Check out Santa's new ride Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22

on March 16, 2014
This book was such a pleasure to read. Totally entertaining and endearing. Lots of interesting facts told in the wittiest way with a good measure of suspense utilized to tell the tale. Do not hesitate to try this book. I have bought copies for all of my naturalist friends to rave reviews.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
For any one who doubts the intelligence of birds, this book will prove enlightening. It is a story told with both a sense of humor and a sense of wonder. You may have seen this eagle in several Disney movies, but now you can learn how she was trained. Totally enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2017
A great story and great information about eagles without reading like a textbook. I found much humor in their story of Lady as well as a very moving account of those 16 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
So glad I read this...I have been a bird watcher since childhood. I count birds for researchers in the winter. And it is true that you CAN establish a relationship with these beautiful, glorious creatures!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 1997
Kent Durden's "Gifts of an Eagle" was a rare find at the Public Library, and one of those books you want to own once you've read it. There is something about "Lady", the eagle that Kent and his father raised, that reveals a personality, a wild conciousness that was quite marvelous to witness "firsthand". Kent and his father got a liscense from the state of California to capture and raise this golden eagle, (something I doubt is even possible any more, which makes this a piece of history too.) For anyone who loves eagles, you will never get a more personal experience than this. Although out of print, this excellent book can still be found with a little digging.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
Bought this book as a gift for my husband who is very interested in eagles. He devoured it in no time, sharing so many of the stories that he read about this bird and the father and son she touched with her life
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2017
We AND OUR 12 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
Just started reading and already LOVE IT ~~~~~~~~
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
Nice story of a human-raised eagle's research and release to the wild.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Informative and touching story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here