Customer Reviews: The Brontës: Wild Genius on the Moors: The Story of a Literary Family
Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 New Professional Skin Care Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fall24 fall24 fall24  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Frank Sinatra Shop Cycling on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 5, 2012
I read this book in the first edition and am very glad to have an updated version I can get on my Kindle. However the Kindle edition leaves me with a question or two... NO TABLE OF CONTENTS?? In a book this size, why no TOC with clickable links? I was reading it from the library when I decided to buy it, and I can't just go to the TOC and click to the chapter where I was reading. Also since it is a work of scholarship, not just a story, people might want to refer back to something specific and need a TOC and/or an index to get to it, neither of which seem to have made it into this version. And if there are no illustrations in a Kindle edition, this should be disclosed up front before you buy it and find out you can't see the plates. So, if I could give it a 5 for the book and a 3 for the edition I would do that... so average out to 4... Edited to add... Not sure why the print book is called "Story of a Literary Family" and the Kindle book is called "Story of Three Sisters" - this is odd, it's not just the story of the sisters...
11 comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
Barker puts a lot of energy into righting prior biographers' missteps--certainly an important undertaking, but sometimes her efforts lead her down a less-than-ideal path. (Not having read a Bronte bio before, not even Gaskell's, I had no false impressions to correct.) She seems intent on salvaging the brother's reputation and painting Charlotte as selfish and unkind. She'll say Charlotte was "in a rage" or "hostile" but the letter she quotes as evidence doesn't support that judgment. Unacquainted as I am with Bronte family legend, I don't know if she's making an effort to correct a falsely glowing impression previously painted of Charlotte. She does say that biographers have been unfair to Branwell, the brother, and to Patrick Bronte, the father, both of whom had been painted with jaundiced brushes.

It's quite an accomplishment, bringing together all this information and painstakingly organizing it--I can't imagine the time and effort that went into this book. My primary complaint is that the book teems with far-fetched judgments (though a few seem insightful). It's par for the course for biographers to assume and imagine, but I prefer less reading-between-the-lines when it amounts to mere supposition. For instance, she'll assert that so-and-so "must have been there that night." Well not necessarily, maybe so-and-so was sick or out of town or otherwise indisposed. She'll read a motive into someone's actions when she has no way of knowing how that person was feeling, tending to be sympathetic with some people and surprisingly harsh with others. She goes too far when attacking certain individuals, for instance an old school friend of Charlotte's is pilloried by the end of the book. After Charlotte's death, the friend, who Barker says was a source heavily used by Elizabeth Gaskell, becomes a machinator intent on carrying out her evil agenda to the detriment of Patrick Bronte and Charlotte's widower, Arthur Bell Nicholls. The married woman whom Branwell apparently had an affair with is likewise evil, while he is painted as the victim of an immoral woman, but this doesn't jibe, considering all the drugging, drinking and carousing he'd been up to by then (he apparently had a daughter somewhere by this time, too, probably by a servant). She tries too hard to rescue Branwell. In the process of trying to right wrongs, she makes some of the same mistakes she accuses Gaskell of. She seems to decide a person is good or bad and then runs far and fast with her verdict. I get the feeling that the truth about some of the people involved lies somewhere between Gaskell's and Barker's portrayals (though again, I haven't read Gaskell's book, I only know what Barker states and insinuates).

Barker makes the big statement that the Bronte sisters' books wouldn't have been written were it not for their brother Branwell. Quite a claim. Yes, he was an important part of the Bronte tradition of childhood writing, but that doesn't mean he was responsible for their later success. She presents no evidence that his impact was that far-reaching. He had no direct hand in the writing of the books and it's impossible for anyone to tell what influence was most instrumental in forming the young women's extraordinary writing gifts; perhaps writing was simply in their blood/genes/makeup; probably it was the whole package--the way all their lives intertwined, their father's influence, their friends, the books they read, the environment, the schools they attended, their lives' particular twists and turns, combined with natural talent, etc, etc. That Branwell was responsible for their success is another supposition that feels unjustified, but this one is SO huge, and SO unfair, it has to be called into question.

The portrayals of the father and of Charlotte's husband come across as fair. By the time every one of Charlotte's siblings (and her mother) are dead, Barker also finally lets up on Charlotte. Emily comes across as especially enigmatic and intriguing; too bad there's not more information available on her.

The extent to which the juvenilia are quoted becomes very tedious after a while. I wish these sections had been heavily edited, but I suppose a real Bronte aficionado might find it all interesting.

A final criticism, and one that really niggles, is the writer's references to female authors as "authoresses" and female poets as "poetesses" and I don't mean when she's quoting, she does it herself. I think we can move beyond that now? It's one thing for a 19th century writer to do it, and quite another for a 21st century author (should she be called a biographess?). Charlotte Bronte the authoress had her brother to thank for her success? I'm sorry, this rankles.

It takes a fair amount of boldness to write a bio like this (that boldness also leads directly to the work's weaknesses). For a long book packed with minutiae, it truly is a page-turner. Kudos go to Barker for a fabulous job on a complicated task; the work is well thought-out, exhaustively researched, well-written--feels like a labor of love. Though I often found myself muttering, "oh come on" at some of the excesses, it is well worth a read.
1212 comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
I'm disappointed in this book because I expected more insight into the writing lives of the Bronte sisters, however this scholarly book deals more with the life of their father, Patrick and their very early childhood. The author goes into excruciating detail about Patrick's early life, his religious beliefs, where he was assigned as a pastor, what each church looked like, who said what to whom about his assignment etc. The author did a lot of research and used every single bit of it, resulting in an overwhelming amount of detail and distracting information. Much of the book covers the years leading up to Patrick's marriage to the doomed Maria. I didn't see how this related to the development of the Bronte sisters' genius. Many of the quotes from letters and documents could have been left out. The book covers Patrick's marriage to Maria, the birth of their children, her death, and the girls' experience at Cowan Bridge school, which would become the notorious Lowood School in Jane Eyre. Most authorities acknowledge that Cowan Bridge was the basis for Lowood, so that isn't new information.
I was hoping for more insight into the adult lives and creative genius of The Bronte sisters. To be honest I quit about 3/4 of the way through, something I never do, since at that point it was clear the Brontes' writing years were not going to covered in much, if any detail. The author argues successfully with several of the claims of Mrs. Gaskill's book on the Bronte sisters. She does provide details about the Cowan Bridge School to which the girls were sent, and which caused the deaths of young Maria and Elizabeth.

You will like this book if you are interested in the life of a minister in rural England in the early 1800's, but I didn't think that the author made many connections between the Brontes childhood and their adult creative genius.
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
Juliet Barker's updated biography is over a staggering one thousand pages; all containing impeccable research on The Brontes. Her writing is dense, collegiate, extremely well researched dripping with admiration and respect for this family. Anyone wanting to get to know The Brontes owes Ms. Barker a debt of gratitude! She traces their lineage then writes a chronological retelling of The Bronte Family beginning with clan patriarch Rev. Patrick Bronte through to the entire life and death of all six of his children until the death of Rev. Bronte. The notes section in the back of the book is not to be missed and is most likely the size of a small novel itself! The photographs and sketches are wonderful as well.

I highly recommend this beautifully written biography to any person who has read any Bronte novel and fallen in love with the story and characters, to anyone who wants to visit Yorkshire and walk along the moors, to anyone who wants to satisfy their curiosity about who this talented family were. Please don't be put off by the sheer size of the biography, it is to be savored and lingered over maybe even perhaps kept as a reference book.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This mammoth biography explores the Brontes' history in exquisite detail. Barker has dug far beyond the usual surface treatment one expects in a historical biography. I bought the book on Kindle without realizing its size and was more than a little overwhelmed at first, especially during the interminable early chapters about the father Patrick Bronte's early life and loves. But once Charlotte and Co. show up, the depth of Barker's research becomes not only an invaluable tool for understanding these classic authors and the times they lived in, but also fascinating reading. I can't remember the last time I felt so immersed in a historical period and so well-informed about a historical personage.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Even though this family history is long and full of detail, I can honestly report that it's a page turner, absolutely. Much of the Bronte mythology remains intact - those wild sisters and one even wilder brother wandering the moors thinking up great stories - still the much harder, more mundane facts emerge, some quite startling. Patrick Bronte turns out to have been a scholar and a gentleman, a man of liberal beliefs and great strength of mind. No wonder he had such children!

The benighted Branwell was much more successful as a writer than we knew, possibly because his sisters outshone him. Still, he lived as he died, in trouble all the way.

More than anything, the stunning heroism of the sisters Emily, Anne, and Charlotte really does wring the heart. They saw so much of death and heartbreak, and yet they not only struggled but prevailed. The magnificent Charlotte, alone at the last (except for her father) finally married, and, it would appear, achieved great happiness.

