Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 55 reviews
on November 9, 2012
We purchased this laptop October 30th, 2012. We would have given this product 5 stars if not for the problems we have had with getting it to turn on. We were very happy with the smaller 14" screen, how lightweight it was, user-friendly, seemed to have a long battery life and we loved the way the keyboard lit up when any key was pressed. Here is the one major problem we've had. We have had this laptop less than 2wks. and we have had nothing but problems getting the laptop to turn on after going into hibernation, sleep and after being shut down. We have tried everything. We made sure the battery was fully charged, took the battery out and reinserted. We tried googling the problem to see how others fixed this problem and even called Sony Vaio Support. One time it would turn on, the next time it wouldn't turn on at all. We repeated the process all over again and sometimes that would work, but more often not. We are feeling very frustrated & disappointed. We have decided to exchange this laptop for a replacement of this exact model and hope the one we are returning is just a fluke. Aside from the problems we have had with this laptop not turning on, we have been happy with this laptop and would recommend this model to others.
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
I loved this computer. After doing lots of research looking for a computer to suit my needs I settled for the Sony Vaio E series. The keyboard is phenomenal - Beautiful backlighting (a novelty to me), no keyboard flex (great because I type frequently and quickly), and the keys themselves were awesome. The screen was very bright - An all around very attractive computer. Startup time was also great... UNTIL:
Within 24 hours of having this computer I started noticing glitches within the mousepad. Very frustrating. Also, after stalling Windows 8 "updates" my computer completely crashed. I spent 2 hours on the phone with tech support while my brand new PC had to completely reset. Needless to say it was a nightmare. It just froze on the start screen and wouldn't work even after restarting!

Finally, though I realize this is not Sony's fault -- My initial excitement was detracted by the fact that I soon noticed there was a small, but undoubtedly worsening crack in the plastic material surrounding the black trim of the computer. There were actually some wires exposed. Also, upon arrival the keyboard was popped out of place - While this is insignificant because ultimately the keyboard was fine, it is extremely frustrating that Amazon ships their products in these states.

Ultimately, I wish Sony should have kept their Windows 7 E series around a little longer.. Definitely avoid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
I had really high hopes for this laptop. I was particularly interested in the Sony VAIO E Series for its price point, the build and design, it has good specs, and I loved the idea of having a backlit keyboard as this feature is more in high end laptops and was getting out of my budget. I looked up numerous YouTube videos and models for a solid week or so and came down to this particular one for the price, color, and screen size.

First impressions were good. I loved the packaging and box, and upon taking the laptop out, the design is absolutely gorgeous. It's very sleek and sharp.

The problems then started coming as I was setting the laptop up; first thing I noticed right out of the gates.

- A whole section of my backlit keyboard was defective. I even took it into a dark room and tested it constantly and fiddled through the settings just to make sure I didn't have a incorrect setting enabled or something needed to be enabled.

- The laptop was uneven on my desk. You could push down on one side and the laptop would slightly wobble. I tested this on several desks and counters around the house.

- The hard drive constantly made a scanning noise, even when the laptop was idle, I double and TRIPLE checked processes running in the background, but for some reason, the laptop began to be really noisy and there was nothing I could do to subdue the noise coming from the HD.

- The touchpad is an absolute nightmare to use. Scrolling is choppy, the cursor skips everywhere on the screen when typing.

I've owned many laptops ranging from HP, Toshiba, Apple, Dell. This was my first Sony VAIO product and I had high hopes as Sony is always known for their quality VAIO line. I was extremely taken back and disappointed on this model. I had high hopes and REALLY wanted to like it as its the best looking laptop around this price point.

