Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 21, 2016
Got this used for a killer deal. didn't want to upgrade my ram and board to ddr4 so this was my next option. still a very powerful processor, and handling all of my needs no problem. also able to OC later.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
I was looking at the 3770k and the 2700k. I finally decided to go with the 2700k. I did not like the fact that the 3770k ran hotter when overclocking and they were not able to reach the same clock levels. The 2700k also had better proformance when overclocked and in several test clocked much higher then the 3770k. Intel said the 2700k was a higher binned processor. There was some debate that the 2700k was mearly a 2600k with a higher starting value and was not binned higher. Based on my processor I would have to say it is binned higher. I have overclocked several 2600k's and have not seen the same level of overclocking combined with temps and vcore. In my case my 2700k was rock solid. It will overclock 5.3ghz with easy. Temps in 70's. (xspc water cooled with 420 push/pull rad)The 2700k could have overclocked higher but I stopped at 5.3. 5.0 ghz is in the high 50's low 60's underload and high 20's low 30's at idle. This is with a stable vcore of 1.375 which is well with in 24/7 operating limits. Overall I am very impressed with this CPU and its capability. I would highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
Pros: Man, this thing absolutely SCREAMS! I decided to push it last night, and I ended up being able to transcode SIX 1080p videos (!!!) simultaneously in real time. Each video was about two hours long, all six were done encodiing after an hour. While all this was working, I was seamlessly browsing the web, even watching flash videos without any stutter. The fact that there was no stutter even at ~90% utilization really says sometthhing about the quality of this processor. The fact that I didn't hit this processors' ceiling with all this is simply jaw dropping.

And did I mention I'm running with the stock cooler without any overclocking?

Cons: Only thing I can think of is the price.

Other Thoughts: Although this component was a little expensive, I managed to build this computer for less than $700. The fact that you can get something this powerful for less than $700 is, again, simply astonishing. I honestly can't see buying another computer for at least the next 5 years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
It doesn't get better than this. I was looking for a processor that could handle an extreme amount of processing while ripping my blu ray collection. This thing does the trick. Sure i could have probably got something with some more power, but I did not want to buy a new mother board for my computer. This one fits the 1155 socket and works well. Normal processing it will run at about 38 degrees C. this is when I am streaming, or watching a movie from the computer. When Ripping it goes up to about 68 degrees, and 100% use. But, it does rip entire blurays in about an hour.

I could probably get better performance from it if i decided to over clock it, which I have seen this on get as high as 4.7 GHz, but I just don't trust a $400 CPU to run that high, I am hoping it will last me a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There have been some great reviews on this brilliant processor. First and foremost, I want to say I got this back in May. If I were purchasing this today, I'd opt to get the 3xxx series. I got the 2xxx as it was a bit cheaper and runs cooler so I can overclock it a bit more.
My next point is that I want to save someone money. Unless you make used of the 4* extra cores/threads, you should stick with an i5. I do a lot of online streaming and video rendering, so I will make use of them all. If you don't do anything super CPU intensive, save yourself money and get an i5. You won't notice the difference (in speed), but your wallet will (with all that money)!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
Does it's job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
Being an avid gamer and into editing video, I needed something fast that would last me a long time into the future. After looking into this chip, I decided to purchase it. I was greatly surprised at how FAST this puppy runs. I can truly say that, I don't plan on buying another CPU for at least 3 years. It can be easily overclocked, I have not encountered any BSOD's with it and it is amazingly fast. If you want a beast of a processor that will last you for years to come, the i7-2700K is worth every dollar imaginable.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2017
Works great with the mob I purchased from Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2012
I purchased a 2700K and use it as the meat layer in my latest computer sandwich, between some Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 and an Antec Kuehler 620 (the cooling portion connected to 2 stacked fans similar to the H80 setup) in an Antec 302 case with a few SilenX 120mm fans at different places in the case. Since the cooling is very silent and effective, I was able to overclock my 2700K to 4.9GHz with a reasonable 1.435v speed/voltage trade-off and very little noise produced by the fans. (One could probably push this one to 5.1 GHz with brute voltage force but it wasn't worth the trade-off for me).
The results are impressive. In the past, when running 18MPixel CR2 (RAW) to JPEG conversion on the notoriously slow but good DxO Optics Pro 7, I used to get 1 frame per minute throughput on an otherwise fast Intel Core2Duo laptop before (and one frame every 10-15 seconds with Lightroom 3). Now, with the 2700K and making use of its 8-thread hyper-thereaded architecture, I am getting one DxO-converted frame every 6 seconds (and one lightroom frame every 1-2 seconds) :-)! So this CPU, when confronted with the elements and pushed a bit, can deliver stunning performance.

Therefore I find this CPU (and the other i7's) a great match for computers built for photo and video editing, as the hyperthreading architecture really shows its best in such environments. 5 Stars.

If I had built the rig for gaming, I'd probably pick an i5 instead and put the extra money into the GPU, since most games are running single-threaded for the heavy part.

Of course, I had to push the setup even further by adding an AsusTek HD 6850 GPU to the mix (some of the best computing power values it seems, especially if you build a low-noise setup). Now even DxO, making use of OpenCL and utilizing both CPU and GPU, spits out one frame every 2.5-3 seconds :-)

Btw, for CPU-to-CPU reviews, I also found the passmark site helpful for my pick.

UPDATE after 6 weeks. I since changed the overclocking settings from 4.9 to 4.8 GHz, to avoid occasional crashes with the 1.435VCore I use. Since then (and after re-timing my ill-advertised RAM to 10-10-10-28, see my Komputerbay 2x8GB 9-9-9-24 review), the machine runs-rock solid. 4.9 GHz would apparently need a bit more voltage than 1.435VCore on my sample.
Keeping it at 5 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
nice upgrade from i3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse