the cop's wife, the sleazy lawyer, the other woman, the crooked cop, Rosemary's sullen kids, the beautiful friend, the beautiful friend's husband,and so it goes. The ending was predictable.

This is a fun summer read, more interesting than reruns. It is fine as long as you keep your belief suspended. suspended. Does anyone really think a wealthy, connected woman would be on death row? Does anyone think that a competent legal team would notchallenge every element of proof? But then again, the proceeds go to charity and like hot dogs and popsicles, best enjoyed without detailed examination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
Not quite as good as its predecessor but still a good and interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Thought this book was an interesting choice with 26 different authors. It seemed to flow even with so many authors and was fairly good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this book and every book written by Baldacci and the others involved in this book. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
I chose this rating because it is brilliant that so many minds put this incredible book together so seamlessly. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
I knew this would be good when I saw the list of authors, including many of my favorites. The book speeds along and the writing is top notch. The introduction challenges the reader to figure out the twist before the last few pages. I did about half way through the book - but that didn't spoil my enjoyment or desire to find out the who and why. I also found that each writer managed to keep his or her unique voice (at least the ones I am familiar with) even though they were all writing the same story. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
Interesting narrative perspective. A page turned, as you turn pages on a kindle. I will read more of her work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2011
The book does flow pretty well for the number of authors, however, the story was one dimensional. It did not have many twists and turns. In fact, there was not any suspense the whole novel. I am an avid thriller reader and this was not one. This story basically is a book that expanded on the characters not the plot. I kept waiting for it to get good...it never did. Disappointment.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.88

Need customer service? Click here