Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services GimmeDanger GimmeDanger GimmeDanger  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Elton John Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 205 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 227 reviews
on January 5, 2017
If you like country, this is a big WOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
Excellent CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
I received this cd yesterday after waiting what seemed like forever. This is so unbelievably wonderful. True country. Takes you back to real country music not this pop so called country music. I can count on one hand the country artists that are true country artists today and Jamey is for sure country. Wouldnt expect anything less from Jamey. Definitely think i will be listening to this one over and over again! This is so worth the purchase!.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2012
Like many, I first became aware of Hank Cochran through his wonderful songs performed by the great Patsy Cline. Having grown up in the rock generation of the late sixties and seventies, I remember several conversations with friends about the great songwriters. Dylan, Lennon, Young would all immediately be brought up but i would always say "Don't forget about Hank Cochran", which would usually draw quizzical looks. After rattling off several of the classic Hank-Patsy songs, friends would say "One guy wrote ALL those?". I was especially happy to see the Hank revival in the early 90's with several of the emerging alt-country bands covering Hank songs. From Ray Price and Buck Owens to Hazeldine and American Paint, Hank has always been there (a true favorite of mine is the Hazeldine cover of It's Only Love - surprised that song didn't show up here). As for this tribute, wow! The magnitude of this all star cast exemplifies the admiration, appreciation and love the true bloods of Americana music have for an amazing person and songwriter, the likes of which we will probably never see again. Thanks to Jamey Johnson, the wonderful musicians on this CD, the production staff (all top notch) but most of all thanks to Hank Cochran for leaving us a lifetime of songs that will live on forever.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2012
With an all-star cast of legends on board, Jamey brings to life some of the best songs from Cochran's catalog, including some of his lesser known material. Willie and Merle are both extremely strong vocally and, of course, King George knocks one out of the park with "The Eagle" (certainly not a conventional choice given Strait has taken a number of Cochran's songs to the top ten over his career).

If you're interested in discovering or rediscovering some of the most important songs in the genre's history, this album is the ticket. I can only hope that Jamey will continue to write, cover and collaborate on this level for many years to come.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 24, 2012
There are few songwriters in country music history who can wring so much emotion out of a song as Hank Cochran did. His lyrics were simple and to the point, yet told such emotionally complex stories. Songs like "Would These Arms Be In Your Way" and "Make the World Go Away" have entered the pantheon of classic country songs; you've heard these before even if you aren't aware of it, because they are, simply, timeless.

Jamey Johnson has proven himself to be a superb singer/songwriter, which makes his choice of a covers album an interesting one. Obviously, there will be no major hits from this record--sadly, that goes without saying. But there don't have to be any hits, because all of these songs WERE hits at one point. And the truth is, Johnson simply hits this record out of the ballpark. He's joined by an impressive supporting cast: Kris Kristofferson, George Strait, Ronnie Dunn, Willie Nelson, Ray Price, Elvis Costello, Merle Haggard, Lee Ann Womack, and many more (each song is basically a duet). Each artist featured here is clearly in love with the material, relishing in the chance to record music of this caliber. Johnson spends more time on the ballads and heartbreak songs, which makes this album best enjoyed at night, with a cold beer; it also bogs down the listener a bit much, making those moments where he cuts loose ("I Don't Do Windows," "This Ain't My First Rodeo") all the more refreshing. Still, overall, LIVING FOR A SONG is a fantastic, traditional country record. If you like your country with fiddle, steel, and soul, you shouldn't pass this album up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2016
I have listened to this unbelievably great CD over and over since it came out. The duets Jamey performs with the great voices of country music are just so outstanding. I went to hear Jamey in concert last night at the Golden Nugget in Lake Charles, LA and he surprised the audience by bringing out his special guest Alison Krauss and, of course, they sang the intro song to this CD, "Make the World Go Away," and the crowd went wild. Jamey paid tribute to the great Hag, one of his collaborators on this CD, by singing "I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink." This guy is the real deal, he just comes out on stage with no announcement, wearing a white t-shirt and jeans, and just performs. This CD just confirms that he is carrying the torch for the real country greats who preceded him. Buy this CD, you'll be amazed at the performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
I absolutely love the CD! I buy a lot of CDs (1 or 2 a week) and this one is just great! There was no trying "to get used to" the songs so I could decide if I liked them or not...... Each arrangement is fantastic! The various stars singing with Jamey Johnson are enjoyable, but the main thing is the superb arrangements. If you enjoy any of the "older" country (the kind Blake Shelton doesn't appreciate), then this one is definitely for you. I wish Jamey Johnson a long and successful career, especially if he has the foresight to put together such good music in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
This is a incredible tribute to one of country's finest song writers past or present. Hank set the mark for other song writers to follow.
The cast on this tribute CD is legendary with icons such as Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson. These legendary artists have one time or the other
recorded previously with Hank Cochran. The body of work by Hank covered in this CD is tremendous. Kudos to Jamie Johnson for his wonderful initiative and all the artists for
their time and respect to a legendary song writer. This CD is bound for posterity and a must have for country fans all over the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
If you're one of those people who claims to love music but, when asked, couldn't give a coherent explanation of what the song was about, don't waste your time or mine reading this review. It's like trying to teach a pig to sing; it accomplishes absolutely nothing but annoys the hell out of the pig. However, if you believe there are only two types of music, good and bad, and can distinguish between the two, you need to listen to this album. Jamey had an album out a few years back called "The Dollar", which had a successful radio friendly hit by the same name.It was actually the worst song on the album but it was commercial. Jamey started doing drugs, went a little crazy, and ended up in prison. He came out of prison broke, but kept writing songs. Two of those songs became huge hits for other artists-George Strait ("Give it Away") and Trace Adkins ("Honky-Tonk Bedonkadonk"). "Give it Away" won him the Songwriter of the Year" award and gave him enough money to produce and record his next album, "That Long Lonesome Song", which won him another Songwrier of the Year" award for "In Color". Unfortunately for all of us, there isn't a Country Music radio programmer with enough sense to play his records. It seems he's "too country!" Idiots! This album is his homage to a great songwriter named Hank Cochran. I'll be the first to admit that I had no interest in country music when Hank came along but I defy you to listen to this album and not be blown away! Go to YouTube and listen to Jamey Johnson's voice and pay attention to his lyrics. There are a ton of people turning out music today and five years from now nobody will remember more than 10% of them, if that many. Once you hear Jamey, you will NEVER forget him! He is a TRUE ARTIST! Trust me, you will thank me for turning you on to him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99
$1.98

Need customer service? Click here