Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 129 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 144 reviews
on January 6, 2017
This review is only for the disc, and how the content on the disc is edited. Ordered this for someone for a Christmas present. Upon playing the cd, it was discovered that the album was edited, this was not stated anywhere on the main page for the $10 disc version of the album, this was a huge disappointment. Also upon playing the cd, the cd played seemed like it destroyed the disc, caused it to become cloudy. This cloudiness washed off, but when i washed it off, the top of the cd started to de-laminate from the rest of the cd. If you want a decent copy of this album, stay far away from the $10 disc version. The physical disc is a very subpar quality, and it is edited, which is not posted anywhere. But the digital version, or fond a different version of the disc somewhere else.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
The music here is for the most part really solid! The first four tracks are the standout tracks. I ejaculate fire has one of the most epic intros I've ever heard using one hand tapping. Crush the Industry and Andromeda are excellent above average metal songs. The Galaxy is the most unusual song on this album as it a slower paced song that actually works for Dethklok (see the music video to milk the epic feelings to the max). Impeach God, Biological Warfare, and Skyhunter are three other songs that really kick ass musically (and kudos to Brendon Small for the name "Impeach God"). The final song Rejoin took me longer to get into (especially with that intro which seems to drag on for me) but I now appreciate the song. The songs I least liked were Starved, Killstar Abominate, Ghostqueen, and the Hammer. The first three seem like really generic death metal, while the last is generic classic metal. Not really memorable for me. My main complaint about this album is the lack of humor present. Other than I ejaculate fire, none of the other songs (besides the song title "Impeach God") scream "FUNNY!!!!" Seems like the standard search-through-dictionary-for-big-words death metal lyrics. The lack of humor overall, unfortunately makes this album a little less memorable and a little more generic than the music deserves it to be!

Bottom line: If you're a fan of Dethklok and/or want great, but not earth-shattering death metal get this album!! If you're looking for humor, you'd be better off getting the original Dethklok album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
Brendon Small and company prove once again that they are a force to be reckoned with in the world of metal. To release two incredible albums in one year - Galaktikon and Dethalbum III - is NO small feat! I tip my hat to them and their productivity.

Now then, who will like Dethalbum III? Well, if you liked Dethalbum II, chances are you'll love this one. I liked the original Dethalbum but not Dethalbum II, I can tell you right now that Dethklok is heading in a less melodic direction and toward pure, ugly brutality. That's not to say there aren't some melodic pieces on this album. Crush The Industry, The Galaxy, and Skyhunter are my personal favorites on the album, and I Ejaculate Fire has, hands down, the greatest guitar solo ever written. That's right, I said it, and I regret nothing.

The focus on this album is definitely on the incredibly guitar and drums, with technique taking precedence over a melodic experience. Gone are the ballads like Go Into The Water and Black Fire Upon Us, replaced instead with aural blitzkriegs from Small's Thunderhorse Gibson Guitar. This is the heaviest work Dethklok has released to date, and if you're not ready for "The Dreaded Hexikicks" in Killstardo Abominate, then you're not ready for this album.

If you love the show, though, and especially Season 3 and 4, then you'll love this album. As usual, the lyrics reflect the events of the episodes, even after years of rewrites and improvements. If you are familiar with the story of the show, then you'll get a laugh out of the subtle references in the songs back to the show itself. While the subject matter of the songs is not overtly funny, it's also not as dark as that in some other death metal. It's all done tongue-in-cheek here, par for the course for Dethklok, but done with skill lightyears beyond what could be found on the original Dethalbum.

Yes, avoid the censored version, as the few swears that are on this album are actually smartly used to comedic effect. I can only guess how much is lost without them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
To me, this is the best Dethklok album to date. That's saying something as the first two are also outstanding. Brendan Small has the ability to bring melody to the death metal sound without making the music the least bit mushy. It's precise and brutal with melodic flourishes. Naturally, the guitar work is exquisite. The drum work is also top notch and the bass is deep. The engineering and production are also excellent. The MP3s sound great! And they're explicit.

