Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Dot Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop now HTL17_gno



on August 24, 2017
Still Marlene
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
read it if you want to know behind the scenes of her time in the army and on stage. childhood is detailed,but not much about her personal life
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
A somewhat haphazard read ... unrelated subjects intertwined. Maybe if I were older, living at the time she was popular, I would have found it more fascinating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
It was a great bio but obviously not the whole story. I enjoyed it very much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
Dietrich writes with a compelling voice that kept me interested for the most part, despite the fact that she doesn't really address any of the more controversial aspects of her life. However, I didn't find her to be particularly likable - she came off as a bit superior, which was off-putting. I'm glad I read the book, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you're a big fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2012
Marlene Dietrich was an artist and an icon.
Her looks are familiar even with those that never saw one of her movies, even with those that normally avoid black & white cinema.
Dietrich was in landmark movies, directed by giants among directors.
Together with Garbo, she has come to represent all that was sensual about an era.
And she's been the subject of uncounted biographies.
It is therefore highly refreshing to find a Dietrich biography which cuts through the legend and gets up close and personal with the woman and the artist.
Unsurprisingly, such a biography is in fact an autobiography, penned by Dietrich herself with the open purpose of defusing and setting straights a lot of dubious myths about her career, her life, her choices.
What Marlene (fresh from Open Road Media) gives us is a self-portrait by a highly intelligent, refined lady - someone that almost by chance happened to lend her face and her body to some of the raciest, most seductive and risqué women in movie history.
We discover a woman with a passion for life and a somewhat bemused detachment from her job, not so much insecure about her beauty as dismissive of it. In a pleasant, ironic tone, Dietrich shares details of her life, her opinions on art and literature, her strong political stance, and her reminiscences about the people she worked with.
Joseph von Sternberg stands out as Dietrich's main influence and mentor, and reading about Marlene's experiences allows us to peek behind the scenes during the filming of such masterworks as The Blue Angel or Morocco.
An extraordinary treat for the film buff, and a highly entertaining, moving experience for anyone interested in the true woman behind the glitter of the legend.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2016
I enjoyed the book very much. Ms. Dietrich writes with such humility and in such a personable way, you gel like you knew her when the book is done. An interesting, impressive and likable woman
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2009
The best way to summarize the contents of this book would be to describe it as a compilation of words that attempt to describe Dietrich as she understood herself. It is rather like a journal in that she writes about her thoughts and opinions, honestly and frankly all throughout. There are no tell-all's, this is not that kind of an autobiography. Instead, reading this book will enable one to understand what motivated the woman and the actress, and what values were her priorities in life. It is very straightforward and often inspiring. There is much to learn here, and I can only say a belated thanks to the lady who was willing to share her wisdom and experience with a devoted audience.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2010
I read the entire book in 1 day couldnt put it down. What an amazing woman so smart and whitty..for any one who wants to learn bout the legend herself and for anyone who wants to learn how it was and how it should be..going into the new year of 2011 this book is a reminder of how classy people where and hard working not so ghetto and lazy like now...love you mrs dietrich..and its december 27 ....marlenes birthday...happy birthday dietrich...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
She will always be remembered. Now we know why.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse