Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 175 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 200 reviews
on April 19, 2017
After being a country fan for years, I didn't know quite what to expect from Aaron Lewis in this genre. I have been pleasantly surprised by the catchy tunes and the ease of which Aaron "fits" into the pantheon of country music. An enjoyable listen and well worth looking up for both fans of Aaron's and those who enjoy contemporary country!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
We saw Lewis at AZ's 2013 Country Thunder, a terrific experience of 3 1/2 days of country music. I was surprised by what I heard. In my opinion, Lewis' music that day, (all written by him, with one exception), dominated. His honest and personal lyrics were such a refreshing change of pace from some of the other "top billing" performers who offered overproduced songs and cheaply glamorized beer and getting drunk. (I like my beer, but come on guys!) Lewis isn't a novice to the music scene either, having been a lead for the successful rock group, Staind. Who would have thought, hey? The Road is a collection of original stories, and each story contains something that will grab just about anyone with a real life. The lyrics make you think; the music is purer. I hope he continues to produce in this genre. This CD is definitely one of my most favorite country albums these days. Give it a good listen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
"The Road" is a 2012 country album from Aaron Lewis. Aaron Lewis, most known for his work as lead vocals for the popular rock/metal group known as Staind attempts to make the transition to country music, similar to other artists such as Kid Rock. "The Road" is not Lewis's first attempt at country music however as he released an EP in 2011, "Town Line", to generally favorably reviews.
Overall I believe that "The Road" shows that Aaron Lewis has the potential to become a successful country artist. Some might believe that Lewis would choose to sing in a more southern style voice comparable to many popular country artists today but the low, gravelly that Lewis has became known for strangely seems to fit country music well. The sound of "The Road" has a much more traditional country feel to it with more pedal steel guitar and fiddle which is different from other popular male country acts today such as Luke Bryan and Jason Aldean. It makes the album feel much more country otherwise it would sound very similar to Staind, just with country lyrics.
There are several notable tracks on "The Road", each showing Lewis's different country music abilities. "Endless Summer" was the first single released from the album and is a light hearted, almost pop-like, summertime song about spending time with his daughters. The upbeat lyrics are much different than the dark, moody songs that Lewis is most known for with Staind and could be considered a summer anthem. Most of the other songs on the album are about traditional country themes. "Red, White, & Blue" is a patriotic song, similar to something Toby Keith would sing, discussing some of Lewis's family history and showing his conservative values. Several songs also discuss living life on the road. Although Lewis never drove a semi-truck as most country road songs are about, he has spent a considerable amount of time touring giving his lyrics more credibility. The title track, "The Road", is a moderately upbeat tune about some of the simple pleasures of being on the road. "State Lines" is in a tempo similar to "The Road" but is much more about being a touring singer and the success and the good feelings that accompany the traveling. "Forever", the second single off the album, slows the tempo somewhat and begins discussing some of the hardships of being away from family. This song comes off as the most heartfelt song on the entire album as it shows the toll that being famous can have on a family. Finally, "Anywhere But Here" is a much slower song similar to "Forever" about the hardships and problems associated with separation. This song seems to be more of a tribute to Lewis's previous work with more depressing lyrics showing painful emotions. "Anywhere But Here" doesn't seem to fit the album as well as some of the other songs and would be better fitting if it was released with Staind. My personal favorite track on "The Road" is "Granddaddy's Gun". This song, the only song not written by Lewis, is about a family heirloom gun belonging to Lewis's grandfather and his memories with it.
There is some room for improvement if Lewis decides to continue to be a country artist. The biggest problem I see with the album is nearly every song seems like Lewis is trying to prove that is country. For some fans this may be somewhat necessary but I think he should just use his talent and sound to prove this, not so much his lyrics. Also, if Lewis wants to be a successful country act he needs more songs like "Endless Summer" which is what really sells records and brings fans to concerts, even though his talent is best suited for slower ballads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
Staind is one of my favorite bands because of Aaron Lewis' vocals. After seeing Staind Unplugged and learning that Aaron was cutting a country album i ordered it as soon as it came out. He is an amazing artist and his voice is one of a kind. Even though i'm not a country music fan i like this album simply because of "the voice" and his interpretation of the material. If you have some time to kill go on youtube and watch his solo stuff. I highly recommend watching the full staind unplugged set.
This album get's played at least once a week. He writes a good country song. Good stuff !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2017
Love this album. Some of his best work is on this. Love Sinner too but this is my favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
Didn't realize Arron Lewis had gone county until I saw him in concert last month, great old county sound and lyrics mixed in with some Staind, outstanding brother, respect for the troops! Not a new country music fan, but as Aaron put it, new country ain't S%!@!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
He's a musician! A Damn Good Musician!! Love him in Staid. Really impressed me a few years ago in tour with Shinedown. The sincerity and musicianship were great. I'm pretty sure my daughter will be dancing to Zoe Jane when she marries.

His passion in this album and the view into his life as a musician and the trials he has endured when he'd rather be home are articulated very well. You feel the passion in his love of his daughters, wife, friends and family played to wonderfully constructed melodies.

A great driving CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2013
I'm not a big fan of country but I'm a fan of Aaron, his voice, writing and career as a whole. This album has good melodies and songs on it as all of his music is with Staind and on his own. If you like him and his music I'm sure you'll enjoy it. I only didn't give it five stars because it's difficult for me to fully enjoy and rate it based on my lack of things to compare it to as far as other country music goes. I think it's better than what I have heard though because he is blunt, funny and talks about some more interesting topics- at least in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
He may not be a huge star yet on the country circuit, but I don't care... This is great country music. It is reminiscent of the greats... Nothing too fast, and excellent lyrics. You can appreciate the fact that Aaron is a real guy. He is a mans man.

My wife doesn't like his sound much, but I like it. So far, his first two albums are winners for sure. Don't hesitate to pull the trigger on this album. I like all the songs. Each one compliments the next. There isn't one amazing song surrounded by fluff like so many others now a days...

Get it, and start listenin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
goot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49

Need customer service? Click here