This album is like a symphony from a death metal orchestra. On first listen, the individual songs don't seem to have the sort of character that makes classics, but the entire album is an exercise in musical virtuosity and structural excellence. Every song has something to contribute, and the uniqueness of each song becomes clear with repeated listening. I can't pick a favorite. I did throw Rejoin off the playlist, but that's me. It's quite good, but not to my taste.

As other reviewers have noted, the humor is toned down. It's still there, but it's more subtle. You don't find anything like the Duncan Hills Coffee Jingle, Face Fisted, or Laser Cannon Death Sentence; but songs like I Ejaculate Fire and Impeach God are too over the top to take seriously. And the musicianship is awesome! It's too good to ignore.

It's funny that Dethklok is the imaginary band from a cartoon show, because the music is better than the music of most real bands. If you are a fan of brutal, melodic, well-crafted metal with razor sharp musicianship, you must have this album. Buy it! You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
Great album. To be honest, it's not as memorable as the Dethalbum II was when I first heard it, but it's great nonetheless. Top 5 tracks are, in my opinion, "I Ejaculate Fire", "The Galaxy", "The Hammer", "Crush The Industry", and "Impeach God". Honorable mentions include "Skyhunter" and "Biological Warfare". The things about this record that aren't so great are that some things sound a bit repetitive and they don't feel as unique as the Dethalbum II did, and the comedy factor is much lower than before. But all in all the album is solid and easily their heaviest work to date, and it's still Dethklok, with their dark lyrics and brutal as ever, and anyone who is a fan and debating whether to buy the album should go ahead and get it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2017
When I received the disk, it was heavily damaged and unplayable. I sent it back to Amazon and their replacement CD was just as badly damaged as the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Many of the tracks on this album represent the latest progression of the incomparable 1st two albums. The first three tracks just plain melted my face. Other spontaneous-flame-inducing tracks include "Killstardo Abominate", "Biological Warfare" and "Rejoin" which run the gamut from brutal to cutting-edge metal innovation. The shred factor in "Biological Warfare" and many other tracks is second to none and I must emphasize there is phenomenal creativity and virtuosity on many of these tracks. However, even on some of the killer tracks there just seems to be a lot of "fluff". One could cut out about 45 seconds of connecting fluff out of "Biological Warfare" and maybe about 1:30 out of "Rejoin" and convert these to concise, focused, mind-blowing tracks. Different people are going to connect to different things on here, but I found a lot of the tracks more like background-relaxing-tunes-to-fall-asleep-by, possibly because the vocal mix seems to lack intensity. (Another 6.66 dB on the vocals would be killer). This might be a plus for those looking for a more instrumental mix (and the mix is super good otherwise) But at the end of the the day it's well worth the price of admission for what is mostly brain-incinerating Dethklok material we've come to know and love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
Simply put, if you like the show, you will like the album. If you have never seen the show, get on Hulu and watch it. If you haven't watched the show, it is about a death metal band that gets into all sorts of metal themed antics. The accompanying music was made into an album. Here it is. If you are a fan of metal or satire, this will be right up your alley.
Dethklok intends to make the world metal and with albums like this, they may just do it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Another evolution; this album is even heavier than the second, with much less show-based humor. This is Dethklok the band, as Brendon Small probably originally conceived it, come to fruition. "Starved" is one of the most dynamic, chunkiest, center-of-a-black-hole heavy metal grooves I have ever heard... and this is by a fictitious cartoon band? Brilliant. And "Impeach God" would sound right at home on an album from any big-name death metal band out there. He is a rare talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
Better than 2.

Higher quality technical execution than 1, better music than 1, but (for lack of another way to say this) still not quite as "heavy;" whereas I think I like 3 better, the line is very thin, and it's still 1 I go to when I'm unhappy.

At this point I have all eight of Small's albums (the three secondary albums in the deluxe versions, the tour album, and his rock album Galaktikon.) My favorite is a close toss-up between this and the original album.

This is very similar in style to his earlier Dethklok work. Your reaction to those albums will be similar to your reaction to this.

For fans, strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here