Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 18, 2013
The Let's Talk Turkey and All the Trimmings published by Hearst is a wonderful cookbook for the novice Thanksgiving cook. Especially so as the price is a gem as you will find plenty of Thanksgiving cooking information and tips in this cookbook. Best of all this cookbook offers a Thanksgiving countdown planner and tips for how to repair Thanksgiving boo-boos. I sure wish I had this cookbook when I started out cooking Thanksgiving dinner over 30 years ago.

Some of the recipes you will find in this cookbook include:

Roast Turkey with Giblet Gravy (I made this recipe for my first Thanksgiving dinner many years as it was found in the old red Good Housekeeping cookbook, if I remember right)

Cranberry-Apple Cider Gravy

Savory Bread Stuffing with Pears

Crispy Cornbread Sticks

Apple & Squash Soup

Brussels Sprouts with Leeks & Bacon

Sweet Potatoes with Marshmallow Meringue

Chocolate-Walnut Pie

Pumpkin Pie with Creme Fraiche Whipped Cream

Turkey & Vegetable Lasagna (uses leftover turkey)

There is an interactive table of contents making navigation easy.

Highly recommend.

Penmouse
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
A nice, and rather thorough, treatment of the preparation of a traditional Thanksgiving feast. Nicely illustrated, including how to trim and carve the bird, ideas for appealing place settings (from simple to formal), and a whole lot more. I'm sure the section on planning the event, sizing the portions to cook, and especially how to troubleshoot problems on the Big Day will all be useful to you, and that's just the beginning.

The recipes are well organized, beginning with a lavish variety of turkey preps (mostly roasted, but there the similarity ends) including gravies and sauces using the pan drippings, through relishes, stuffings, breads, salads & soups, sides and desserts. Even ideas for leftovers are included. There is at least one picture per recipe, to give an idea of what the final dish might look like. (Mine don't look that good, but they still taste marvelous.)

With all the Thanksgiving cookbook choices out there, why 5 stars? Variety. So many ingredients we never consider for a classic Thanksgiving feast: Chorizo; ginger; escarole and more. Then there's the clean formatting for Kindle; a joy to read through, and easy to use in the kitchen. The value pricing makes it doubly attractive.

Whether you're just starting out on the Turkey Day Feast or have done many, this book will help in many ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
This is the very best Thanksgiving Dinner cookbook that I've seen in a very long time. Everything is pictured with easy to read instructions, without loads of ingredients. There are also good chapters on preparing a turkey and cutting it afterwards. Likewise, pie crusts are explained well. Everything included from good old traditional foods, with lots of interesting varieties for stuffings, vegetables and deserts. Great for families who want to be traditional, but want to try some new ways of making their favorites like sweet potatoes, and cranberry receipts!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
This is a great cookbook with many novel ideas for the holidays. Directions are quite thorough..don't be scared away by the details in them. They seem to assume everyone is a novice cook which is a good thing. Love the variety and even uses for leftovers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
This is a great cookbook. The recipes are very good and not unhealthy. It became my "go-to" this past Thanksgiving and I will use all year round. I'm sometimes like to switch up ingredients for different tastes and these recipes fit the bill. There are even examples and ideas for table settings. Recipe for brining was excellent. I would definitely recommend this cookbook.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2016
So many unique make-ahead recipes that are short on ingredients and long on flavor. In addition, directions are simple, and colorful pictures are provided.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
I ordered this for a little inspiration this past Thanksgiving. I already have my own recipies, but was looking to put a twist on them. The recipies are very easy to understand and are simple to execute, I think even a novice cook could pull these off.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
I really enjoyed this book and even used some of the recipes for my holiday. They turned out quite well. I also learned a few things I didn't know. This is a nice reference book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
This is the perfect wedding shower gift!it gives the novice simple directions, provides pictures of the finished dish and full details about planning the big event,( which is the key!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Very nice ebook; will come in handy next Thanksgiving. Nice that it was such a good deal. I would recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here