Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 47 reviews
on October 24, 2012
This story I hope portrays what most journalist could not, the extreme personal side of war, brotherhood and death. This is a struggle me and all my Marines face and live with and through everyday. Very good book, Brian did a great job of not only capturing but making the reader live through my dark days and my personal pain. He also demonstrates our success and hard work and brotherhood. This has every aspect of war, friendship and brotherhood.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
A book out today about 2/8's Fox Co's 3rd Platoon. The title "The Living and the Dead: War, Friendship and the Battles that Never End". Writing about their fight in 2011 through the eyes and words of Sgt Whorl, as well as telling the story of two Marines who did not come home, SSgt James Malachowski and Cpl Ian Muller, both of whom fought beside Sgt Whorl, the author tries to take you there. Honoring heroes, brothers, and recognizing the thread that is woven through all of you connecting you in ways that noone can ever truly understand beyond you- you who have experienced the words of the title- The Living and the Dead: War, Friendship and the Battles that Never End. Look for it, buy it, and share it. I know I will.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
What a read. It seems like stories of war have run rampant through newspapers, magazines, television broadcasts and radio stories ever since the war has started. That's nearly 12 years of war experiences and stories that could be written and reported on. "The Living and the Dead," written by Brian Mockenhaupt is a piece that at first reads like a series of vignettes, then narrows it's focus into the life of one soldier whose experiences haunt him, even after he leaves his station in Afghanistan, Dakota -named after a young, fallen soldier.

"The Living and the Dead" is broken down into five chapters that move the story along in such a way that deeply involves the reader in the long and gruesomely moving story that doesn't hold back from taking the reader right into the pain, grief, and depression of warfare and its aftermath. Mockenhaupt does a terrific job reporting, using material pulled form the journals of deceased soldiers showing the reader what kind of situations made soldiers think the classic teenage slogan, "FML" and what they painfully dreaded doing every time they went on patrol.

There are many instances in the story where the reader's heart is pulled and tugged at in the worst ways as we go along for the ride with Tom and his family, Ian's mother, and Nina as their lives are completely changed. Mockenhaupt manages to create a story with undeniably good material that comes together to make a story that is full of emotion, drama, love, loss, violence, and history.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
This book is riveting. From the beginning, you are drawn into situations most people, thankfully, will never experience. With vivid writing the reader becomes a part of the world where Tom, Ian, Jimmy and the others live, work, laugh and cry. Where there is no normal day at the office. Where every emotion is raw. Where friendships are forged for a lifetime, but taken away in seconds. Where the horrors and terrors of war are not left on the sand of the battlefield, but carried home with them for a lifetime. We are proud to be Tom's aunts, proud of his strength in sharing this part of his life, proud of his determination to humanize war and it's profound effects on so many lives, proud of his leadership and devotion to his troops. It is an honor to know these heros through Brian's writing. Patti and Sharon
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
This beautifully written book is a poignant reminder that the young men who fight ours wars aren't faceless soldiers. They're sons, husbands, brothers--and friends. The story of Ian, Jimmy, and Tom--three Marines who became close friends despite their differences in rank--is timeless. War might have become more sophisticated and technical over the years, but the truths, as Mockenhaupt points out, are the same now as they were during the Civil War and earlier: the tedium, the fear, the comaraderie, the loyalty, the horrifying violence. This story will make you cry, but read it anyway. It's a gem.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
"The Living and the Dead," written by Brian Mockenhaupt is one of my favorite wartime pieces. I work in the UCI Veteran Services Office and someone very close to me is in the Army and my stepfather was in the Navy, so I found that this Byliner article hit very close to home in a lot of ways for me. It's always devastating to read or hear about the tragedies these soldiers and families face, but when you are involved with the military, it makes it even worse. I think Mockenhaupt does an incredible job of constructing the emotions and tensions throughout the article. At first, "The Living and the Dead" read to me almost like a series of vignettes, starting off a little bit slow, before it fully focused and analyzed the intense military experience. From what I've learned by working at Veteran Services is that the return to normal life and the aftermath is almost always more haunting than the actual event, which many civilians do not understand. Mockenhaupt did a great job at describing the close relationships and brotherhood that are formed under these circumstances as well through Ian, Jimmy and Tom.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
Battles that never end, still evolve. The Living and the Dead is an amazingly vivid story about the comraderie and love shared amongst brothers in arms, their relationships with loved ones, and loyalty to one another. Brian Mockenhaupt did a spectacular job relaying the realities of war, loss, pain, and suffering felt by those who have bravely served and led overseas. Much of the loss and pain brought home by our veterans is a war in itself, as Brian depicts through Whorl's personal accounts. I am touched, honored, and moved by this story and extremely grateful to those involved who allowed Brian to so beautifully tell it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
This is a must read. As a civilian, I can never fully comprehend the hell that these men have walked through. However this book gave me an insight to their horrific journey and the unbreakable bond that they have. I will forever have immense respect for all of them. The writing is incredible.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
I like this book it's characters and it's story. I coud bond with these three friends even though I was never envolved in theirrelm of conflict. The book and the descriptions of it's characters rang true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
There a lot of stories written on the accounts of war veterans, but what identifies Brian Mockenhaupt's piece as his own is the in depth coverage that was gone to write The Living and the Dead. This story covers the livelihood as a Marine in Afghanistan which includes the good, bad, and ugly (daily interactions and combat).Tom, Ian, and Jimmy's experience and backstory is exposed; and although not all readers may not have any military experience Mockenhaupt makes it universal by highlighting themes of friendship, family, loss, and gain. This story is divided into five chapters and each chapter has a significant focus. It may seem like a lengthy single, but it reads like fiction and you could finish it in one sitting. There's so much detail and imagery in this story in comparison to other overages on the war in the Middle East. Everything is extremely vivid. I personally felt connected when Mockenhaupt had included actual entries from Tom's journal. There's not only the pressure of trying to look out for your own life, but for your comrades as well.

If you're interested in reading about coverage of military experience or looking into a more personal side to the war, then this is the Kindle Single that's worth the buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here