I don't know if I got a lemon, but based on these models posted on Amazon, the reviews are very scattered from 1 star to 5 star ratings. It seems that the quality control and testing maybe wasn't very thorough. I will be returning this and maybe expanding my budget a bit to get something with more quality control, because this laptop needs some serious work.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
I am so disappointed. This was the first time I had purchased a computer from Amazon and it has been a nightmare. Took the computer out, tried to turn it on and then called Tech support. Tech support informed us that it was broken but that any warranty or replacement would have to come from Amazon. I called Amazon and was told that the item was no longer available and that it would take 3-5 days to receive a replacement. We were sent a pick up order and delivered the computer to UPS for the return. I call today and am told that the replacement won't ever be available, BUT there is an updated unit for only $70 more. So buy the new one and we will issue a refund for the first one when we get around to it. I'm just plain disgusted. I have dealt with Amazon for many years and never had this experience. That is why I chose to buy a computer for my university student daughter. The old saying: "BUYER BEWARE" is apropro!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
I have been using this laptop for over a week now. It is great! The system is powerful, runs smooth and quiet, and the light up keys are really nice.
The few games I have downloaded work perfectly.
It runs windows 8, which I have never used before this, so I was a bit wary before purchasing. But now I am glad I did. Windows 8 is really easy to use, so don't believe what all the critics say. For me the learning curve for the new system was about an hour. Now that I am used to all the nice shortcuts I can navigate even better than I could on windows 7.
I highly recommend this laptop. For school, gaming, home, work, it is perfect for any situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2014
I had to execute a hard drive recovery twice for this laptop. The first time was withing three months of purchase and it was still under warranty. I requested a new computer from Sony, but instead their technician had me do a full recovery. This solved the problem, but only for another 12 months. Now the computer has crashed again, and I could not recover any files using the Vaio recovery wizard, so AGAIN had to to a full recovery losing all my settings, programs etc. I will not be buying a Windows computer EVER AGAIN!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
I have this laptop for almost four years now and I have no regrets. I bought it in 2012, shortly after I started university. I have now completed university and my laptop is still going strong. I have never changed any parts on it. love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
This unit is a capable laptop and had had no electrical problems. BUT the housing feels cheap and paper thin. Seams pop loose and get caught on clothing or backpack. The glossy screen is already scratched by the keys after one week in a backpack. The black finish shows every single fingerprint so you'll feel like it needs washing every time you pick it up. When I bought a Sony I figured I was getting a top tier product and am disappointed. I normally keep laptops for years, but this one probably won't make it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
Liking my new laptop, am viewing it with a side-eye though as I am a writer, so I need a laptop to write and conduct research. this is the 4th laptop, I have bougth since May 2005s. (HP sucks and dies after 2 years; don't even get me started on Dell home computers - apparently both companies make their computers for the corporate world not a poor, 28% tax paying chica) Anywho...I worked on a colleagues Vaio and decided I would try a Sony, so far so good. the touch pad has me a bit loopy yet it is multi-functional and I just haven't gotten the hang of it yet(didn't read instructions) Windows 8 not so bad, love the SOny software to create movies and such; picked the laptop for the color - overall I am satisfied BUT if this VAIO dies in 24 months...I promise to return and refute EVERY WORD. For now call me S A T I S I F I E D!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
The screen is bright, clear yet easy to read in environments with overhead lights like a library. It does not have glare problems to the extent my HP Pavilion does. The keyboard has good ergonomics and layout with no distracting flex. Backlighting is helpful in low light situations. Battery life is excellent. I was in a four hour meeting taking notes with Outlook receiving messages the entire time. The battery life showed 50% and another four hours remaining at the end! The synaptics touch pad works great once one does two things:
1) Turn off tapping in the device settings. I don't know why tapping is enabled by default on most laptops with touchpads. For the vast majority of people it just makes using a touch pad much more difficult.
2) Become adjusted to the button positions which are under the single large touch pad towards the bottom.

Windows ReadyBoost improves disk performance. I am using a SanDisk Extreme 16 GB SDHC Class 10 UHS-1 Flash Memory Card 45MB/s SDSDX-016G-X46 which I formatted as exFat.

Here is the first issue I had with a fix:
Machine: Sony VAIO E Series SVE14122CXW with windows 8
Problem: DVD drive not recognized in explorer or device manager.
Attempted to configure for auto play and inserted valid DVDs to no avail.
Sony support via online chat thought it was a hardware problem and I would need to return machine. Having dealt with HP, Toshiba and Dell support over the years I have found you don't get people with in depth knowledge and troubleshooting ability doing support. I tried some different things on my own and found a fix.
FIX:
1) Put bootable DVD in machine (like windows 7 bootable install media)
2) Power machine down
3) Wait 1 minute then power up
4) Keep hitting spacebar during boot
5) When windows 8 starts, it recognizes the drive and remembers it going forward!

What looked like a Sony hardware problem was more likely a Windows 8 problem.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse