Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 17, 2017
I'm a big fan of Men in Black. MiB3 was a bit scary for younger ones and probably is my least favorite of the 3, but I still liked it. We bought a new 3D TV so watching it in 3D was fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2016
Look this movie has some high points, but was not needed, it has Will Smith so yes it is watchable he could watch paint dry and you would watch it because of his charisma. Overall though this movie did not bring back the magic that the first one had and seemed forced. If you are a Will Smith fan watch it because he is great in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2016
This is a very good film, maybe not a family film though. Will Smith says the "S" word well over a dozen times throughout. Just happy to have the 3D version of the film finally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2016
Lots of fun, good 3d imaging, available at a low price
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2017
DVD was on my door stoop at 15:40 on 28-07-17. In the near future I will order another when I have the extra cash because this is one I like to have a double of because I know it will go up in price and I can make some cash when I sell it to some one else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2016
I expected more from the 3D, still it is an entertaining movie but you may as well save your money if you are buying this for the 3D.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Each sequel gets a little bit cheesier, still I think it is a great movie. It's got time travel. This is the third movie, so while on its own as a movie I enjoyed it, as a sequel it of course is not as good as the original, they rarely are. Enjoy it for what it is, a sequel, it's funny, granted it probably won't make it on your 10 films list, but you can still like the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2013
Rarely do you see a second sequel that can be considered "great", "enjoyable", and other such things. But when you line the three Men In Black films up next to one another, Men In Black III has certainly surpassed Men in Black II. While it is not as good as the original, this film can definetly hold its own. Of course, the highlight of the film was Mr. Josh Brolin, who not only had to step into the enormously large shoes temporarily vacated by Mr. Tommy Lee Jones, but he had to keep his performance as a younger Agent Kay consistent with Mr. Jones's as the latter appeared as the character's older self at the beginning and ending of the film. Of course, Mr. Brolin did this flawlessly and came off as the perfect younger Tommy Lee Jones while giving the character some perfect qualities we haven't seen before. Will Smith was back in his own, comfortible shoes, playing Agent Jay and my only complaint there is that we could have done without his rantings during the various neuralizing sessions. Men in Black and Men in Black II always did those better. If there was a joke in these new ones, I missed it. The only one that worked is the one where Jay trickes the 1960s NYPD officers into neuralyzing themselves...that worked perfectly. I wish I could have seen Rick Torn as Agent Zed again as he too was a classic character, as were Frank the Pug, Jeebs, and the Worm Guys, the last of which we only saw very briefly (too briefly). But for all my complaining, this film was still awsome. Jemaine Clement made an excellent villain as Boris the Animal (or "just Boris") and I enjoyed the plot twist of "Andy Warhol" being an undercover MIB agent. Had I known the specifics of the powers possessed by Michael Stuhlbarg's character Griffin ahead of time, I would have called them far-fetched even for a Men In Black film. However, not knowing allowed me to view all that with an unbiased prospective and that made all the difference. Those powers worked in this plot and Mr. Stuhlbarg was very enjoyable to watch as a being burdened by his "gift" and who choices to instead of moarning the loss of his homeworld, help prevent Earth from suffering the same fate. Also, his nervous ticks and related behavior were amusing at the proper moments. Overall, any MIB fan should get their hands on this installment and hope for more of this quality in the future. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2013
When Men in Black came out in 1997, I was thirteen. Will Smith was a huge box office star (and he arguably still is), and his rap career was about to explode thanks to his album, Big Willie Style (1997). When I first saw Men in Black, I was a huge fan. I was impressed with the creative story and willingness to accept the absurdity of dealing with aliens. It was refreshing, funny, and entertaining. Then, in 2002, the less enjoyable sequel came out. It was still a box office success but not as widely regarded or enjoyed as the original.

Fast forward to 2012. Men in Black 3 seems like a logical film to finish a trilogy, but it also doesn't seem necessary. The teenager in me was more than excited to see MIB3, but my expectations weren't that high. However, as soon as the movie ended, I walked out of the theater incredibly impressed.

Men in Black 3 takes place fourteen years after the original. Agent K (Tommy Lee Jones) and Agent J (Will Smith) are still partners. K is still old, cranky, and by the book. J is still the fun, sarcastic, ambitious, and unpredictable agent. The relationship between K and J worked fifteen years ago, and it still does. In fact, their relationship is the crux of the whole film.

The film begins with an elaborate prison break from Lunar Max, the super-high security prison for alien criminals on the moon. Boris The Animal (Jemaine Clement) is regarded as the most dangerous prisoner there and, of course, is the first to escape. Boris has a magical little creature that lives in his hand and shoots an unlimited number of bone spikes, thus providing him with plenty of ammunition. He is hell-bent on escaping the Moon in order to have revenge on K for shooting his arm off forty years ago and putting him in prison.

It's a simple enough plot and a wonderfully absurd reason for Boris' evil motivations. Boris escapes back to Earth and seeks out the ability to travel back in time to kill K before he shoots his arm off. This is where the film really hits its stride. In a touching scene, K attempts to talk to an angry J about some universal secrets he hasn't shared yet. J is furious that these secrets still exist after being partners with K for fourteen years. After J discontinues their conversation, K awaits a fight with Boris. But the fight never comes, and K literarily vanishes on the screen.

With Boris successfully killing K in the past, J must go back to 1969 (when K dies) to save him and the world. Back in 1969, young K (Josh Brolin) is a fun loving, young, hotshot agent. Brolin masterfully captures the character of K but still adds his personal touches. He isn't as cranky, and there are moments of true emotion. J's ongoing joke is always, "What happened to you?" Because of the sophistication of the relationship between the young K and J, the film offers more than just popcorn- and explosion-fodder entertainment. It actually creates something more important: a character-based film with people you actually care about.

Without going into details, the climax of the movie is exciting, thrilling, and heartbreaking. The consequences redefine the entire trilogy for the characters. In fact the climax of Men in Black 3 makes the first film even better and will only improve it with repeated viewings of the trilogy.

From a geek perspective, Men in Black 3 is also one of the single best examples of the depiction of time travel in recent films. The cause and effect consequences of meddling with time are all apparent, thought out, and used perfectly in various parts of the film. It's an almost realistic take on time travel. There are no apparent time paradoxes created, and it's not a plot that is challenging to ponder within its various timelines.

Director Barry Sonnenfeld has been hit or miss in his career (mostly hit), but he nails it here. His vision for color and character contrast is his masterstroke, and this is one of his best achievements yet as a director.

Men In Black 3 is by far the best of the trilogy and a wonderful way to end the series (hopefully, but unlikely). Yes, it's a great popcorn, summer blockbuster, but thanks to a creative, funny, and entertaining screenplay, it has the makings of a film to be much appreciated long after its theatrical release.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2013
Few movies work as hard to ruin franchise goodwill as MIB III does in its first thirty minutes. Your boredom quickly turns to hostility once you realize that no matter how unimpressed you are with the tepid dialogue, forced jokes, and glacial pacing, Tommy Lee Jones is even more unimpressed than you. By a wide margin. It's as if the man could scarcely stay awake to deliver his lines. Will Smith, on the other hand, vamps for audience with as much enthusiasm as he can muster, although he seems to realize that he's becoming an old dog with tricks of a similar vintage. When he and Jones share a scene together in a car early on, you feel as if you are watching two old boxers, both on the take, just waiting for a few more rounds to pass so they can call it a day.

And then...

The movie jumps back to 1969, trades Jones for the living miracle that is Josh Brolin, and for the next hour and a half becomes the best summer action movie you have ever seen. The pretense for having Agent J (Smith) go back in time is to prevent an alien named Boris the Animal from killing Agent K (Jones) later in 1969--something J realizes Boris has accomplished one night when K and all evidence of his existence after 1969 go missing. Why J can remember K post-1969 when no one else can is never satisfactorily explained, but you will stop caring once J meets 29-year old K, played by 42-year old Josh Brolin. That Brolin could not and does not pass for a 29-year old is almost immediately irrelevant, because Josh Brolin plays Tommy Lee Jones better than Tommy Lee Jones ever has. After you have seen Brolin's spot-on impersonation and realized that it not only matches but in many ways exceeds the original model, you will wish that other Tommy Lee Jones movies would be re-filmed with Brolin standing in. He's just that good, and his performance elevates Smith, who finds in Brolin all the chemistry he used to have with Jones.

The plot adds a few degrees of complexity to the "save K" framework. First, J isn't allowed to tell K that Boris kills him because of the time-space continuum or some such nonsense. Second, K's untimely death in 1969 kept the "Arc Net" from being deployed. What is the Arc Net? A plot device mostly, but also a giant shield that serves to protect the earth from an invasion by the evil race of aliens to which Boris the Animal belongs. So, if K dies in 1969, then earth ends in 2012.

Smith and Brolin go traipsing through 1969, and obligatory (and obvious) references to the free-love era abound. As with most jokes predictable, these fall flat, and they take up too much time (an extended scene with an MIB agent posing as Andy Warhol is about as clever as it sounds). So what works? Brolin. No matter what he is doing, it is hilarious. And Smith, as long as he is in 1969 (the race-based interactions are particularly funny). And, oddly enough, technology jokes (it's 1969, so all the gadgets are...bigger). And the action sequences, especially the clever climactic battle at the Cape Canaveral launch pad which is smarter than it is loud--a rare thing in the big-budget crowd.

But the script and director Barry Sonnenfeld truly shine with the tender elements, and not just the whopper at the end (which you will not see coming). The smallest things--interactions between the younger K and a female agent he is sweet on, a moving vision of a baseball game that has yet to take place--are presented with none of the rush or camp that you normally find in summer tent poles. The resulting undercurrent is somber enough to leave room for one of the most heartbreaking finales you will ever see in any movie, regardless of genre. Agent K's steely demeanor has always belied a tragic past, a frustration at having to do the wrong thing for the right reason for far too long. The big reveal does not disappoint, and you can feel every inch of Agent K's despair as he is presented with an awful choice, and then something worse. The scene is piercing, and it will linger in your memory more than any other in the series.

It is impossible to overstate the difference between the first quarter of this film and the rest. Had there been some tighter editing at the outset, this would be a five star movie. As it stands, the two dissimilar parts add up to a solid, four star whole. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse