Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,669 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,539 reviews
on June 5, 2016
Do I really need to leave a review for this movie? Does anyone? This is JAWS! One of the BEST movies ever made. If you have not seen this movie yet, the only thing I have to say to you is, "Why haven't you seen it?" OK, so you love the beach and love to swim. I can understand that. I do too. However, you should see it, especially with all the recent shark attacks that have happened. When I first saw it, shark attacks were very, very, very rare. But JAWs still scared me enough to keep me in very shallow water all summer. Now it will probably keep you out of the water for quite a while, especially in the areas where Great Whites are being spotted. Talk about adrenalin rushes. If that's not enough of a reason for anyone to see this movie for the first time, or for the 100th time, I don't know what is!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
This is one of my favorites because of the acting, not the animals. I read that "Bruce" was a real bad actor, but I think he made it better movie because that showed less of him than they probably would have otherwise. The spotlight was on the acting and the tension between the actors, the boat, the fish, and the town. Schneider, Shaw, and Dreifus are stupendous! Spielberg's directing is amazing even in this early film. Masterpiece! Oh, who is Bruce? Ask Nemo.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Fantastic movie classic especially in full screen. I was told by a person owning a video shop that this DVD didn't come in this format, I'm glad he was wrong, any movie with an ocean or a wide open space subject should not be squished down into wide screen, it's criminal. It wouldn't hurt my feelings if the widescreen format became extinct. I also enjoyed the making of Jaws, very interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
Picture-perfect high-definition picture quality after the opening scene, which is perhaps done in slightly soft-focus for theatrical reasons. But the rest of the movie looks like it was made today, the high-definition quality on this Blu-ray is that superb.

I will not bother reviewing the movie for its plot or production values, that has been done by many others here. But I will say that when the movie was released in 1975, I thought it was a bit overrated after having looked forward very much to seeing it, but upon viewing it recently on TV and then purchasing this Blu-ray and viewing it in even better high-definition quality than on TCM, I enjoy the story itself more, and I'm very glad at having purchased this Blu-ray.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
Loved it
review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
Good addition to any movie collection. If you're into jaws this won't disappoint. I honestly don't super care about extra bonus materials for this particular movie...but it's interesting to know this movie basically made Spielberg's career. So, for that reason, and hardcore fans of jaws, this edition is good. But it's basically the same movie I remembered from years ago. I'm not a huge fan, but wanted it in my collection. It was a good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
If you want to take a course in Steven Spielberg movies, watch JAWS. This movie is the Cliffs Notes to Spielberg. Everything he did after follows this same pattern. And with few exceptions, none exceeded this. Not until "Bridge of Spies" does Spielberg actually feel like a mature storyteller and filmmaker, at least to me. But pretty much everything before that follows the "JAWS" formula.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
THE STORY: The plot is deceptively simple: a large Great White shark begins attacking swimmers on a small New England island. The economy-minded mayor just wants to pretend the problem doesn't exist, (at the expense of some unfortunate tourists who wind up on the shark's menu). In the end, it's up to the new-in-town police chief to stop the deadly beast. He reluctantly joins forces with a hot-headed young research scientist and a crusty local shark fisherman in order to hunt down & kill the monstrous 3 ton, 25 foot eating machine. Hang onto something. This is one intense, full-blooded journey into dark, tension-filled waters!

THOUGHTS: Considered a bonafied classic and for good reason, JAWS is first rate crackerjack story-telling that entertains all the way around. If you've never seen JAWS before then you are definitely missing out on a terrific movie-watching experience. This film almost single-handedly defined the terms "popcorn movie" & "summer blockbuster" like few movies before or since ever have. And the acting is superb on all counts. Roy Scheider is terrific as the frustrated, clueless and slightly aquaphobic Chief Martin Brody. A rascally Richard Dreyfus is a great as stubborn shark expert Matt Hooper. And what about our salty shark hunter, Capt. Quint? Robert Shaw's just blows everyone else out of the water. Whew! He was an actor of rare power, intelligence and intensity. His USS Indianapolis monologue should be required viewing for anyone considering getting into acting. THIS is what true acting is all about. All the man does is tell a story for about five minutes. Nothing else. But WOW! he is absolutely RIVETING to watch. You cannot take your eyes off him and you're hanging on his every word. It's worth owning this movie just for this scene alone! It never fails to give me goosebumps, even after 30+ viewings over the decades. And finally, let's not forget our stubborn, rarely in the mood to work villain, "Bruce" the Shark. While not entirely convincing anymore in this age of hyper-realistic CGI creatures, this massive rubber & pneumatic construct nonetheless still retains the ability to keep you on the edge of your seat or jumping out of it. Simply put - JAWS just works, on every conceivable level.

THE BLU-RAY: If you've seen JAWS but only on VHS tape or DVD then you really haven't seen it until you've watched this stunning new Blu-ray edition. WOW! It looks incredible here, probably better than when it first hit theaters back the summer of '75. Everything just pops. Picture clarity is razor-sharp and exposes details not seen since the film played in theaters. Colors are lush and vibrant, soundmix & the legendary film score by John Williams rumble & scream beautifully. Everything about this release is truly impressive. I've had this film in one format or another for decades: taped off a cable broadcast, then a factory VHS, then DVD, then a deluxe DVD, etc. None of those other formats can hold a candle to the uncompromising quality of this pristine hi-def transfer. THIS format/version is the one to own. And as if the restored sound & picture weren't enough, there's a staggering amount (4+ hours' worth!) of bonus material packed in as well, including two excellent full-length documentaries about the making of the movie, a look at the work that went into restoring it, photo galleries, trailers and more, more, more! These top shelf goodies just seal the deal to make this Blu-ray of JAWS an absolute *must-own* for movie lovers. BOTTOM LINE: Pick up this terrific Blu-ray of JAWS ...and be afraid to go into the water all over again! 5 STARS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
The greatest movie ever made IMO. Brilliant direction from Spielberg, a superb cast, and a great story. The first summer blockbuster, which broke tons of box office records and would set the standard for movies to come. This movie kept a generation out of the water, and it still holds up today as a horror/thriller masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Of course, how could anyone possibly add to what's been said about Jaws? A defining cinematic experience, a cultural reference point, ostensibly about sharks but oh so very much also about the 1 percenters who would place profits above people. In the Spielberg universe, they get the message and show contrition. In the real world, we have The Smartest Guys in the Room and The Big Short. My sadness watching Jaws is that we've lost Robert Shaw and Roy Scheider, but each remains immortal here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here