Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mercy, The (The Rose Trilogy)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 12, 2011
I really enjoyed reading the first volume in The Rose Trilogy series. I thought (and still think) Rose was one of Beverly's best characters yet. I loved her constant dedication to the Amish faith. For a while there in Amish fiction, it seemed like every third character in a book by any author became a Mennonite or a more liberal Amish person. The Rose trilogy stayed away from that type of plot trajectory and even had a character, Rose's sister Hen, who wanted to return to the Amish ways despite having married an Englisher.

All of the information above was established in the first book of the set. In the second book, I began to feel like I was reading a lot of copy that was interesting, well-written and, at times, fun or touching but that wasn't really necessary to progress the story. This was most noticeable in the multiple variations of Hen and her husband having the same argument about her wanting to return to her Amish ways. Each fight was important, I suppose, because it escalated the situation to a critical turning point but it. got. tiresome. I really, really disliked Hen at the end of the second book. (I liked her again by the end of third book, but only a little bit.)

After basically dismissing much of the second book as series filler, I felt like this volume would decide my overall opinion of this trilogy. It did. I've ended up giving the series a mental so-so and this book a four. In the hands of a lesser author, I probably would have given the book a three, but Beverly Lewis' writing deserves the extra star.

The plot flounders in this story. For those who read the first two books, you know that Rose had two boys in her life, Silas and Nick. Nick ran away, she was making plans with Silas and eventually broke them because she felt he loved someone else. You probably presumed, as I did, that the third book would finally return us to the Nick storyline. It does.

However, not before we spend several chapters with a new potential boyfriend and almost fiancee named Isaac. He came from nowhere, spends very little time talking in the book, and seems to only exist so that Rose can, yet again, be tied up with someone else when Nick rolls back into "town." I would have preferred her to spend more time examining her feelings and thinking about her life than thinking about a random boy. I have always thought character introspection was what set Beverly Lewis apart, and I think that is what I missed most in this book. It seemed like the book hurried the plot along to conclude the series and little time was spent in the head of a character while they were thinking meaningful thoughts.

All of that being said, my last problem with the book was that it ended so fast that I half-expected to hear tires screeching despite the lack of rubber tires in the Amish world. After spending two whole books and 19/20 of another book waiting for the resolution of Rose's problems, having the problems end so swiftly and unceremoniously was sad despite my being happy with the basic idea of the ending.

I wouldn't not recommend this book. If you read the first two books in the series, there is no reason not to read this one, and, if you are like me, no way you weren't reading it. I would just caution you to go into it expecting a little less than normal.

Final random thought: This book has an absolutely exquisite cover. The blue of the dress is so vivid and striking against "Rose's" face that I would hang a larger copy of the cover image on my wall.
66 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
This is the third book in The Rose Trilogy. The story continues with Hen and her husband, who is temporarily blind from an accident, still trying to figure out how they are going to live their lives since Hen wants to continue living in her Amish roots and her husband does not. He wants a divorce and to take their daughter with him back to the "English" world. Hen loves her husband very much and wants to have her family together but is not sure how to combine his world and her new desire to stay Amish. As the story unfolds, Hen and her husband learn more about each other and how to move on with the changes in their lives. Hens sister Rose is looking for the path in her life after she broke off her engagement to Silas. She knows that most of the boys her age are already married or spoken for so she sets her mind to accepting her new lot in life. Then, along comes Issac and she starts courting. Things are going well, but Issac has ideas as to how he wants to live his life and Rose is not sure she wants to follow him. Then one day, an old friend comes back into the community. This brings confusion to Rose's life and to the community. She is desperately looking for that happy ending. Will she find it with the man she loves? This book was wonderful and Beverly Lewis did a great job of ending her trilogy. All three books are highly recommended!

Thank you to the publisher for this free book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
I am always amazed at Beverly Lewis. Her writing takes my breath away now, just like it did in her first novel, The Shunning. She's like a good wine, just getting better with age. One comment made, about moving on to other Amish fiction writers just made my love for Beverly Lewis rise up and write this review. It was like someone had insulted a good friend. If it wasn't for Beverly Lewis, we wouldn't have Amish fiction as a genre. Her book, The Shunning, and all her books that followed, has paved the way for all Amish writers. Her rich character depth and abundant knowledge about the Amish culture make me just adore this author.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
The Mercy fittingly concludes The Rose Trilogy leaving the reader with a sense of Amish peace. Well written, the story captivates from the Prologue to the Epilogue. Although this reviewer guessed the conclusion well before the main character became aware of it's inevitability, this fact merely increased the satisfaction at the end. Absolutely loved this last book in a wonderful-good Amish tale of life, loss and enduring love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2016
I always love Beverly Lewis! Her Amish books are always so enjoyable to me. I avoided them for years, thinking they'd be corny or not well-written. I sometimes roll my eyes at the Christian novels which are available...not because they are Christian, but that's usually the only part I like. Not so with these books. The characters were well developed, and their dilemmas complex. I truly enjoyed the entire trilogy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Book three in this series. Sad to see it end. Happy for the outcomes with Hen and her husband Brandon's marriage. Rose made the right decision regarding love. Nick changed and thankfully for the better. Great that Emma is no longer in pain and suffering so. Lewis certainly hit the nail on the head with this great series!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
I received a copy to facilitate my review. The Opinions expressed here are my own.

If you haven’t read the first two books in this series “The Thorn” and “The Judgment” I would suggest you do.
Briefly you have Rose Kauffman who was taking care of her mother after a buggy accident. You have her sister Hen and her five year old daughter Mattie Sue. Hen had married an Englisher and then gone back home during which time her husband began divorce proceeding that threatened her custody of her daughter. Then there was her husbands car accident. Rosie and her boyfriend Silas have had an on again, off again relationship. Then there is Nick, the bishops adopted son who came from the English world and seems to have left for it again after the bishop’s son Christian is killed in an accident. Does Rosie love Silas or does she love Nick? Does Silas love Rosie or does he love Rehbeka? All of that drama and more happened in the first two books.

In this third book in the series, Beverly Lewis has tied up all of the loose ends. Rosie’s mother is finally going to have the back surgery that will hopefully alleviate the terrible pain she has been in for years. Rosie is still having relationship issues. She turns Silas loose, but now there is another guy in the picture named Isaac. Then Nick returns. Because of all that went on with the Bishop’s sons, he has been “silenced”. I found it inspiring that it was the Bishop God used to reach Hen’s husband. He had made it clear he wanted nothing to do with the Amish and their ways. After being temporarily blinded and having to stay in the Amish community, thing have changed. So now you are wondering what exactly has changed yes? Well this is where I tell you that once again Beverly Lewis has done an excellent job of storytelling and that you really must read the book to find out how all of these conflicts were fixed or not. This is another highly recommended series by a great author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
Rose Kauffman is still living in the past with only the memories of Nick Franco to keep her going. After Nick is suspected in his foster brother's death, he leaves the People, which leads to the silencing of his bishop step-father. Known by the community as the "rebel" instead of a grateful son, Nick knows he doesn't have a chance with either Rose or his family. Rose is left with the hope that he will someday return to them, and her feelings for Nick refuse to fade. Will Nick ever come back and make things right with the People, or will she always have to wonder what could have been?

Hen and her husband, Brandon are at an impasse. He insists she will be happy as a modern wife, and she tenaciously clings to her old-fashioned Amish upbringing. When Brandon has an accident which incapacitates him for a time, Hen brings him back to the Dawdi Haus to temporarily live with her and their daughter Mattie. Will they ever resolve the conflict between opinion of lifestyles, or will they loose their marriage to difference of convictions?

This final installment of the trilogy was good despite the rushing of the last 20 pages with Rose's intended. Lewis wraps up everybody's story in this final book, and not everyone has a happy ending. I was actually pleased that not everything turned out the way I expected, which is different from mainstream Amish culture media that exists today.

Lewis has a way of giving us a story that is full of twists and unexpected turns, and even though the end may be relatively happy, it is more realistic to real life in that it's not all sunshine and flowers the whole book through. It has just enough dose of reality to make it realistic. A thoroughly good read, and recommended to anyone and everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
This is the conclusion of a three-part series, and I think it is an excellent conclusion to the story. I have enjoyed how Ms. Lewis brings to life the Christian values of The Plain People and how God works amongst them. Lots of take-away value and warm, loving characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2011
I just finished reading the last installment of The Rose Trilogy by Beverly Lewis. The Mercy picks up right where it left off with Hen still caring for her injured husband Brian and Rose Ann still being the ever dutiful daughter caring for her "Mamm". The first part of the book has the characters getting ready for Emma's back surgery and wondering how they can help their favorite Bishop Aaron Petersheim though his silencing. If you have read the previous books you know that is very hard on the whole Kauffman family. The Bishop and his wife are close friends and neighbors. Hen and Brian's relationship is showing signs of repair. You really start to root for them to make it work and stay together. But alas if you are a fan of book one and two the real story you want to know about is does Nick Franco finally come home and confess his part in his brother Christians death? Do Nick and Rosie find their way to each other? This book will not disappoint you. If you are a fan of Beverly Lewis or a fan of Amish books you are in for a real treat. Mrs. Lewis develops her characters so well you feel like each and every one deserves the very best and you hope that they do. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Rose Ann is such a great character. I love how no matter what she always believed in Nick. She knew her best friend through and through. This author knows her stuff. The Mercy draws you in and never lets go to till the last page. Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here