This is a superb book and a great achievement for the author, Juliet Barker.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
The Brontes: Wild Genius on the Moors by Juliet Barker was, in my opinion, a masterful accomplishment and a moving study of, not only, the three Bronte sisters, but the Bronte and Branwell families as a whole and their friends and acquaintances. Regardless of contrary opinions, I believe most people can agree that Ms. Barker is unquestionably one, if not the most, accomplished expert on the Bronte family at the present time. Through her meticulous research and well documented conclusions, Ms. Barker provides aspects of the Bronte family that will help the reader understand them better than anything previously written, including the highly respected biography of Charlotte by Elizabeth Gaskell. In addition, the book is a joy to read, due to its organization and flow. Consequently, in many cases, it reads like a novel, keeping the readers interest piqued throughout almost every aspect and season of the lives of this very interesting family. After reading this very detailed and prodigious volume I may not be an expert on the Brontes, but I feel that I know them better and can hold a much more cultivated discussion regarding them than previously. For anyone who has the curiosity regarding the Bronte family, the desire to know an alternate view of family members than has been previously understood, and the fortitude to read this daunting volume, I highly recommend this book. You will not be sorry.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
Ms Barker's sizeable effort is more than impressive but only takes off around page 600 when the reasons for the Bronte fame are published; up to that point the book is somewhat tabulatory. The story of this family makes one rue the deterioration of literacy since their day but at the same time we can only be grateful for the scientists who have in the interim given us modern health care. How wistfully one reads the literary levels of those far-off heroines but how compassionately one learns of their suffering, with diseases now more or less extinct.
The level of English displayed by the Brontes and their peers (as well as Ms.Barker to be fair) shows how limited our standard of communication has become but then again the fact that old man Bronte outlived all six of his children reminds us stunningly of our physical advantages. The linguistic dexterity of the book’s participants contrasts with their physical discomfort and inconvenience -- I wanted to take all the people in the book home to care for them -- and how I would have loved to have seen the genius in the eyes of the Bronte women, regardless of how pretty they apparently weren’t. What a family. What beings.
But a sad tale overall. The lady’s closeness to God was understandable; their preoccupation with the hereafter figured highly for good reason while ours in more comfortable times has collapsed into just the here and now. We are different people from this quiet, long-lost species of the Nineteenth century.
Ms. Barker is heavy on documentation but light on style – she doesn’t convey too much drama or spectacle in her sterling effort – maybe there wasn’t any in this legendary story but I still think she fails to impart the scale of the Brontes.
Out of the bleak and humdrum came the beauteous and brilliant, out of the inconsequential came the wondrous, out of plain, unnoticed females came novels of insight that reached to the edge of human sensibility, and from the backwater of the drab Yorkshire moors came awarenesses beyond that of the London glitterati. Whoever felt more longingly and unrequitedly than these wonderful girls? The magnitude and histrionics don’t really come across in the book but with an account so comprehensively told it is obviously up to us to infer the wonder of it all. Maybe that’s why it’s Ms. Barker writing about the Brontes rather than the other way round, maybe she leaves all the thunder to them. Or maybe I ask too much, but while I now know a lot more about Charlotte, Emily and Anne they were never quite brought into my living room, tome or no tome. I still miss them though. I really do.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
This is an extremely satisfying, exhaustively reasearched, brilliant, biography on the great literary family, the Brontes. At over 1400 pages, there is not much that Juliet Baker hasn't analysed, dissected, and/or debunked. She writes like a detective, weeding out fact from nonsense, and along the way she extinguishes 150 years of myth. Was Branwell always a screw up and a drunk with no redeeming qualities? Was Patrick an uninvolved parent with anger issues? In this wonderful bio, Baker manages to set the record straight once and for all. She didn't write a dry recounting of previous information. This is a fresh account of a real family, consisting of 8 distinctively real personalities with just as many flaws as virtues. There is no reason to read anything else on the Brontes.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 5, 2016
Juliet Barker presents us with mounds of information on the Bronte family, patriarch Patrick, in particular. There is much detail of Patrick’s early years, his spiritual life, and his career in the clergy. She goes to great lengths to present us with his day to day, describing the towns and churches he lived and worked in, again in great detail.

The book was a monumental undertaking and is of great value to anyone doing any scholarly research into the lives of the Bronte family. It is a not a light read. It is very much non-fiction, and for the average reader might be considered dry and full of unnecessary detail. I don’t feel the information was unnecessary, just that a book like this should be read for a purpose, not just for a light read. This is not criticism. It’s just the truth.

There were times that I thought she assumed too much, about who might have been at a particular party or meeting and what people might have been feeling. She made her judgments about how a person was feeling when she couldn’t possibly have known. Supposition is fine, within reason. It can be overdone. When writing the facts of someone’s life, it’s best to leave our personal assumptions at the door, unless we point out that these are our own opinions and that we could be incorrect.

Overall, this is a very detailed, scholarly work that would be perfect for someone doing research into the lives of the family. Other than that, I would say if you are interested in the Bronte sisters, read their novels.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse