Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning SneakyPete SneakyPete SneakyPete  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 209 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 357 reviews
on November 19, 2012
I love Aerosmith and I always have but this album lies somewhere in the middle. There are awesome songs on this album that will rock your a** off, but then there are some head scratchers which sound like a Steven tyler/joe perry solo album and a bit of filler that kind of takes away from it as a whole. If they trimmed the fat and the stomach churning carrie underwood duet from this album it would have been another solid Aerosmith release. Im happy I bought the album for the solid, straight up rock songs the band is famous for, but the filler ballads, and carrie underwood duet are like warts that are not needed on an otherwise great release. Over all im happy with this album as I unchecked the underwood duet POS and a handful of filler ballads as I ripped it to my Ipod. So for me, for this album to be ROCK solid it has about 9 tracks not 18. 9 good songs, 8 crap/filler songs and 1 grotesque turd with carrie underwood.

Aerosmith - Music From Another Demension:

Great!

1. LUV XXX
2. Oh Yeah
5. Out Go The Lights
6. Legendary Child
8. Street Jesus
10. Lover Alot
13. Closer
11. We All Fall Down
12. Freedom Fighter

Crap/filler:
3. Beautiful - Meh
4. Tell Me - Meh
7. What Could Have Been Love - toilet flush
9. Can't Stop Loving You - toilet flush that flows over on your floor....
11. We All Fall Down - meh
14. Something - meh
15. Another Last Goodbye - meh
17. Oasis - meh
18. Sunny Side of Love - meh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2012
It is natural that when a new album is released by a band, fans of that band will be "disappointed" at first. We are accustomed to the sound of the songs we have known from them in the past and we - subconsciously - hold them to a known standard, which really isn't fair to them at all, but it's human nature to want our "warm and cozy" without change.

Does this album sound like Rocks? Yes and no. Should it sound exactly like Rocks? No! Rocks was published in 1976; why would something released in 2012 sound like something released in the mid-70's? Times change, sounds evolve and bands have to evolve as well or they will be forgotten.

Put aside your preconceived notions and listen to the amazing songs on this album more than once. Go ahead, try it. Don't give it a quick listen. Listen to it!

This is a fantastic album! It rocks on so many levels and with Jack Douglas back in the house, that old "groove" comes shining through!

Aerosmith fans waited more than a decade for this album and it is an amazing piece of work by the band we all love so much.

Their best ever? Probably not. Better than anything else out there? Damn straight!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
I am listening to "Music From Another Dimension" for the second time and, as with most new releases by older groups, it's growing on me. Sure, it doesn't sound like "Rocks", but why should it? That was almost 40 years ago! Can you believe that? These guys are 60+ years old and like me and YOU, yes YOU, they have aged and changed and so has their music. Great? Maybe not, but present day Aerosmith? Oh yeah! I saw them live recently and they still rock! Soon we're not going to have the pleasure of listening to anything new from classic groups like this because they're going to retire.

No break down of the tracks from me. Some are good, some not so good, but I buy CDs for everything that's on them and I'll listen to all of them. All 15 of these songs will join the 17000+ on my Ipod which includes the rest of the Aerosmith catalog. Do I like the ballads? Yes. I haven't created an Aerosmith image that excludes songs like "Can't Stop Loving You" or "Don't Want To Miss A Thing". Why does everybody hate that song?

As for Amazon's service, I received this CD on the day it was released. In all the orders I have placed through Amazon I have never had a problem.
1010 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
I think there is such a thing as too much filler on this album. Jack Douglas is a great producer, however I don't want to hear his introduction on LuvXXX every time I listen to the album. The same can be said for the intro to Street Jesus. Too many ballads, especially Diane Warren's Another Last goodbye. All in all an ok album. Not great, not what I would have expected, but ok.
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
I find that most of this album is really very good. There are multiple uptempo songs that rock out raw and hard (Luv XXX, Lover Alot, Legendary Child and more...) and a few slower heavier songs that are quite good as well (Closer, Something, Oasis in the Night). Yes there are too many ballads, at least 3 too many, however, with the extra tracks provided on the deluxe version(s) of this CD one gets all together somewhere around 60-70 minutes of solid rock 'n roll, (subtracting 3 ballads). There isn't nearly enough of that coming out any more these days. Of course paying extra for the deluxe variants of this CD is annoying but that's how it is. Finally, the mix on this CD is better than I've heard from Aerosmith in a long, long time. It's raw but still well balanced and doesn't sound overproduced. A major improvement over the last two studio albums of original material - Nine Lives and Just Push Play....

The criticisms of this album appear to me to be far out of proportion. Aerosmith has changed, all bands change. There will never be another album like Rocks or Toys in the Attic. That being said Aerosmith can still rock hard and raw (especially live, take a look at "You Gotta Move" - DVD). In fact, I would say that they sound better live in their older years than they did when they were younger. This is probably due to a number of reasons: a measure of sobriety leading to improved musicianship, longer variations/jams on songs in concert, and the better sounds systems available today.

Give the new album a listen. Rip the songs to a music file and delete the sappy ballads and you're left with a damn good rock 'n roll record.. Enjoy!!
My two cents anyway.....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
I bought this because I love older 'Smith. Even found small redeeming quality in 'Get A Grip'. They truly lost their way now. Don't get it. But I still cant give it a 1. maybe out of pure respect? or maybe because I am not a total 'die hard' Aerosmith fan. If I was, I would be heartbroken and wish for a 0 rating for this return CD.

They should have waited longer.

Bad in 2 regards. they are trying to relive their 80's early 90's ballad filled hit-streak (but failing miserably), and they really left their ba**s behind on this. There isn't much passion where there should be, even in the soft tracks (which compile 80% of the CD). The cheese factor is strong here. Sounds very 'by the numbers'. Add the fact that Tyler's voice is overbearingly on top in the mix, and that there is no real punch to the tracks except for the sound quality and you get this uninspired, directionless offering. Its a pretty boring mess. An extremely hyped and 'polished' mess. Especially for us old fans.

I bought it because it was cheap and I figured, with so many songs and liking most of the bands stages, a few songs had to be keepers. Not the case. I mean of 15 tracks not even 3 or 4 good songs? Its nothing offensively bad, just very very very safe. no real substance or swagger you would expect from the band. I wont be going back to this one very often because i don't remember most of it.

Oh well, its only money.. But save yours and if you want decent Aerosmith look elsewhere. Buy 'Rocks' or 'Live Bootleg' from the 70's, 'Rock In A Hard Place' from the 80's or 'Pump', 'Get a Grip' for later stuff, not this. Don't be fooled by the pretty package. Not good.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
I was very excited initially to hear this cd considering it was to be produced by Jack Douglas who worked with Aerosmith on all their big 70's albums. But of course they had to throw in a bunch of the crappy ballads written by outside writers because that's where the $$$ is. The hard rockers are pretty cool but the band seems to have lost their swagger from the 70's and will probably never get it back. Too much money and not enough desperation leads to "safe" music. These guys used to be a band to fear with how hard they could rock but now it's all just worthless "product" with no attitude. Saw them live at Madison Square Garden recently too and at least live there was some of that cool factor. The performances were spot on but I guess it's in the studio is where they need to figure out how to capture that magic again. Sadly this is rumored to be their last cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
Too Many Production Company enchanments to the sound, which weren't even musical effects. Too much jivin around and not enough hard rockin'. Too much Jivin. Too much celebrity-soul-singing. Not enough harmonics. Not enough rhythym. Not enough melody. Not enough thick gritty guitars reverberating from all over the place. Not enough thunderous, ballistic drumwork. Not enough "Yak-Yak-Yak-Yak" by Steven Tyler. Too much weird sound effects that don't even rock. and finally, TOO MUCH TALKING at the beginning and end. It's there worst studio album, even below Honkin' On Bobo. Still, it gets three stars because it's worth hoping around from track to track.

Hard Core Aerosmith fans Must have it, but everyone else can wait till they've collected the rest of their studio discography, now fifteen albums counting this one. If you happen to love all their ballads, then go ahead and get this anyway; it's loaded down with six out of fifteen tracks.

I believe a great album results, not just by the good stuff that's on it, but the Other stuff that's LEFT OFF. Although it's loaded with an album's worth of great music, unfortunately, it also includes some of their least inspiring and Hollywood produced teeny-bopper-pop-fluddery imaginable. Some of the tunes are as sappy as as "Hole in my Soul" from the nineties album Nine Lives, or "Fly Away from Here," from last decades Just Push Play. Except there's no rockin' ballads like "Sunshine" and "Jaded" [on JPP] ... (or) "Full Circle" - "Fallen Angels" - "Kiss Your Past Goodbye" - "Ain't That a Bitch," [on NL] which could stealth under the hard rock radar back then. The album simply breaks the cardinal rules of a Well-Produced hard rock album: too much non harmonic "Hollywood" sound effects. A listener like myself wants to hear Aerosmith, not a Steven Spielberg movie clip the producer decided to "add" on a whim, perhaps to thicken the songs out. Even if the band concocted that stuff, it still comes across as unoriginal with tons of "alien" material littering THEIR album. I disdain the choruses that sound unlike Aerosmith in every conceivable way.

So, You pop this CD into Your laptop or PC, and Your "RythmBox Music Player" software rips it to the Hard-drive. Nice! You can now listen to it anytime you like, which You finally admit that half of songs You indeed WILL BE listening to, a Lot. You think Your software is really innovative because: You thought You had lost track 9, "Can't Stop Lovin' You" It just wasn't there with the rest of Your tracks under "Aerosmith" What happened to track 9? Well, later You discover that it's put All-By-Its-Lonesome under another Artist listing, "Aerosmith & Carrie Underwood" You pat yourself on Your back figuring Rythmbox is a truly COOL music organizer because its FREE, Open Source and never advertises, and It successfully isolated that culprit song away from the rest of Aerosmith's tunes. "Cool" You figure, Smiling hardily.

I'm listening to those Aerosmith tracks now... Wow, it COULD have been another jewel of an album with only eight, maybe nine tunes. I figure: LUV XXX, Oh Yeah, Out Go the Lights, Legendary Child, Street Jesus, Lover Alot, Freedom Fighter, and heck, one ballad that passes due to a gritty Aeosmith guitar sound, "Closer" Okay, and they could bleed it over into the mostly instrumental "Something" to finally end the album. If they trimmed all the ballads off, they could have saved them for another album next year, then kept Eight Tracks, expanded the rhythm and guitar harmonics out to achieve a long enough album length, forty minutes.

"Beautiful" is catchy, so much potential, but it's Aerosmith mostly hipping off, which destroys it. The other tunes are cry for me ballads: "Tell Me" "What Could Have Been Love" "We All Fall Down" "Another Last Goodbye" all somewhat catchy to pretty good, but they spoil the other parts of the album. So the listener is a hedonist one minute, a rapper the next, then crying a ballad six times in between. When Sony Music fell down the slippery slop on Nine Lives, they just kept going down WITH BALLAD FEVER.

My ears think an Aerosmith album should sound much like Joe Perry's self titled 2005 album, but with Steven Tyler on lyrics. I'm only writing this Review, just know, because saw them perform in Atlanta last week, and I'm guessing there hasn't been that much excitement here since Sherman marched through. It was a revival for fans! So I hope they get off their solo-sidejobs and finally do THAT new album now that they've heard their fans complain:

Dear Aerosmith -- please don't try to please two generations of audiences with a single CD anymore. Give US something new with one release, then give THEM something new on another, but not on the SAME plate of food. Thanks for "Music From..." but I just don't like the ice-cream-glitter served up on the same plate as my meat dish. Consistency is the hallmark of a fantastic album. The production fluff (yet again) brings the listening experience down on the Knees-of-blueArmy-Despair, no Falling In Love to lift it up. It's like a fine plate served with cotton-candy and ice-cream for the kids, AND for the adults: steak, chops, stuffin', and the long-string-bean. Thanks -- FAN

I'm still not done with the complaining! The worst part of it all is the album kick-off start, not with music, not even with some cool harmonic pizzaz, but with something unworthy even of an Aerosmith commercial advertising the concert that's coming to town. Oh, I read through the CD liner notes about it, and that's the Producer, Jack Douglas, speaking "hip" to us listeners, apparently trying to repeat 92's Get A Grip breakout with Steven Tyler's sage advice. Message to producer: You can explain the album on TV, alright, else join the chorus. And we are not that easily impressed with Hollywood "sound affects" anymore, unless its a V-coder, amp distortion or something harmonic that spells R-O-C-K. It isn't the nineties anymore, okay?

Music From Another Dimension, therefore, instantly comes across as a commercial production created by a record label, not a hard rock album created by Aerosmith.

Aerosmith still sounds great musically, but the new lyrics are like saccharine, and the production is full of Hollywood Style Gimmicks rather than what I want (sound effects produced by a hard rock band) I liked their Get a Grip album, but they still keep trying to replicate their 90's Get a Grip's formula, now more than ever, stretching it's style wider than ever before. This music is all over the place.

I'm hoping they wrap up their steller careers with a few short consistent (even repetitive sounding) albums with about eight tracks that bleed into each other. (They've got several styles of audiences to please before they retire) So the question is, could they come up with 24 new songs before they retire, and please each group, one at a time? I think it would be a commercial success; Aerosmith could have sold twice as many copies with only eight of their hard rocking tracks on this CD. Then sold twice as many again with the other tracks the following year.

So, the big flaw in Music From Another Dimension for me is that it sounds too eclectic, when what I really want to hear from Aerosmith is something harmonically consistent and band generated. I want to get in a particular mood and stay there from first to last track. If that's what you like though, this may be perfect for you. It does a little of everything, and to me that's disappoiting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2012
I went into the first listening of this album with expectations well above where I should have. That is partly due to the available reviews of the album by the press who had access prior to the release and partly due to my love of what Aerosmith does. Of the former, I read that the album title was placing the output more in line with "Toys" and "Rocks" releases from the seventies, meaning it would have - in my mind - the raunchy, in your face lyrics that somehow slid into AM radio and the hard driving and rhythmic guitar leads that land outside guitar virtuosity but made the songs stick in your head. Aerosmith has reinvented itself several times to stay relevant and done a great job of drawing in new listeners while keeping true to the people who love the old stuff. I'm okay with that compromise for the most part. The problem is that, the further they go along this road, it seems more like a fight between Steven Tyler's input and that of the rest of the band. It feels like each new album is more produced than the last and this one is no different. The spacing just feels off. Going back and listening to the older albums, you hear space - and it works. On this album, its almost as if the band is uncomfortable without something filling each moment. It feels as if it would be a better album if someone would cut more out, whether that's backing vocals, effects, or something. I'm actually looking forward to hearing some of this stuff live to see if it sounds better without the fill. Hopefully having the boys tour together will help them sort out some of the feel that seems off. I also hope that Joe is able to figure out how to make some of the songs have more rhythmic fills to make them sound more accessible. All that said, it's Aerosmith. Few bands still around can make decent music that has that dynamic that works between the rhythm section, the leads, and the vocals. Ultimately, that makes it worth a listen. And another couple listens to help it grow on you, even when a country singer is featured.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2012
I bought the 2CD/DVD Deluxe version and the vinyl version. The vinyl definitely sounds better and I was surprised to find out it is on clear red colored vinyl. 2/3's of the songs are decent. It maybe the best Aerosmith album since they went pop, but its not blowing me away by any means.
review image
55 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse